We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GRAND HOTEL KRASNAPOLSKY - very pricey !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #99 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“GRAND HOTEL KRASNAPOLSKY - very pricey !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

stayed here between Christmas and New Year 2011. lovely hotel and fabulous location. but i thought it was rather pricey for what you got. Our room was at the rear of the hotel in a modern wing .

Amsterdam is AMAZING! Amsterdam at Christmas or New Year is magical..... I just loved it. it was cold and it rained but we walked for miles exploring the area.

im glad i took 'sensible' footwear. we walked along the miles of canals, had a look around the red light district and visted the Van Gogh museum. I visited the floating flower stalls and even managed to take home a bag of daffodil bulbs a huge orchid plant on the plane back to the UK :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    889
    470
    206
    126
See reviews for
273
1,063
154
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barton-le-Clay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

There is no doubt that this hotel is in a good central location however at present it is having some road works done directly outside with deters from the overall ambience of the hotel frontage. However trams are on the square and you can walk to many of the tourist sites with ease.
We stayed for 2 nights (through Lastminute.com secret hotel promotion) and though we were allocated the refurbished rooms, they were not in fitting with the original design of the hotel - it resembled a little like an ikea showroom or something you might find in a cheaper hotel chain. The bathroom was "in" the bedroom divided by a glass, semi see through sheet and the bathroom and toilet door was one - it was either a toilet door or a bathroom door, one door shared by two rooms - seeing is believing! White worktop from one end of the room to the other and a large print doubling up as a headboard. NOTE: in the newly refurbished rooms there are NO movie channels. There are plenty of chanels to chose from including english channels and the size and positioning of the tv on the wall is good. Very modern and maybe some people's cup of tea but not in keeping with the original hotel build.
Breakfast as usual is overly expensive (30 Euros per head) and far better seeking to eat outside for a fraction of the cost however the breakfast room is stunning.
Beds were two twins pushed together to act as a double, could not complain, white and comfortable and you can, if you wish, have a selection of pillows from housekeeping.
NOTE: you will need to leave 100 euros deposit on a credit card on checking in just in case you might want to use the overly expensive and electronically sensored mini bar - we picked up the nuts to look at and spent the next day worrying we were going to be charged for them! Also note this is not a hotel to use soft or hard drugs, it clearly states that there is a 150 euro penalty for doing so.
Staff on reception were effecient as were the service staff and all toiletries were replenished fully daily.
Would I book this hotel again - probably not. I have stayed in many hotels in Amsterdam and this was not any more special than 4* and some 3* hotels.

Room Tip: Dependent on what you prefer - if you prefer modern ask for one of the refurbished rooms otherwise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The Krasnapolsky is situated on Dam Square, just 15 minutes walk from Centraal Station. It is five minutes from main shopping streets and from the Red Light District.

Breakfast in the Winter-Garden is good quality and reasonable choice. Egg chefs varied in speed, friendliness and competence.

Have stayed here several times over the past ten years or so and rooms vary greatly in terms of decor and noise.

This time we stayed in an 'Executive' room. Fabulous view over Dam Square and surprisingly not too noisy.

Room and bathroom were massive (by Amsterdam standards). However, both were much in need of an update. The room was very tired and the bathroom really dingy. Not deluxe/luxurious/grand by any stretch of the imagination.

Bed was extremely comfortable.

Cleanliness was not perfect, with very dirty windows, dust on the tops of pictures/bathroom fittings. Carpet was stained. Couple of hairs in bathroom that did not belong to us...

Towels were large, but not fluffy. Toilet paper was in hideous dispenser. Individual toiletries provided, NH Brand and not very appealing (bizarrely had to ask for conditioner, but toothbrush/razor provided).

Dressing gowns and slippers provided, as were basic tea and coffee facilities. (Sachets of everything including milk substitute).

Safe free of charge, but located on the floor, so had to kneel down to use.

Flat screen 37 inch TV.

The reception area was constantly very crowded, with big queues. Looked like lots of group bookings, which does nothing to endorse the proclaimed 'luxurious' label. Entrance sometimes blocked by smokers.

