We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CITY BREAK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Doelen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Doelen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #233 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“CITY BREAK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

just back from a 3 night stay in hotel doelen.this is NOT a 4* hotel.at best a 3*.very grubby in places with wallpaper peeling and paint coming off the woodwork.on the up side in a great location very close to main attractions in amsterdam. breakfast was good .a choise off hot and cold dishes fresh fruit and juices.the staff in this hotel were very polite and helpful.if you were prepared to ignore the overall look off this hotel then it is a good place from which to explore the city.

Room Tip: keep an open mind when booking this hotel.just think off where you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    195
    129
    66
    53
See reviews for
50
213
34
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful. My downfall was you could hear everything from upstairs not for light sleepers! One day our room missed a clean because they never came by. And another day we were given a dirty towel. Otherwise it's in a good enough location and somewhere where we could rest our head. Quite small.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stay 2 nights on 10th and 11th March recently. Overall the stay was excellent and the reception during check-in was very efficient and even offered me upgrades for room facing canal. Good location and accessible to many restaurants and tourist attraction. Apart from a rude and sarcastic elderly bald reception staff during check-out, my overall stay has been pleasant and I will surely return with my family again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We only spent one night at the hotel, but definitely enjoyed our stay. We walked from the Central Station and found the Hotel with no problem. The location is very good to cafés and restaurants. The decor may be dated, true, but for us that added character. I recommend this hotel. It was fun.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Perfect location, friendly staff, nice building. Can recommend staying, good value for money. Request canal view for amazing views from your bedroom. Easy to find from train and tram. Would use again thank you :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. The customer service at this hotel is the worst I have ever come across. An error meant that we did not receive a booking confirmation. We therefore assumed that the booking had not gone through and we had to book an alternative hotel. However NH hotels charged us full price for a stay that we did not take and when we contacted them to explain what had happened (offering to provide them with evidence of no confirmation being received) we were told on several occassions by their Customer Services Manager that it was not their problem. We were very disappointed by this responce from a 5 star establishment but being able to understand that the error was down to noone in particular we would have been willing to compromise with maybe a refund of 50% but again we were given a firm No. How can this be called customer service? I would expect better in a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, Manager at NH Amsterdam Doelen, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Ms,
I am really sorry about your feelings with the customer service in the hotel, especially since you did not have the chance of staying with us.
Hotels work as airlines, if you make a mistake while booking a plane ticket, there is no refund possible. The same happened with the hotel you booked. You got a very special rate because it was a nonrefundable rate and that is very well specified in the reservation. The fact that you did not receive the confirmation from a third party website is not our mistake. The reservation was made, and received, in our system by easy to book. If you had told us of this situation before the date of arrival, we would not have kept the room and we would have been able to sell it. But this was not the case and we were not able to sell the room but kept it for you being the hotel fully booked.
I can understand the frustration but please, do understand the way nonrefundable rates work.
I am at your disposal for any further information you may need.
I hope you had a good time in Amsterdam.
Sincerely
L. Muro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel at the end of December 2013. It was down a side street, unimposing and backed onto the canal.
Only a few mins walk from the hustle and bustle and 10-15 min walk from the station.
The staff were helpful and friendly.
Our room was on the 5 floor and looked out on to the canal with a small balcony.
The room was spacious, bathroom had useful toiletries and thick towels. Coffee and tea making was good. Lots of positives!!
Yes, it was a little dated and could do with new decor - but this did not detract from our stay.
I would definitely stay again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Doelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Doelen

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Doelen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam’s oldest and most celebrated hotel, the NH Amsterdam Doelen hotel rests on the banks of the Amstel River in the heart of the city’s historic center. Dating back to the 17th century this cultural landmark has played host to everyone from Queen Victoria and Empress Sissi to The Beatles and Rembrandt—whose world famous "Night Watch" was painted on the hotel’s third floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your NH Amsterdam Doelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Doelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.