We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Doelen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Doelen to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Doelen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #233 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A fine hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

A lovely old hotel right in the centre of Amsterdam. We (6 of us) stayed here For four nights. Every room had a different layout and it really was the luck of the draw as to who had greater space/room layout. The downside of the hotel is that the rooms are a little tired but to make up for that you get extra space and a little individuality. The windows open, the views are great and the wifi is slow but there. The staff are very good. We never ate at the hotel as there is a great cafe just over the canal bridge which serves a trad Dutch breakfast for a fraction of the price. Also the hotel is close to so many eateries and interesting things that we used the hotel as a base from which to go out for food and drinks.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    214
    140
    75
    56
See reviews for
51
229
39
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

we were there for 7 nights last month and the hotel was perfect. the staff were very fraindly and halpful in any problem that we had. the location is perfect close to everything. we were at the 3 floor at room 307 and the wifi was good. the only problem was that there wasn't ec but you fan and tis is enough. it was value for the money. i alsow recommend the nh chiller an nh carlton hotels.

Room Tip: choose the rooms on floor 3 the sign for wifi is very good and quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Booked this a few weeks back. Today, the same room would have been a lot cheaper if I had just walked in off the street. It's annoying to have paid top price for such a tired shabby room (see pics). One good thing about not paying for breakfast upfront is that you can at least go elsewhere for that!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel staff were perfectly pleasant and helpful and the hotel was clean enough, although do not be mis led by the term hotel, this is more of a hostel than a hotel. What is silly is that for a littlle expenditure the cosmetics of the place could be transformed into something that then may represent not value for momey but at least reduce the impact of the prices. Hotel is very well located for the railway station and central Amsterdam so presumably that somehow justifies the price tag and lack of investment. Somehow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A very helpful and friendly staff. They helped us find a room that we could check into immediately as we had arrived hours before normal check-in time. We upgraded to a room over looking the canal, which had a beautiful view. The one caveat is that there was no air conditioning but this is a building built in the 1400's so allowances must be made. We were blessed with a concert on the canal in the evening which only added to the enjoyment. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is in a fab location, but is in need of some updating. Wifi was fine for emails/face booking and bed was super comfy. Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and spacious. Rooms were very warm at night and we ended up covered in mozzie bites the nights we slept with the window open, so defo worth taking some insect repellent!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Got there early not expecting to get into our room until later but the very friendly and helpful staff had us sorted within 5 minutes. A pleasant room, clean, spacious with everything we needed. Breakfast was good and staff very attentive. Really pleased we chose it. Would go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Doelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Doelen

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Doelen 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam’s oldest and most celebrated hotel, the NH Amsterdam Doelen hotel rests on the banks of the Amstel River in the heart of the city’s historic center. Dating back to the 17th century this cultural landmark has played host to everyone from Queen Victoria and Empress Sissi to The Beatles and Rembrandt—whose world famous "Night Watch" was painted on the hotel’s third floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, NHHotels, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Doelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Doelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.