We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Doelen

Save Saved
You added NH Doelen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Doelen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, Binnenstad, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #230 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The most amazing hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have stayed here before, and loved the fact that our room had a small balcony from which we could watch the world go by. This time, all our expectations were exeeded by the room, which had a jaccuzzi and a lovely private balcony on the top floor. Wifi is free, however the reception when we stayed wasn't very good, but if you buy a coffee from the adjoining shop, they will give you access to their wifi for an hour. Service at reception was friendly and informative, and the hotel is extremely well located. Can't wait to stay here again

Room Tip: definitely go for a suite, which we found to be a very reasonable in price for the facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    190
    124
    63
    48
See reviews for
44
203
34
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We reserved and stayed at this Hotel, good location but Terrible rooms, NO AIR CONDITIONING in the room, the TV is very small and old, bad lighting and the BEDS are old and very unconfortable.
Would Not recomend it at all, not up to NH standards.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We checked into the NH Doelen on the 1st August for 3 Nights, this was following a long winded walk from central station after taking a wrong turn! If you stick to the correct route you can walk it in approx 15/20mins with bags in tow! (we did it on our return home)
Reception staff on arrival were very friendly! Rooms clean and tidy and of a decent size! Beds very comfy and a choice of pillows. Tea/Coffee facilities, Hairdryer and Trouser Press/Iron free in room, chargeable Mini-Bar. Only downside was we didnt get a smoking room and they didnt decorate the room as they confirmed they would for my partners birthday! We did mention this but didnt complain as special requests are never guaranteed and it wasn't anything that would spoil our stay.
We didnt eat breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on that but can say it was on the expensive side at €20 per person!
NH Doelen is situated centrally from Dam Square and Rembrandt Square approx 10min or less walk to both. We had no need to use a tram at any point all we wanted to see was walkable! Just make sure you take comfy footwear if you intend on walking and seeing the many sites there is a hell of a lot of walking you can do - Red Light district is a must just to stroll through at night! Its a whole different world..and also worth a giggle.
Most of the Restaurants / Cafes / Bars are expensive in Amsterdam but would definitely return again in the future and would also stay at and recommend the NH Doelen to others.

All in all a very enjoyable trip!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed at the NH Doelen last Sunday on a Hotwire deal. The price was right, but I would have been disappointed if I had had to pay full price for the small worn out room that was provided. The Hotel is in a very good location, right on a busy canal. I walked from the train station, which took about 20 minutes with my suitcase. Hotel staff was nice and helpful. Exterior of the hotel is lovely, but I guess I must agree with previous reviewers that the place is overdue a major interior makeover. I was in a very tiny single room, with a single bed and a micro-sized bath. Didn't mind it for the price, but if you're looking for luxury accomodations, this isn't the place for you. If you are looking for a reasonably priced and well located place to just lay your head, it is worth considering. Also, there is a cafe attached to the hotel that has nice outdoor seating and I would recommend it for coffee, a snack, or a beer.

Room Tip: If street noise bothers you, seek a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I booked a deluxe room, which you pay more for and actually is promoted by "a stylish room with a lovely view, elegant and noise-free walls" The room was crap!!! The window was so dirty that you could almost not look through it, the wallpaper came off the walls on several places, there was a large leakage on the ceiling and no airco and the room was bloody hot, but it was too noisy to open the window, because of the noise from outside. I could literally follow the next door''s conversation, so no noise-free walls at all!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

For a short holiday in Amsterdam with my wife we stayed in NH Doelen Hotel. A perfect choice since NH Doelen is at walking distance to all magics of Amsterdam city. The Hotel has a picturesque facade and is located just at the entrance corner of Amstel river (gives name to Amsterdam)to the city and the Kloveniers canal. Hotel charges a little amount for selecting a room in the facade wing with this fantastic view but it worths.The hotel is at the very entrance to old Amsterdam where Kloveniers guarded the town and Rembrandt painted his colossal sized masterpiece The Night Watch for them at this very spot of NH Doelen where there was the guard tower that time. The painting was long removed to Rijksmuseum. We walked with my wife to the museum to see this masterpiece. As well the Van Gogh Museum, the Oude Kerk, the Rembrandt House, the Hermitage Amsterdam, the antique street, the flower market, Rembrandt square, the shopping district and the very core of old Amsterdam(red district) are all at walking distance to NH Doelen - rest and go again. The hotel offered a rich and perfect open buffet breakfast in the well decorated breakfast hall again with the fantastic "belle vue" of Amstel and canals.The hotel staff were warm and cordial all perfectly dressed suiting the atmosphere. The room and bathroom were clean and neat. The hotel had a shuttle service to the airport which we employed. Just next to NH Doelen was Cafe de Jaren a perfect place for dinner and snacks with a most pleasant ambiance and a terrace with a great sight at the side of the canals. Great time perfect choice we had in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: pay a little amount more and select a room at the canals side facade of the hotel and have a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

3 days at the end of June in this lovely old hotel. The hotel is well-placed in the heart of Amsterdam, at the cross between 2 canals and within walking distance from the main tourist attractions. We walked everywhere, from DamSquare (5 minute) to the Naval Museum (20 minutes tops. Breakfast was not included in the price, so for €20 we decided to forego it, and went to a coffee shop just downstaies for delicous latte and butter croissants. The room was large enough for 3, bathroom was perfectly clean.. One thing I must ,mention. I was given a room on the second floor facing the street and it was incredibly noisy at night. It felt like the windows were wide open and we were sitting right in the street (but they were closed!). Not happy about this; should you go, you should ask for a room facing the canal (maybe, NH should offer this to clients BEFORE they spent a sleeplress night..? For the rest, excellent choice and I would go again 8different room!) :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Doelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Doelen

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat, 26 | City Center, Binnenstad, 1012CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Doelen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam’s oldest and most celebrated hotel, the NH Doelen hotel rests on the banks of the Amstel River in the heart of the city’s historic center. Dating back to the 17th century this cultural landmark has played host to everyone from Queen Victoria and Empress Sissi to The Beatles and Rembrandt—whose world famous "Night Watch" was painted on the hotel’s third floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your NH Doelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Doelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.