We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - Crowded Area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Doelen to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Doelen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 26, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen) (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Ranked #242 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Location - Crowded Area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel in June 2014. it is situated in a very central area and you can have access to all places of tourist interest. In terms of personel's behaviour, I have to admit that all of them were very polite and they were willing to provide any information/help that was requested. The rooms were clean but very small. The whole area is very crowder and you might get disturbed by people who stay at cafes and bars nearby making a lot of noise until small hours (the hotel has no sound insulation at all!!). In a nuts cell, nice area but hotel was to expensive for the services and facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Vasileios,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay.

We are happy to read that you liked the location and the staffmembers of the hotel.

The location is indeed nearby some cafe's and bar's. Especially with nice weather you can still hear the guest on their terraces.

In the near future we have planned a total renovation which will include also sound isolation for the hotelrooms.

Kindest Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    264
    164
    94
    73
See reviews for
61
291
51
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The NH Doelen is a historic hotel in one of central Amsterdam's most charming neighborhoods. The building and furnishings are a tad faded, but the central lobby and dining room/restaurant retain an earlier charm. Rooms vary -- some are quite small, poorly lit, and oddly arranged, others are tight but ample. Furnishings are spare. But I found room cleanliness and service very good. A major plus: The breakfast room is charming, the offerings ample, and the canal view from the breakfast room lovely. The dining room staff were also considerate and efficient. The central location makes canal-facing rooms sometimes noisy well into the night. No rooms have air conditioning, so during summer visits one has to keep windows open -- allowing noise in. Overall, though, this is a good hotel -- a solid 3.5 star, if not a four.

Room Tip: Take an upper floor room facing away from the canal if you are noise sensitive. If you don't mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Robert,

We are delighted to read that you really liked the ambiance of our lobby and breakfast area.

It's true we don't have airconditioning in our hotel right now but we do have a renovation planned in the near future.

We hope to welcome you again in the NH Doelen.

Kindest Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I spent 6 days in this hotel with my husband in December 2013. It was more satisfying than we expected. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town center. As well the charming canal view of the rooms (also dining room) is the another reason to make us feel pleased. Moreover it is located in such a cozy place when it is compared with the other noisy street hotels in Dam square. Regardless of the best location and nice view it could be decorated more classy for a 4 star hotel and the staff could be more conversationalist. As such, I recommend this hotel if you are looking for being in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Senay,

Thank you for your nice commentand compliments regarding your stay.

It's always nice to read that a guest really enjoyed his stay in our hotel and in Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you again at the NH Doelen.

Kindest Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Good: very good location, pretty building
Bad: poorly maintained at parts, very small rooms, which smell of humidity, almost no extra services, breakfast is not included, I requested 2 beds and didn't get them
Conclusion: if this were maybe a 3 star hotel it would be ok. But considering they charge like a 4 star hotel, it is way overpriced. Not the standard it promises.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are sorry that we didn't gave you the standards that you expected.

We would like to inform you that in the in the near future we have a total renovation planned.

Hopefully you will visite us again after the renovation.

Kindest Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel has a grand old lady feel. Lovely atrium and very friendly staff. The breakfast was very substantial. Nice location for most things. We had a canal view room which was very pleasant. On the downside it was noisy at night and there is no air con. It's all a bit faded grandeur. Enjoyed our stay though so thank you.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Nice to read that you really enjoyed your stay at the NH Doelen Hotel.

We are located in a street with some bar's and cafe's so sometimes it can be a bit noisy.

Thank you for leaving a review about your stay.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

my favorite hotel, in one of my favorite cities. Too often, I think, we find ourselves in hotels which are modern, have all facilities, but are all the same. This hotel has history, gorgeous marble reception area, old world charm, and is so centrally located that everything is within walking distance. We were so totally swept away last visit by the room we were given, we asked if we could possibly have it again when we booked. We were absolutely delighted that we were given it again this time. So needless to say, customer service is of a very high quality. The breakfast buffet was delicious, with a good selection of cheeses, meats and breads, and the staff were constantly coming in to take plates away to be replenished. Sunday breakfast continues to a very civilised 12 noon. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when we come to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking the time to write a review about the NH Doelen.

It is nice to hear that your stay was expecting again your expectations!
We will definitely share all your positive feedback with our teams.

We try to keep the original style alive in the first hotel ever in Amsterdam.

When you visit Amsterdam again we hope to welcome you at the NH Doelen!

Kindest regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed at the nH Doelen with a buddy, The location is PERFECT. All the coffeeshops, stores, bars and clubs are nearby. The staff is really friendly and helpful, the room was awesome as well! Really great hotel, we will be coming back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#124 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#161 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#221 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#79 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,550 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#133 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Doelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Doelen

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 26, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen) , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Doelen 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam’s oldest and most celebrated hotel, the NH Amsterdam Doelen hotel rests on the banks of the Amstel River in the heart of the city’s historic center. Dating back to the 17th century this cultural landmark has played host to everyone from Queen Victoria and Empress Sissi to The Beatles and Rembrandt—whose world famous "Night Watch" was painted on the hotel’s third floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, NHHotels, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your NH Amsterdam Doelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Doelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.