We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Doelen to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Doelen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #228 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Doelen Hotel in Amsterdam is in a fantastic location, very close walking distance to many of the major sites in the Central district. It's just steps away from the tram, which is easy to use. Numerous restaurants are close by, too. The staff were very friendly and helpful for our stay. The rooms are small, in the typical European style, but very comfortable and with all the needed amenities. Wifi worked fine, too. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Barry,

We are glad to read that you really enjoyed not only your stay at the NH Doelen but also the city of Amsterdam.

It is nice to read that our staff was helpfull and friendly during you stay. We will definitely share this with them.

We hope to welcome you again at the NH Doelen.

Kindest regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    258
    159
    88
    65
See reviews for
60
279
51
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Excellent central location at the tip of old city. Historic building, but a little tired. Needs a bit of a modern overhaul. I would stay again, value was good. Right in the Amstel river and within walking distance of all tourist sites and trams.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Gary,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay.

We are happy to read that you had such a pleasant stay with us.

In the near future we have planned a total refurbishment for the NH Doelen.

We hope to welcome you again.

Kindest regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The location is fabulous on the Amstel river, but the hotel needs serious upgrade: wi-fi is not performant, elevator is working very slow, furniture is full of scratches and even lacks colour, bed is very narrow, tv signal was very poor, towels are not smooth anymore, no A/C only a fan which needs few shakes to start...it is the worst exeprience ever in a NH hotel...and the price paid was among the highest :-)
Advice: try another one until NH Doelen will spend some money on refurbishing !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Ilincanu L,

Thank you for reviewing the NH Doelen.

We are really sorry to read that your stay was not fulfilling your expectations.

We are aware that our hotel is outdated there for we have a total refurbishment planned in the near future.

We hope to welcome you again after the refurbishment.

Kindest regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed here on business for 2 nights in June. The location is great another breakfast is ok with a great view of the canal. That is were it ends.
My first room was a smoking room that smelled of smoke. I was then "upgraded" to a "suite" on the same floor. The room was larger with 3 windows over looking the canal and the bathroom was better than the previous room.
The decor, furniture, bed linen or mattress probably dates back 20 - 30 years. The real draw back of the room came when returning home at night. Being over the hotel's bar, I felt as though I was sleeping (or trying to go to sleep) in the bar as sound proofing to the room was non existent.
If you are not agile, have young kids in a stroller or heavy bags, note that there are severals reps to climb before you get to the elevator.
Would I stay again? No, I would find somewhere nicer to stay.

Room Tip: if you must stay here, try for a room facing the canal on floors 2 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Jamesy168,

Thank you taking the time to leave a review on TripAdivisor regarding you stay at the NH Doelen.

I would like to appologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay in our hotel.

We are aware that our hotel is outdated and we have a total refurbishment planned which will include better isolation against noise.

We hope to welcome again after the refurbishment.

Kindest regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel in June 2014. it is situated in a very central area and you can have access to all places of tourist interest. In terms of personel's behaviour, I have to admit that all of them were very polite and they were willing to provide any information/help that was requested. The rooms were clean but very small. The whole area is very crowder and you might get disturbed by people who stay at cafes and bars nearby making a lot of noise until small hours (the hotel has no sound insulation at all!!). In a nuts cell, nice area but hotel was to expensive for the services and facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Vasileios,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay.

We are happy to read that you liked the location and the staffmembers of the hotel.

The location is indeed nearby some cafe's and bar's. Especially with nice weather you can still hear the guest on their terraces.

In the near future we have planned a total renovation which will include also sound isolation for the hotelrooms.

Kindest Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The NH Doelen is a historic hotel in one of central Amsterdam's most charming neighborhoods. The building and furnishings are a tad faded, but the central lobby and dining room/restaurant retain an earlier charm. Rooms vary -- some are quite small, poorly lit, and oddly arranged, others are tight but ample. Furnishings are spare. But I found room cleanliness and service very good. A major plus: The breakfast room is charming, the offerings ample, and the canal view from the breakfast room lovely. The dining room staff were also considerate and efficient. The central location makes canal-facing rooms sometimes noisy well into the night. No rooms have air conditioning, so during summer visits one has to keep windows open -- allowing noise in. Overall, though, this is a good hotel -- a solid 3.5 star, if not a four.

Room Tip: Take an upper floor room facing away from the canal if you are noise sensitive. If you don't mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Robert,

We are delighted to read that you really liked the ambiance of our lobby and breakfast area.

It's true we don't have airconditioning in our hotel right now but we do have a renovation planned in the near future.

We hope to welcome you again in the NH Doelen.

Kindest Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I spent 6 days in this hotel with my husband in December 2013. It was more satisfying than we expected. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town center. As well the charming canal view of the rooms (also dining room) is the another reason to make us feel pleased. Moreover it is located in such a cozy place when it is compared with the other noisy street hotels in Dam square. Regardless of the best location and nice view it could be decorated more classy for a 4 star hotel and the staff could be more conversationalist. As such, I recommend this hotel if you are looking for being in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Senay,

Thank you for your nice commentand compliments regarding your stay.

It's always nice to read that a guest really enjoyed his stay in our hotel and in Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you again at the NH Doelen.

Kindest Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to NH Amsterdam Doelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Doelen

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Doelen 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam’s oldest and most celebrated hotel, the NH Amsterdam Doelen hotel rests on the banks of the Amstel River in the heart of the city’s historic center. Dating back to the 17th century this cultural landmark has played host to everyone from Queen Victoria and Empress Sissi to The Beatles and Rembrandt—whose world famous "Night Watch" was painted on the hotel’s third floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, NHHotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your NH Amsterdam Doelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Doelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.