We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a 4 star experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Doelen to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Doelen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #232 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
liverpool
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“NOT a 4 star experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Booked 7 days at the Doelen Hotel in Amsterdam and what a bitter disappointment. Whilst I appreciate I had a single room, I was surprised to find out that the room was smaller than the smallest bedroom I have ever stayed in. OK I could live with that, but the decor was awful, dirty, marked walls, bathroom had shower only and small sink and in general bad state, not dirty just in bad state of repair. I was on the fifth floor and when I went down stairs I wondered why everyone was walking up the stairs only to find out the elevator/lift was not working. Yes, these things can happen, so I just accepted this. Went out for a walk and on returning spoke to the guy who was attending the reception. I asked if the lift was still out of order, he ignored me, I thought maybe he did not understand me, so I waited for about 3 minutes, he still ignored me. In the end I just walked away up the 5 double flights of stairs (oldest hotel in Amsterdam, I think). Thought I would try the wifi internet service which was free, tried for about an hour without any success so finally I phoned down to reception, sadly it must have been the rude reception guy from before, I asked what I could do because the instructions in the bedroom did not seem correct, he just bluntly replied ''didnt you read the notice on the reception desk'' but then abruptly told me the password and username which did not agree with the details in bedroom. I eventually managed to get the wifi work by the following morning.
The following day I was so sick of the room, the service, the attitude I was honestly going to just leave the hotel but spoke to one of the female receptionists there in the morning, she was called Deepti, I mention her name because she was so helpful, an absolute credit to NH Group of hotels. To cut a very long story to the minimum, she organised a new double room, fresh fruit, and a few simple freebies as an apology. The room was really a decent size but again the decor was terrible, cracked toilet which was also badly stained, cracked sink, no extractor fan, no air conditioning in either rooms. The view from both rooms was amazing so if you want a room with a view, you will probably get one. I never saw the rude receptionist again, the service from reception was excellent but what can they do about a shabby hotel, nothing. I had breakfast just one morning but found that the waiters were just plain ignorant, no greeting, no smiles, and just put me off eating there The food was continental style which I found quite enjoyable, the special price was 15 euro which I found quite expensive still.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    205
    135
    72
    55
See reviews for
51
222
35
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We travelled with 2 children and my parents. Minuses: Room was small, hardly big enough to fit a baby's cot. There is not much space to put your stuff once unpacked. There is NO AIRCONDITIONING (and it was 30 celcius the day we arrived!) and there is no ventilation in the loo. They gave us a fan, but it was still quite uncomfortable, and it was noisy with the windows open. Shower temperature is variable but not actually to unpleasant degree. There is only 1 lift and it broke down for one day. The decor and furniture are very dated (think grandparent's era) although clean enough. The hotel needs a thorough renovation. The hotel is overpriced but then Amsterdam is very expensive so it's probably "reasonable". Plus: Location is very good (5 minutes to Rembrandtsplein, 3 minutes to trams, staff are more friendly than most other locals. We enjoyed our trip to Amsterdam but I would not go back to this hotel. There must be better value for money elsewhere!

Room Tip: Choose lower floor in case lift breaks down again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Very nice location, great service, great atmosphere. Old building, rooms were not modern but very clean and comfortable. Everything worked nicely. Overall I enjoyed my stay very much. I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Not the most luxurious hotel, but quite affordable, and very well located. Polite and friendly staff, free wifi and a clean and spacious room.
A very central location great for sightseeing, and in walking distance of all Amsterdam attractions.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Located on one of the center canals, close to many sites. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The morning buffet breakfast was absolutely outstanding with some 20-30 items to choose from; beautifully arrayed and delicious. Very disappointed in the poor quality of the room (frayed and warn carpeting; lumpy pillow and too soft mattress) though it was clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Absolutely love staying here, staff and facilities are excellent. Good hearty breakfasts too.A bit far from the station if you have luggage. But situated in a perfect position to enjoy Amsterdam and all she has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Walking distance from Central Station and Museums but also on tram route. Slightly faded but comfortable all the same. Can't comment on dining. Masses of places to eat locally, including large lively restaurant next door.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Doelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Doelen

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Doelen 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam’s oldest and most celebrated hotel, the NH Amsterdam Doelen hotel rests on the banks of the Amstel River in the heart of the city’s historic center. Dating back to the 17th century this cultural landmark has played host to everyone from Queen Victoria and Empress Sissi to The Beatles and Rembrandt—whose world famous "Night Watch" was painted on the hotel’s third floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Doelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Doelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.