We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Doelen to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Doelen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #232 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amsterdam break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Caught a last minute deal through last minute.com, 4* hotel 2nights & flights for £300. Stay was fantastic, friendly staff and great location to all the attractions. Took in all the sights like the infamous sex museum, canal cruise, Madam Tussaud.
Best advice if you have small suitcase but still have 6 hrs to kill is to drop off at Dam centraal station, only costs 4 quid for a secure locker.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    205
    135
    72
    55
See reviews for
51
222
35
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Amsterdam is a great city, the first time we had visited and hopefully not the last! The transfer time to the hotel took 20 minutes by train, then a short walk by tube. Bear in mind it is 15 minutes walk from Grand Central Station to the hotel if you decide not to get the tube. We attended a concert at the Ziggodome (excellent venue, but expensive for drinks/food) on the Saturday night, which took 25 minutes in a taxi and cost 25 euros.
The hotel location is very good, just a short walk from the main areas in Amsterdam. Despite being very close to Rembrant Sq (which can get very noisy in the evening) we did not have a problem with the noise and slept very well. Staff were welcoming and friendly. The decor is nice but a little tired and in need of some TLC. We didnt have a problem with the wi-fi. Our room had a canal view which was lovely. Our room was clean, with larger than average bath and powerful shower with plenty of hot water. Bed was very soft which was fine for us but may not be to everyones liking! We didnt eat at the hotel, had breakfast out which is much cheaper and gets you exploring the excellent cafes and bistros that are on offer. The hotel overall is no more than a 3 star in my opinion, but we still thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return again if the price was right.

Room Tip: ask for a canal view at the time of booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

very friendly staff. nice decoration. but the hotel is a bit too old. the windows do not close very well. i was in a room on the first floor facing the street in the first night. it was very noisy with cars passing by, and drunk people shouting. i changed a room to the other side and things get much better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Old building in a decent location, that was about the only positive thing.

Rooms were very noisey and dated, chips and cracks in room 111. Windows very thin so hear cars and even conversations outside. Impressive chandeliers but the whole hotel lacks substance in general.

The wifi was very very poor, unreliable and kept cutting out, this is never EVER a 4-star hotel, 2-star is more appropriate. When I checked out this morning at 5am the guy on the desk was rude, arrogant and unpleasant to speak to. I highly recommend you do not stay here!

Room Tip: Don't stay in any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The location directly at the Amstel is splendid - many sights are in walking distance and all of them in (recommended) bike distance. The staff was friendly. Waiting times at reception (only on recepetionist present). Our room on 4th floor was clean and ok - some rain dropped throught the window, the curtain was grey and torn. The breakfast hall with ist splendid view and excellent buffet with a widse variety of fruits and cheese was a superb start in a busy day as tourist.

Room Tip: I recommend to choose a superior room with Amstel-View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Old beautifull building, about as central to everything as you'll get.
Desparately in need of refurbishment! Public areas tatty, rooms small with high ceilings and no air con. Lots of street noise 24 hours due to having to open windows to cool room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The good thing about this hotel is its location and from the outside it looks charming. On the inside, it is in desperate need of refurbishment.

The rooms are small, which was not unexpected, but the beds are extremely soft, the TV's are old CRT type (not flat screen) and have a very grainy picture. The 'free wifi' is so slow it is almost unusable and there is a 100MB download limit, which is fine if you just want to look up the local tourist attractions, but not good if you need to do some work.

My room was on the 4th floor and as there is only one very slow lift (escalator for those whose 1st language is not English) it was somewhat time consuming getting back there.

The breakfast buffet was very nice, although not extensive, but the 20 Euro price tag is far too high and there are far better and cheaper alternatives close by.

It is branded as a 4 star but in its current condition isn't and if they do refurbish it, I am sure the nightly charge will go up from the 160 Euro per night I paid.

Amsterdam is not cheap, but I don't think this hotel is the best value to be found.

Room Tip: The canal view rooms are best and quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Doelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Doelen

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Doelen 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam’s oldest and most celebrated hotel, the NH Amsterdam Doelen hotel rests on the banks of the Amstel River in the heart of the city’s historic center. Dating back to the 17th century this cultural landmark has played host to everyone from Queen Victoria and Empress Sissi to The Beatles and Rembrandt—whose world famous "Night Watch" was painted on the hotel’s third floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Doelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Doelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.