We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doelen, Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Doelen to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Doelen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #229 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
“Doelen, Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2005

Goodish location, scrupulouslly clean , helpful, competent staff . No language problems. Dull atmosphere, no bar, no animation, no evening 'socialising' and the room was, overall, SMALL and cramped. The furniture was space-consuming, there were no in-built wardrobe areas as such, so the furniture intruded into the walk-about area. There was no air-conditioning, only an efficient but inadequate fan system, and the TV was ill-positioned such as to be only viewable from a very limited area. The hotel had the general ambience of a commercial rather than a tourist one.

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    253
    157
    83
    64
See reviews for
60
265
51
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2005

This hotel was nice and a better value than it's brother and neighbor the NH Schiller on Rembrandt square.

As I stated in other reviews, we stayed in 4 different hotelsand all were about equal quality but each had it's own unique quirks. Some quirks were more annoying than others, but none ruined our trip or our hotel experience.

This hotel, while a touch off the beatn path, had by far the best view of all our hotels we visited. See picture (I had to lighten it to fit upload).

This 3-star hotel was a much better value than it's 4-star sister hotel the NH Schiller.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2005

I have to say I was disappointed. We stayed for a week in mid-May. Our room was shabby, not as nice as the pictures. The biggest problem, though: the paper-thin walls. I realize this is an historic hotel, but the reality is, if you plan to sleep past 7 am, this is not the hotel for you. Every morning I awoke (much earlier than I wanted since I was on vacation) to the banging of all the doors up and down the hall and you could literally hear, word for word, what was being said in the room next door at a conversational tone. I am a heavy sleeper and usually have no complaints about noise in hotels, but this place really takes the cake. Also, the last night of our stay the weather warmed up and without air-conditioning we had to open the window (reasonable except that there are no screens) and I got eaten alive by mosquitos. Even with the little fan the room was still stifling hot.

The location is ideal, though, so that did work out well. I would not, however, stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2005

I stayed at the Doelen at least a dozen times between 2000 and 2004, but I will never stay there again. They had a bar/restaurant, the Balmoral, that was an architectural and artistic treasure (in addition to having wonderful food). The new owners, to save a little money, destroyed the Balmoral and all of its lovely details and replaced it with a Coffee Company. No hotel that has so little respect for tradition should be patronized. The Doelen is a hotel to avoid.

Stayed May 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2005

We stayed in a non-smoking room at the NH Doelen in late April 2005 and had booked through Lastminute.com, so for Amsterdam the price was reasonable. Desk staff were friendly and spoke good English. Our rate did not include breakfast and we were offered this at 16 Euros per person for a full English breakfast. The room was not one of their better ones (I presume), it was a bit tired and jaded. The room was small and a bit claustrophobic but perfectly adequate if just used for sleeping. The bathroom had once been well presented but now needed refurbishing. It had a large bath with a decent shower attachment as well as a good wash basin area. The room contained a double bed, a small table and two chairs, a mini-bar, a tv and a safe. The wardrobe was a reasonable size but two shelves were taken up by what we first thought was a welcoming half bottle of red wine. Fortunately we discovered the price list hidden behind it before sampling it. There were two small bottles of water on the side table - each labelled with the price of 2.5 Euros. Room service was available with a small menu of food and drink at reasonable prices. The position of the hotel was fine, having plenty of restaurants in the close vicinity and just a twenty minute walk from the station. We stayed for 5 days and the general impression of Amsterdam was that we would return at some stage in the future. It seemed to be a very expensive city (more so than London). As non-smokers it was surprising to find that the smell of marijuana being smoked was quite pleasant when compared with tobacco.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2005

We recently spent two nights in Amsterdam at the NH Doelen. We were delighted with our room (named the Lilly Langtry Salon) which was clean, comfortable and charmingly decorated. The staff was courteous and helpful and the breakfast was good. ------

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2005

THe view from my room was worth the stay! The staff was helpful, giving maps, and clear instructions on how to go places. Location is very good, near the flowermarket and shopping streets.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Amsterdam Doelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Doelen

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Doelen 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam’s oldest and most celebrated hotel, the NH Amsterdam Doelen hotel rests on the banks of the Amstel River in the heart of the city’s historic center. Dating back to the 17th century this cultural landmark has played host to everyone from Queen Victoria and Empress Sissi to The Beatles and Rembrandt—whose world famous "Night Watch" was painted on the hotel’s third floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, NHHotels, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your NH Amsterdam Doelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Doelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.