In all, I do recommend this hotel for its location and comfortable beds. However, if you are after a deluxe, romantic hotel, this is probably not the place to stay. Suggest that you ask for a quiet room (some rooms are very noisy, eg those on first floor overlooking Damstraat are bad 24/7, but particularly evening and early hours).

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The central location is the main selling point of this hotel. We booked a deluxe room in the new annex to the main building. However, the corridor and room both smelt strongly of smoke and the furnishings in the room were tired, chipped and worn. We arranged to pay a further £75 euros per night for an upgrade to a superior room in the main hotel. Sadly this was no better, tired and chipped furniture, flooring scuffed and scraped, also,peeling grubby paint work at the windows. By this stage we had given up complaining and wanted to get on with our break!! However on the plus side, the view of dam square was stunning. Beds were comfortable and clean. Tea and coffee supplies were minimal/sparse. Breakfast was good, with a wide selection.
Staff were polite, but disinterested, its a very busy hotel, especially at check in.
This is a fairly expensive hotel, which is fine if you receive the quality of accommodation/service that the 5 star status would indicate. My advice would be to book elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ensenada,mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I arrived on april 31, Queen's Day, and it was terrible,I arrived after a 10 hours flight, at 11 a.m. and they gave me the room until 3.40 p.m. the staff not at all polite, I got a spacious room but with old mobiliaire, the toilette with 2 doors with a separation of 1 cm between the 2 doors, fortunately I was alone, but you can not expect this it in this kind of hotel. At 3 a.m. in the morning, the alarm began to sound very loud and demanding to go out of the hotel immediately, it was false alarm, but they did not managed to shut off or fix the problem until 1 and a half hour, the staff, just one woman did not know what to do or say, she just told everybody (we were all at the lobby) to go back to our rooms, of course nobody did it, because the alarm sound was inssuportable. So I could go to "sleep" until 4.30 a.m. and I had to check out very early, I did not wanted to have breakfast at that place, but there was no other option, because it was raining, so I had breakfast there, when I asked for the bill, they asked me how was the hotel, of course awful!!!and I told them not to charge me the breakfast and they accepted. Anyway, this was the minimun thing they could do for all the guests, but I don't know if they did it for everybody, really I don't think so!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice1, Executive Office at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have undoubtedly suffered and that we failed in providing the highest level of service and product that you can expect from us.

This is certainly not in line with the hospitality and guest service standards defined by NH Hoteles.

Please be informed that our check in starts at 3 p.m. If the hotel is not fully booked there is no problem to assign rooms before 3 p.m. But with a full house, many guests do not leave until noon, and it takes time to prepare rooms for new arriving guests.

We were surprised to read your note about the reception as usually we receive very positive comments about our front office staff.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the apparent unpleasant attitude of the staff and assure you this was unintentional.

We are sorry to hear that you did not like the room. We do have a lot of guests who ask for these rooms with these bathrooms. Unfortunately, when the hotel is fully booked the choice of rooms is limited.

Regarding the alarm, somebody pulled the fire alarm out for nothing during the night. We can imagine this was very uncomfortable and you were not able to rest conveniently. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and agree with you that the communication could have been better.

Nevertheless, we do hope you will give us a second chance, so we may have an opportunity to convince you that your recent experience is an exception.

Notwithstanding this experience, we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future to show you the highest level of service.

With regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Nice hotel with great location. Staff and service is good. I have to mention one very negative things there. In a modern world people use internet a lot both for private and business use. Im getting used to have internet included in my room rate but in this hotel they sell it for high old fashion price. On top of that the internet speed was poor. You could have free 30 min. internet if you stay in the lobby...... common.... this is the year 2012 not 2002 when this was the standard. Internet connection is for me and most of the people I know very important part of any accommodation for private reason and more importantly business reason..... I cant use hotels with a week internet and on top of that trying to squeeze some money out of it so ...so pleas fix this to take this big black spot of your otherwise great hotel so I can use it again....
S. Jonatansson, Iceland

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

only in amsterdam for 48 hours, this hotel was perfect for the stag weekend.

it is located in the heart of the city, at the centre of everything.

we stayed in the modern new wing, the room was very comfortable and spacious.

free wifi in the lobby, a fantastic steak house underneath and a great bar just next door meant that we never needed to wander far...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, BookIt.com, NHHotels, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.