We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Krasnapolsky Good Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Save Saved
You added NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam 9, Amsterdam 1012 JS, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Krasnapolsky Good Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stay here during a business confernece and we found the hotel to be very good. Our room was very nice and the meals we had during the conference were good as well. From a sightseeing standpoint it was central and allowed us to walk to most of our destinations and we found this quite enjoyable. We had room with a balcony overlooking a street. A newer wing of the hotel. One of the Concierege's made a great recommendation for a local establishment to eat breakfast while our room was made ready. I was very impressed with the entire stay. I had no issues at all.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    794
    779
    419
    185
    112
See reviews for
227
926
129
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
1,547 helpful votes 1,547 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

The Krasnopolsky has a long and wonderful history, right in the centre of Amsterdam, on the Dam, directly opposite the Royal Palace and across from the Nieuw Kerk and the very Wonderful shopping Department store De Bijenkorf.
The winter Garden of this hotel is exciting and one can imagine what it was like when people dressed up for dinner and ladies wore grand hats, the building still has that feel, and maybe to much so, some might regard it as old and tired, but it wouldn't be easy to modernize this hotel without starting from scratch and they would never survive closing it down for two years, so the renovations ate superficial.
But remember your staying in an iconic nostalgic hotel, where one should be able to say I've stayed there, the service is great, the bell hops very attentive, and the reastaurant great. The winter garden divine and everything is at the door step for tours, the red light district, a short walk to central station and public trams a few hundred meters that will take you all over the city.
Madame tausades and the flower markets are all within walking distance.
A great location

Room Tip: Upper levels are better the front means you'll pay more but you just might glimps HRH
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We have stayed here twice and have never been disappointed. The hotel is located in Dam Square and near to everything. The hotel is older in style but grand and comfortable. We found the staff very helpful.

The room and bed were huge. Lovely bathroom and amenities. We did enjoy the treats of the mini bar and a room service breakfast one morning- pricey but worth it. People who moan about prices should stay in cheaper hotels-even then the price of food and drink is still expensive.

The only downside was that there is no swimming pool or spa- that would make it perfect.

I would highly recommend this hotel for either business trips or pleasure.

Room Tip: Get one with a Queen size bed these are huge and very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my partner & another couple in early March. We booked through a consolidator and got a good deal although we could have stayed elsewhere for less. We decided that the additional expense was justified based on the central location, inclusion of breakfast and the grading of the hotel.

We arrived about 10am on the first day and when going to the hotel to drop luggage were overjoyed to be able to check in. The rooms were quite minimal but very comfortable with great beds, fab showers, safe, mini bar and huge tv. The air conditioning if the room temp was set high was a little loud but that was a minor complaint. Everything was spotlessly clean. There was a complementary adapter which was a pleasant surprise and a comprehensive range of toiletries. Mini bar works on pressure sensors so if you removed items to place other stuff in the fridge the hotel thinks you have used stuff - beware!

Breakfast was served in the beautiful Winter Garden and consisted of. Huge variety of all different types of food from pancakes to fish to bacon to pastries. It was all delicious - luckily it was included in our room rate! If not it was an eye watering €29 per person!

The hotel is very central in Dam square which makes it a great base for exploring Amsterdam and dropping back in to leave shopping or have a quick rest. Centrality comes with a price and it is not a cheap area to drink or eat around unless you look very closely. The hotel does a fab €7 coffee with assorted biscuits but €9 for 2 250ml Beers was a little steep.

Another great plus for the hotel is the 30 minutes free Internet vouchers for use in the hotel lobby which were very useful.

Overall - great visit & fab hotel. Staff couldn't do enough and the location & breakfast were defintitely worth paying a little more. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice in a year and on both occasions i found it to be as near perfect as it is possible to get,for the price of course!
The position was fantastic,bang in the centre of all the action and a stones throw from the rail station too! The rooms were every well presented and the breakfast was excellent. The restaurant was excellent and the food divine! As was the service,not only in the restaurant but throughout the hotel.
Overall,i would definitely rate this a good 4+ star hotel!

Room Tip: Try and get a 4th+ floor room so you can appreciate the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liège
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is very well located in city center (Dam).
This is top to discover Amsterdam.
The hotel is not very recent and rooms are quite different in function of the renovated area or the old one.
The price is rather expensive (the location I supposed).
Breakfast is top and served in a wonderful place.
Service at reception is good.
No free wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting family in the Netherlands, and the location could not be more perfect. Smack in the center of Amsterdam, we were able to walk with our luggage from the train station, and we walked all around the city, using the hotel as a base. The room is comfortable, not stylish, but pretty basic. There is a bit of noise from the streets, but you kind of expect that in a 24-hour city like Amsterdam. We've stayed at nicer hotels in Amsterdam (the Banks Mansion is very nice), but for the price and location, this was great. If you do need to drive into Amsterdam, they have an underground garage, but be warned--the spots are very tight!

Room Tip: if you're a light sleeper, you might want to ask to be on one of the quieter sides of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam 9, Amsterdam 1012 JS, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. Situated in a historical building that dates back to 1865, the hotel combines a traditional feel with the comfort and style of modern conveniences. Numerous Amsterdam tourist attractions are within easy walking distance of the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, including the Royal Palace, Nieuwe Kerk, Anne Frank House, Van Gogh museum, red-light district, and Heineken Brewery. The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is also quite convenient for business travelers, with public transportation readily available to access places like the RAI Convention Center, Schiphol Airport, and World Trade Center.The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky offers a total of 468 stylish guest rooms, including one split-level suite, six luxurious junior suites, and 35 fully equipped apartments. Stop by the fitness center for a workout or relax with a soothing massage after your busy day. If you arrive by car, the hotel has a parking attendant at your service and a secure paid garage. Excellent public transportation connections take you all around Amsterdam, with bus and tram stops right outside the hotel. The central train station is only five minutes away and Schiphol Amsterdam Airport is just a 25 minute taxi or car ride.There is no shortage of fine food and drink at the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky. Enjoy the hotel’s exquisite buffet breakfast, served every morning in the Summer Garden and glass-roofed Winter Garden. The hotel restaurant Reflet offers an à la carte dinner selection and menu of belle époque French style cuisine. Grand Café Mathilde offers a great selection of homemade tea, liqueurs, and an exceptional view of the Dam plaza. The hotel is also home to the Wynand Fockink Distillery, which dates back to 1679, where you can taste and buy top gins and liqueurs, and its Golden Palm Bar offers a wide variety of the refreshing cocktails.The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is considered the largest conference hotels in the Netherlands and Belgium, offering an impressive assortment of facilities to help make sure your events are successful. Conference facilities include 22 fully equipped and air-conditioned function rooms, which can accommodate groups of any size up to 1600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, NHHotels, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.