We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs serious upgrade” 2 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen to your Saves list
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 26, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen) (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #244 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“needs serious upgrade”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The location is fabulous on the Amstel river, but the hotel needs serious upgrade: wi-fi is not performant, elevator is working very slow, furniture is full of scratches and even lacks colour, bed is very narrow, tv signal was very poor, towels are not smooth anymore, no A/C only a fan which needs few shakes to start...it is the worst exeprience ever in a NH hotel...and the price paid was among the highest :-)
Advice: try another one until NH Doelen will spend some money on refurbishing !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilincanu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Ilincanu L,

Thank you for reviewing the NH Doelen.

We are really sorry to read that your stay was not fulfilling your expectations.

We are aware that our hotel is outdated there for we have a total refurbishment planned in the near future.

We hope to welcome you again after the refurbishment.

Kindest regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed here on business for 2 nights in June. The location is great another breakfast is ok with a great view of the canal. That is were it ends.
My first room was a smoking room that smelled of smoke. I was then "upgraded" to a "suite" on the same floor. The room was larger with 3 windows over looking the canal and the bathroom was better than the previous room.
The decor, furniture, bed linen or mattress probably dates back 20 - 30 years. The real draw back of the room came when returning home at night. Being over the hotel's bar, I felt as though I was sleeping (or trying to go to sleep) in the bar as sound proofing to the room was non existent.
If you are not agile, have young kids in a stroller or heavy bags, note that there are severals reps to climb before you get to the elevator.
Would I stay again? No, I would find somewhere nicer to stay.

Room Tip: if you must stay here, try for a room facing the canal on floors 2 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesy168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Jamesy168,

Thank you taking the time to leave a review on TripAdivisor regarding you stay at the NH Doelen.

I would like to appologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay in our hotel.

We are aware that our hotel is outdated and we have a total refurbishment planned which will include better isolation against noise.

We hope to welcome again after the refurbishment.

Kindest regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel in June 2014. it is situated in a very central area and you can have access to all places of tourist interest. In terms of personel's behaviour, I have to admit that all of them were very polite and they were willing to provide any information/help that was requested. The rooms were clean but very small. The whole area is very crowder and you might get disturbed by people who stay at cafes and bars nearby making a lot of noise until small hours (the hotel has no sound insulation at all!!). In a nuts cell, nice area but hotel was to expensive for the services and facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasileios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Vasileios,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay.

We are happy to read that you liked the location and the staffmembers of the hotel.

The location is indeed nearby some cafe's and bar's. Especially with nice weather you can still hear the guest on their terraces.

In the near future we have planned a total renovation which will include also sound isolation for the hotelrooms.

Kindest Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The NH Doelen is a historic hotel in one of central Amsterdam's most charming neighborhoods. The building and furnishings are a tad faded, but the central lobby and dining room/restaurant retain an earlier charm. Rooms vary -- some are quite small, poorly lit, and oddly arranged, others are tight but ample. Furnishings are spare. But I found room cleanliness and service very good. A major plus: The breakfast room is charming, the offerings ample, and the canal view from the breakfast room lovely. The dining room staff were also considerate and efficient. The central location makes canal-facing rooms sometimes noisy well into the night. No rooms have air conditioning, so during summer visits one has to keep windows open -- allowing noise in. Overall, though, this is a good hotel -- a solid 3.5 star, if not a four.

Room Tip: Take an upper floor room facing away from the canal if you are noise sensitive. If you don't mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Robert,

We are delighted to read that you really liked the ambiance of our lobby and breakfast area.

It's true we don't have airconditioning in our hotel right now but we do have a renovation planned in the near future.

We hope to welcome you again in the NH Doelen.

Kindest Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I spent 6 days in this hotel with my husband in December 2013. It was more satisfying than we expected. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town center. As well the charming canal view of the rooms (also dining room) is the another reason to make us feel pleased. Moreover it is located in such a cozy place when it is compared with the other noisy street hotels in Dam square. Regardless of the best location and nice view it could be decorated more classy for a 4 star hotel and the staff could be more conversationalist. As such, I recommend this hotel if you are looking for being in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Senay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Senay,

Thank you for your nice commentand compliments regarding your stay.

It's always nice to read that a guest really enjoyed his stay in our hotel and in Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you again at the NH Doelen.

Kindest Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Good: very good location, pretty building
Bad: poorly maintained at parts, very small rooms, which smell of humidity, almost no extra services, breakfast is not included, I requested 2 beds and didn't get them
Conclusion: if this were maybe a 3 star hotel it would be ok. But considering they charge like a 4 star hotel, it is way overpriced. Not the standard it promises.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aszg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are sorry that we didn't gave you the standards that you expected.

We would like to inform you that in the in the near future we have a total renovation planned.

Hopefully you will visite us again after the renovation.

Kindest Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a grand old lady feel. Lovely atrium and very friendly staff. The breakfast was very substantial. Nice location for most things. We had a canal view room which was very pleasant. On the downside it was noisy at night and there is no air con. It's all a bit faded grandeur. Enjoyed our stay though so thank you.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kilopound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Nice to read that you really enjoyed your stay at the NH Doelen Hotel.

We are located in a street with some bar's and cafe's so sometimes it can be a bit noisy.

Thank you for leaving a review about your stay.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#236 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,750 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#138 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#13 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#156 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#117 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 26, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen) , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam's oldest and most celebrated hotel, the NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen hotel rests on the banks of the Amstel River in the heart of the city's historic center. Dating back to the 17th century this cultural landmark has played host to everyone from Queen Victoria and Empress Sissi to The Beatles and Rembrandt-whose world famous "Night Watch" was painted on the hotel's third floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing