We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #88 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brill hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great hotel on Dam square. We got a upgrade to a deluxe room with a nice balcony. Room good size, very quite, good size comfortable beds. We were bed and breakfast, the breakfast was fantastic. We departed on a Sunday so took advantage of their endless Sunday were you get free late check out up to 5 O'clock. The only down side with Amsterdam was drink was very expensive €9 for a large beer. But if I went back I would stay at this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    815
    430
    191
    116
See reviews for
256
1001
140
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Me and my husband stay here twice a year would never consider staying anywhere else. It very clean,rooms are a good size and spotless. You in the heart of Amsterdam here as it is in dam square ideal spot for all attractions of Amsterdam. Five mins from coffee shops :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

stayed for 3 nights in this beautiful hotel,couldn't be better and the cost was very reasonable.Staff are very helpful and pleasant.The rooms are spotless and cleaned every day,the resteraunts are very nice to

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

excellent location right in the centre of Dam Square, 7 mins from centraal station. The staff were very friendly. We were in room 5131,which didnt have the best view but it was defininely a beautiful room! Very clean, massive bath, dressing gown and slippers, mini bar, and loads of toiliteries! The bed was huge and really comfortable. The best part of the hotel was definintely the breakfast! There is SO much to choose from, and amazing waffles and crepes and you could have as much Cava as you wanted! The Palm cocktail bar worh a visit too. Every memeber of staff really friendly, and the communal bits of the hotel VERY grand and luxurious. My tip is to ignore the bad reviews and stay here, we will defininely be returning!

Room Tip: We were in the luxury part of the hotel, the 'Royal Wing' - they upgraded us for free! In ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had a lovely stay in the new wing, the reception are could benefit from a facelift (we arrived at about 8am, it looked a bit second rate but improves as the day gets busy).

The room was modern and very clean but my husband thought the toiletries & towels weren't up to 5* standard and with airline luggage restrictions it's not possible to bring all the toiletries! The hair dryer in the bathroom didn't work & some of the sockets were hit & miss but this was a minor problem.

Staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful, bar was good and not overpriced at hotel standards. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't help there so all I can say is it'll be my first choice when I return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Arrived at 10pm on a Friday night to be told that someone from the travel agents we used had called to cancel our booking, and they were fully booked. To cut a long story the staff did some juggling and we got given an executive suite overlooking Dam Square, and complimentary breakfast for the next morning (which they didn't need to because it was not their fault). Anyhow sorted with travel agent on Saturday.
Before going I read some comments on here saying the decor a bit tired, rooms noisy, uncomfortable beds, etc.. Well, did they have the same hotel. The hotel is old but very well maintained and clean, the staff seem to take pride in the hotel, and their jobs.
The room was large and spacious with plenty of storage, overlooking Dam square. When I first looked out of window it was 11pm at night and didn't realise we had been given a room overlooking Dam square until I looked out to see masses of people at the bars. Couldn't hear them and slept soundly every night.
Beds had Tempurepedic mattresses which are fantastic, There is a service at the hotel so you can phone a number and they will deliver the type of pillow you want from a menu!!!.
The breakfast room has a huge ornate glass room letting in natural light like a conservatory, the detailing is fantastic. You can have any type of breakfast you can imagine, all self service. Too long to list it all, but if you're disappointed you must have a problem with yourself.
Location being on Dam square is great, only minutes from most of the central attractions, which seem to be around the Red light district, which doesn't dominate like you would expect from how it's talked about.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was our third NYE in Amsterdam and at this hotel, we love it!! This time we decided to spend a little extra and book the executive room which is located at the front of the hotel and overlooking Dam Square, well what a treat this was....We could have quite happily sat on the window sill all night and watched the world go by! Great sized room with excellent wardrobe space and comfortable bed(s) - (2 singles this was only downfall), bathroom fully equipped with tolietries and hairdyer, bathrobe and slippers. Would highly recommend this room and we will be booking it again for next NYE! As for the fireworks yes they are crazy and loud but its their tradition from 7am NYE to 7am NYD to let off fireworks even the wee kids do it! It all adds to the atmosphere :) Thanks for another excellent trip Krasnapolsky!

Room Tip: Executive room which faces onto Dam Square...You wont be disappointed :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Booking.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.