We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class at the Kras!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #99 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First Class at the Kras!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

My husband and I took our 16 year old daughter to Amsterdam on our way to Egypt. We only had a long weekend so we wanted to be close to everything.
The Kras (as it is known) was absolutely amazing. We arrived incredibly early, way before check-in time, tired and hungry after the overnight flight. Check-in was a quick and very curteous. Although they did not have our rooms ready, they offered us the option of either having breakfast on them or if we wanted to upgrade for 10 Euro a night for both rooms we could be upgraded and have our rooms right away. We opted for the rooms which were huge according to European standards, very clean and well appointed.
The breakfast is a great deal if you include it in your room price, otherwise its very expensive but is much like a Sunday brunch spread at any top American hotel, even champagne every morning (if you can drink that early)
All of our requests were quickly attended to (like extra towels and pillows)
The halls were nice and quiet and the decore of the hotel is an interesting mix of old world and modern.
It is also literally around the corner from shopping, the Red Light, and anything else you could imagine.
A trip to the museum district will set you back about 10 Euros as it is on the other side of town. The train station is within walking distance and the view from our rooms was breathtaking! We looked right onto the main square and at the old palace.
We loved it and would return again and again. Hopefully next time the dollar won't be in such sad shape!

  • Liked — Luxurious and in the center of everything
  • Disliked — the small elevator
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    889
    470
    206
    126
See reviews for
273
1,063
154
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fahaheel, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

Nice Hotel. Allowed early check in. Nice rooms.

Internet prices were sky high.

  • Liked — Large room with satellite TV
  • Disliked — couldnt find ice maker
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

We absolutely fell in love with Amsterdam. The city buzzed with culture, energy, and fun. Hotel was quite large in an excellent location. Service at front desk was very friendly and efficient, but unfortunately was not in bars and restaurants (breakfast buffet in main restaurant was very impressive). Room was good size, but a bit shabby. Easy to get around city on trolleys. Recommend canal boat tour.

Stayed July 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

The location of this hotel is as near perfect as can be. Right on Dam Sq across the road from the Royal Palace and the Old Church, the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is presumably a five-star grand dame of Amsterdam.

While its a wonderful hotel by many standards, I am not convinced about this 5-star status. Nevertheless, its location is impeccable, about 10-15 mins walk along the Damrak from the Central Station, 5-10 mins walk to the fame Red Light District, literally around the corner from the shopping district, 5 mins walk to Anne Frank's house and about 20 mins walk to the Museums, it is a perfect hub for discovering Amsterdam.

The rooms are of ample size - mine measured approx 300 sq foot. with a modern-fitted bathroom and the usual amenities, bathrobes, slippers etc. Cable TV and Wi-Fi in all rooms as well. Staff is professional and helpful.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

Great staff, good tourist location, amazing breakfast and large apartments. I would recommend a stay at this hotel.

Having been a regular visitor to Amsterdam over the last 10 years I finally got around to trying out the Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

An easy going friendliness was instantly evident from the doorman, receptionist, luggage chap and waitresses. The whole staff provided a warm welcome and were highly efficient. No niggles at all.

We were given an apartment rather than the standard room that I had booked. This was a short walk through the rear of the hotel, accompanied by the luggage chap. Might be a viewed as a ‘dark alley’ if you didn’t know Amsterdam too well. No problems during our stay but if you are a nervous traveller it might not be the right part of the hotel for you. Get someone to take your bags. A 5 Euro tip (per case) always gets a good response.

We were on the 3rd floor in a corner apartment where Pjlsteeg meets the Oudezijds Voorburgwal. This is the edge of the Red Light District and it is busy into the small hours. There will be noise. The apartment was massive. Split over 2 floors. The lounge/Kitchen-diner on the first floors with windows over looking the canal and side street. A further set of steep, narrow stairs leads to the bathroom (Washer/Dryer) and the huge attic bedroom. Seemed like there were fresh towels, robes and toiletries for 10 people.

No mini bar or coffee stuff but the kitchen had a fridge and everything else you might need. There is a shop below that sells basic supplies (open till about 7pm). The safe is in the bedroom (I never used this due to previous reviews about problems with cash being stolen). TV on both floors, stereo and VHS player.

It definitely needs updating but it was reasonably clean. Housekeeping doesn’t seem to come daily to the apartments. I think mainly because there are enough supplies to keep you going for the duration of your stay. This did not cause us any issues.

Breakfast in the Winter Gardens was very nice indeed. Comparable in price (25 euro pp) and semi-self-serve format to most of the big Dutch hotels, it’s enough to keep you going all day. Don’t be shy to ask for more champagne if you find the ice bucket empty.

The location opened up some parts of the city that I hadn’t been in years. I even ditched the usual taxi ride in from Schiphol in favour of a train ride and a short walk from Centraal. Pretty much hassle free but don’t forget to keep some coins handy (about 4 Euro one way) for the ticket machines at the airport/ train station (the machines at CS don’t accept visa cards for some reason – only maestro). Dam is always busy and expect to battle the crowds at some point. You will feel like a tourist as this is the main drag for those visiting but the central location and easy transport options give you access to the whole of the city.

I was a little disappointed that I didn’t get a chance to experience more of the main hotel but the apartment was good overall (mainly because it was roomy enough to relax in when the weather got too bad). I will use this hotel again.

If you are looking for dining options I always take time eat the following –

Indian – Akbar : located at the Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 15 near the Leidseplein/Leidsestraat.
Chinese – Sea Palace : Oosterdokskade 8 near Nemo.
Steak - El Rancho Argentino VI : Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 71- 73

  • Liked — Size - felt like we were living there
  • Disliked — Dam - loaction a bit too crowded for my tastes
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

Was participating at a congress in AMS and this hotel is ideally linked with the Congress Center by tram in about 20 minutes.
It is very well located in the heart of Amsterdam, not far from the Central Station.
Check-in staff, Reception staff are extremely helpful and friendly.
During check-out time, glasses of orange juice are put at disposal on the front desk.

It is a pity that the rooms need a renovation; my bathroom has been renovated but my single bed room looked not attractive at all and very small compared to the price. Defintely not in line with a 5-star rating ! No newspaper service, small choice of foreign TV channels.

Ask the reception for a good indonesian restaurant: they will give you an excellent adress just a few minutes away.

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — my room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

Great place with great staff who could not do enough for you. A beautiful spacious building with style. The bedrooms were spotless, clean and great value. Ideal location for an evenings walk to the many nearby attractions. One big advantage if your last day is a Sunday, you do not need to check out till 5-o-clock.

  • Liked — Style and elegance
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, BookIt.com, NHHotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.