We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Doelen to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Doelen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #234 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Western Ireland, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“City trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location. The staff are friendly but the decor needs some work. Wifi is available free
There is a shuttle from the airport which while more expensive than train & tram is a very easy way to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    204
    135
    71
    55
See reviews for
51
222
35
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

For a start I have a few gripes about some reviews on tripadvisor/qype/yelp about the TVs and WiFi at this hotel. TV, yeh they are old but I was in Amsterdam and did I want to

sit around watching TV when there was so much to see and do. As for WiFi, as far as I was concerned it was more than adequate. If you want better reception go to a more modern

hotel. OK, getting off my soapbox.
We arrived at about 10.30 am and knew that the room would not be ready until 3.00 pm. The reception desk took in our case so we wouldn't waste a day site seeing. My first

impressions were of a grace and style of a rare old hotel. Beautiful decor and extremely friendly, yet professional, reception staff.
Arriving later we were given our room on the 4th floor with a wonderful canal view.
The bed was extremely comfortable and the room large enough for we two. Yes, the rooms could do with a little make over but, as I have said, it is an old hotel. Towels were changed, unnecessarily, every day. Bathroom could do with a spring clean as there was some mould between the tiles, no problem. Also, only 2 of each, tea and coffee, sachets but I am sure that would have been rectified if I had asked.
Perfect city centre position with only minutes to walk to get to anywhere.
Overall a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed here for three days. Excellent location, walkable distance to cafes and pubs, close to a tram station. You can walk to most city attractions.

The hotel property is a historic places, and this shows in the mostly run-down look of its walls, flooring, carpets, lifts, staircase etc. But the stay was comfortable even though the rooms are small. The staff are very helpful. I was booked by our conference hosts, so would look for a cheaper place if I came back. The bathrooms are quite ancient as well, though clean, as are the cupboards. The hotel needs to modernize if it wishes to attract more customers. The buffet breakfast is excellent. 100 marks for location, but it seriously needs refurbishment.

Room Tip: Choose a room on one of the lower floors, as the lift can take a long time coming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located near the center of town. The hotel feels a bit "oldish" but the rooms are clean and the staff is efficient and friendly. I found it a bit expensive to be honest, but similarly priced to other hotels in Amsterdam. I would recommend the Hotel Doelen for either a work or pleasure trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The staff members were friendly and supportive. The loacation was very convinient for my purpose. The building is old, but the room and facilities were very clean and efficient. I would recommend this hotel to my colleagues and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Old beautifil building.
I reserved a twin room to single use, but they gave me a single and small room.
Need to be refurbished... Clean, but too old..
The staff is polite and helpful.. Didn't tried the breakfeast.

Good wifi.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Very disappointing Overpriced for the quality of the accommodation. Old fashioned TV which did not work and no one could fix. Plugged in the kettle and there was a flash and bang and the lights and everything fused. Lights in other bedrooms fused too. Booked in for 6 nights and allocated a room with no wardrobe and no drawer space. Moved to another room next day otherwise would have demended a refund and checked out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Doelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Doelen

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Doelen 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam’s oldest and most celebrated hotel, the NH Amsterdam Doelen hotel rests on the banks of the Amstel River in the heart of the city’s historic center. Dating back to the 17th century this cultural landmark has played host to everyone from Queen Victoria and Empress Sissi to The Beatles and Rembrandt—whose world famous "Night Watch" was painted on the hotel’s third floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Doelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Doelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.