We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Doelen

Save Saved
You added NH Doelen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Doelen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, Binnenstad, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #230 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good stay recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Perfect location, friendly staff, nice building. Can recommend staying, good value for money. Request canal view for amazing views from your bedroom. Easy to find from train and tram. Would use again thank you :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    190
    123
    63
    48
See reviews for
44
203
34
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. The customer service at this hotel is the worst I have ever come across. An error meant that we did not receive a booking confirmation. We therefore assumed that the booking had not gone through and we had to book an alternative hotel. However NH hotels charged us full price for a stay that we did not take and when we contacted them to explain what had happened (offering to provide them with evidence of no confirmation being received) we were told on several occassions by their Customer Services Manager that it was not their problem. We were very disappointed by this responce from a 5 star establishment but being able to understand that the error was down to noone in particular we would have been willing to compromise with maybe a refund of 50% but again we were given a firm No. How can this be called customer service? I would expect better in a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, Manager at NH Doelen, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Ms,
I am really sorry about your feelings with the customer service in the hotel, especially since you did not have the chance of staying with us.
Hotels work as airlines, if you make a mistake while booking a plane ticket, there is no refund possible. The same happened with the hotel you booked. You got a very special rate because it was a nonrefundable rate and that is very well specified in the reservation. The fact that you did not receive the confirmation from a third party website is not our mistake. The reservation was made, and received, in our system by easy to book. If you had told us of this situation before the date of arrival, we would not have kept the room and we would have been able to sell it. But this was not the case and we were not able to sell the room but kept it for you being the hotel fully booked.
I can understand the frustration but please, do understand the way nonrefundable rates work.
I am at your disposal for any further information you may need.
I hope you had a good time in Amsterdam.
Sincerely
L. Muro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel at the end of December 2013. It was down a side street, unimposing and backed onto the canal.
Only a few mins walk from the hustle and bustle and 10-15 min walk from the station.
The staff were helpful and friendly.
Our room was on the 5 floor and looked out on to the canal with a small balcony.
The room was spacious, bathroom had useful toiletries and thick towels. Coffee and tea making was good. Lots of positives!!
Yes, it was a little dated and could do with new decor - but this did not detract from our stay.
I would definitely stay again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

As others have said the hotel is somewhat dated in decor with limited facilities but the building does have a certain character and charm about it and the staff were always helpful. The room was clean and warm although somewhat dark as it had few light fittings but it provided a cosy space to end the day. Very convenient for all the main sights and whilst the hotel has no bar this really is not a problem as you are in the middle of Amsterdam after all and there are plenty of bars close by either for breakfast or a drink in the evening.

We were there for four nights and found getting around easy with no real need to use the trams as just about all the sites were within a half hour walk. We found taking a canal trip on the first morning helped us to get our bearings and you can take a trip that starts just a few minutes from the hotel. Most museums were queue free when we visited except Anne Franks house but as we had booked in advance we did not have to wait, so well worth booking on line even though you have to commit to a time slot in advance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Lovely location, this grand hotel is worth a visit if you're looking for somewhere central and the lobby bar is a lovely place for a drinks after a long day of work or sightseeing. Service is great but I found the restaurants disappointingly expensive and of poor quality, and the room a bit tatty and worn (the handle fell off my wardrobe doors and the bathroom could use an update). Most annoying was the lack of decent lighting in the room which as a result was dark and gloomy even on a sunny day. With so many choices in this city I am not sure I would come back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The hotel is well located and is good value for money. Reception staff very friendly. The room I had was clean, reasonably quiet, small fridge, windows that open, soft lighting ( not up to reading standards tho) and inoffensive though slightly old decor.

Would I go back? Unless driven by price, I think there are better hotels about. Just a tad too basic - a lack of attractive public rooms and a slightly uninspiring bedroom. Hot drinks sachets not replaced, waste backet left unemptied, breakfast at 20 euros. Not good enough really....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Although close to the infamous 'Red Light District' this hotel is classy and has incredibly helpful and friendly staff, in a fantastic location.
We stayed for my boyfriends birthday and were given a great room overlooking the canal. Although the features and decor of the room could be called dated and old fashioned, this was not a major issue for us, and was clean, with ample room anyway.
The hotel is a relatively short, 15 minute walk from the train station, parallel to the canal (making it very hard to get lost!)
During our stay we didn't need to use any public transport, except for the train to and from the airport, as the hotels location meant everything was in walking distance, including Anne Franks House, The Zoo, a wonderful pancake house near Anne Franks House, and the Amsterdam Dungeons (which were fantastic! and student discount is available!)
The staff were some of the best I've come across and we're keen to help in any way needed. One lady was extremely helpful with map directions, drawing out a route for us, and suggesting restaurants near the shopping mall that were great. We ended up eating at 'Ludon', which I thoroughly recommend.
We didn't have breakfast so cannot comment on the food, although the drinks in the mini bar were pretty pricey! Although that is to be expected.
Overall this is a fantastic choice of hotel in Amsterdam. It is by no means a 5* and the grand entrance does not accurately reflect the rooms, but for us it was everything we needed and wanted it to be.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Doelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Doelen

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, Binnenstad, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Doelen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam’s oldest and most celebrated hotel, the NH Doelen hotel rests on the banks of the Amstel River in the heart of the city’s historic center. Dating back to the 17th century this cultural landmark has played host to everyone from Queen Victoria and Empress Sissi to The Beatles and Rembrandt—whose world famous "Night Watch" was painted on the hotel’s third floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your NH Doelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Doelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.