We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interresting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Doelen to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Doelen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #233 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Interresting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The place is nice, but not as we expected. For sure isnt a hotel 4 stars, maybe 3. Isnt so clean the rooms are very small, the walls are scratched, the floor make soundsc the same as in an old house.The vue from the room is beautiful.The hotel is very near to the city center and the staff is friendly.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    196
    129
    67
    54
See reviews for
50
214
34
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and what I can say is that : for sure is NOT a 4 stars hotels!
The cleanning was very poor , we had in the room a very big spiderweb and I think was there for many many times!
The rooms are small , the furniture is very old , the rooms that are a front of the street are noisy in the morning and in the night!
The curtains are not a blackout ones , in the morning all the light is inside the room:(!

Good things: the position is quite good near red district, the staff is helpfull, the wifi is free and is working !

So is not a 4 star hotel maybe a 2 maximum -3 hotel !

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I am sparing with my "poor" reviews as there is usually something good you can find to say about a hotel. In this case, the location is good, the bathroom was refurbished to a reasonable standard and the staff were helpful. but there is a limit to what even the most helpful staff can do in such a dowdy past-it hotel
If you call it a plus, I must admit that it was also cheap at about £60
The first room I was offered was so dark, (with the lights on! ) that I genuinely thought there had been a power cut. The receptionist came up and wittered something about green and power saving but the only credible excuse for using (I would guess) 15 watt bulbs is miserliness. I was given another room, bigger but only brighter in that there were more 15 watt lights in it.
This may not matter to you but it does to me if I want to read a book, or find my shoes.
The furnishings are old and dowdy and must be at least 40 years old. I am fairly sure the carpet was quite dirty but it was difficult to be certain in the available light.
The breakfast was just adequate. It served as a meal but I can't say it was enjoyable.
This is all a great shame because I used another NH hotel a few weeks earlier, in Museum Quarter which was very good.
I am unapologetic about this review because the staff agreed with me and said that it was due to start renovations in July 2014.
My advice is to stay away until it is renovated and reviewed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The deal we got for the hotel was very good so considering this the experience was overall more then average.

Good parts: central, hot water, change towel, elevator, free wifi, hot over night

Bad: spider web on the walls, small room, noisy, bad condition walls, exfoliating wall paper.

So, it's not a 4 star, but maximum 3. But if you get a good deal and you want to be central, this is a good choice.

I would come again only for a very good deal

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

friendly staff, clean towels every day. receptionist is always ready and happy to help u, even after midnight. fast check in and check out. Old fashion style of that hotel makes u feel that u r spending ur time in a castle :) smoking rooms are also available !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We are a family of 5 with 3 teenage children. We upgraded to superior rooms with a canal view on the 3rd floor. Two of our rooms 303 and 304 were doubles and in dire need of decoration. I would say a 3 star at best. Our other room was a twin 319 - this had been renovated and was of a good standard. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and had a fridge and minibar. Towels were plentiful and clean.

The hotel is an impressive building from the outside and in a central location. It could be fantastic, but needs some investment. We went next door to Cafe Jaren for breakfast and did not eat or drink in the hotel at all.

I would not return to this hotel as I'm sure I could have found better quality accommodation for the same price now that I know my way around Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Room 319 has been renovated. Rooms overlooking the street will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel is pleasant. I was only in a single person room, and so it was quite small. I was allowed to check in early, which was great. I was initially put in a smoking room which stank (of tobacco), but I was moved upon request immediately and the new room was fine. The bathroom was modern, and the TV had BBC One and Two as well as Dutch and some German channels. The staff were very friendly. My only criticism, and it is a minor point, is that they didn't have plug adapters to lend, which is something I've had in other hotels. Overall though, it was a nice hotel in a good location. It is very good value.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Doelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Doelen

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Doelen 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam’s oldest and most celebrated hotel, the NH Amsterdam Doelen hotel rests on the banks of the Amstel River in the heart of the city’s historic center. Dating back to the 17th century this cultural landmark has played host to everyone from Queen Victoria and Empress Sissi to The Beatles and Rembrandt—whose world famous "Night Watch" was painted on the hotel’s third floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Doelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Doelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.