We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, charming view, moderately decorated rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Doelen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Doelen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #233 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Best location, charming view, moderately decorated rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I spent 6 days in this hotel with my husband in December 2013. It was more satisfying than we expected. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town center. As well the charming canal view of the rooms (also dining room) is the another reason to make us feel pleased. Moreover it is located in such a cozy place when it is compared with the other noisy street hotels in Dam square. Regardless of the best location and nice view it could be decorated more classy for a 4 star hotel and the staff could be more conversationalist. As such, I recommend this hotel if you are looking for being in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Senay,

Thank you for your nice commentand compliments regarding your stay.

It's always nice to read that a guest really enjoyed his stay in our hotel and in Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you again at the NH Doelen.

Kindest Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    195
    129
    66
    53
See reviews for
50
213
34
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Good: very good location, pretty building
Bad: poorly maintained at parts, very small rooms, which smell of humidity, almost no extra services, breakfast is not included, I requested 2 beds and didn't get them
Conclusion: if this were maybe a 3 star hotel it would be ok. But considering they charge like a 4 star hotel, it is way overpriced. Not the standard it promises.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are sorry that we didn't gave you the standards that you expected.

We would like to inform you that in the in the near future we have a total renovation planned.

Hopefully you will visite us again after the renovation.

Kindest Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel has a grand old lady feel. Lovely atrium and very friendly staff. The breakfast was very substantial. Nice location for most things. We had a canal view room which was very pleasant. On the downside it was noisy at night and there is no air con. It's all a bit faded grandeur. Enjoyed our stay though so thank you.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Nice to read that you really enjoyed your stay at the NH Doelen Hotel.

We are located in a street with some bar's and cafe's so sometimes it can be a bit noisy.

Thank you for leaving a review about your stay.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

my favorite hotel, in one of my favorite cities. Too often, I think, we find ourselves in hotels which are modern, have all facilities, but are all the same. This hotel has history, gorgeous marble reception area, old world charm, and is so centrally located that everything is within walking distance. We were so totally swept away last visit by the room we were given, we asked if we could possibly have it again when we booked. We were absolutely delighted that we were given it again this time. So needless to say, customer service is of a very high quality. The breakfast buffet was delicious, with a good selection of cheeses, meats and breads, and the staff were constantly coming in to take plates away to be replenished. Sunday breakfast continues to a very civilised 12 noon. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when we come to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking the time to write a review about the NH Doelen.

It is nice to hear that your stay was expecting again your expectations!
We will definitely share all your positive feedback with our teams.

We try to keep the original style alive in the first hotel ever in Amsterdam.

When you visit Amsterdam again we hope to welcome you at the NH Doelen!

Kindest regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed at the nH Doelen with a buddy, The location is PERFECT. All the coffeeshops, stores, bars and clubs are nearby. The staff is really friendly and helpful, the room was awesome as well! Really great hotel, we will be coming back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I have just spent four days in amsterdam with my fiancé, the hotel was tidy but a little dated which in our minds gave a bit of charm, breakfast was ok with plenty of cold choices, pastries and bread options, although lacking in the hot food department, hard boiled & scrambled eggs and streaky bacon was the only hot items offered on all of the four breakfasts we had, The bed was soft, if too soft for my partner who has a back problem, great location in the centre of town.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The experience at the hotel was not what I expected. I have stayed at NH hotels in the past (NH at Santiago, Chile) and that was the reason I booked this hotel, but please, this will never be a four star hotel! No air conditioning, old, old carpet, apparent wiring, problems with credit card upon arrival (had to pay cash for the stay), 'soft' bed. Will complain at front desk and at the website. I am writing on my first night at the room and did not observe the points when I checked in, unfortunately.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Doelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Doelen

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Doelen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam’s oldest and most celebrated hotel, the NH Amsterdam Doelen hotel rests on the banks of the Amstel River in the heart of the city’s historic center. Dating back to the 17th century this cultural landmark has played host to everyone from Queen Victoria and Empress Sissi to The Beatles and Rembrandt—whose world famous "Night Watch" was painted on the hotel’s third floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your NH Amsterdam Doelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Doelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.