We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No air conditioner” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Plantage & the East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“No air conditioner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

There was no air conditioner and in summer, their tiny little fan wasn't sufficient
The air vent in the tiny bathroom made a constant whistling noise which could still be heard with the door shut
None of the staff wished to advise us that there was construction going on next door, I wouldn't have stayed there if I knew or even a warning would've been nice because we were startled by the noise of a jackhammer very early in the morning
You could literally hear every persons footsteps from above you (and no I don't think they were jumping around)

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    276
    204
    77
    37
See reviews for
74
299
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very nice small hotel near the airport. Small but comfortable rooms. Overall very clean with a frindly staff. Great hotel for a short stay like ours. Not very centric but everything in Amsterdam is just a Tram away.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigo, Spain
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel was a Little far from the city center, however all was great except for the room service because we had to complain reception desk about there were not enough gel and hygienic paper after 3 days spent there. We hoped not to have to ask for it.


  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for writing your review.

Kind regards,

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Arrived and rooms were not ready, however we were able to put our luggage in a 'secure room' this was not secure as the door was left wide open to the general public on view from the road.
The outside of the hotel resembled a building site, not that of the one that is in all the photos, and we weren't told it was being renovated.

On returning to the hotel we were given our rooms, which we 'shabby' and NOT 'shabby chic'. We had booked two rooms and my daughter and her friend had one, myself and my husband the other. The rooms were incredibly tiny, we were given an upgrade on one room, they hadn't another.

I was told I could speak with the manager the next day, however do you really want to spend ages moaning? I didn't. It makes you feel miserable, so chose to leave it to the last day, to be told there wasn't a manager available.

The bathrooms, well shower room, was mouldy and smelly. The water in the showers did not flow away properly, and so the second person showering had to stand in a puddle of dirty water!

Monday we woke to demolition equipment on site, as the hotel has bought the place next door and is knocking it down before renovation takes place.
The location is quite away from the centre for a short stay, but trams are available, but can be pricey if there are a few of you.
On Tuesday morning, we woke to more machinery and noise. We were two floors up, and the next thing we knew! A man at the window cleaning the windows! Me having just got out of the shower! not a good look!
When asked if they would like to put things right before leaving or offing some sort of compensation we were told no manager available.
I also witnessed three other people making complaints as we waited for our taxi.

Oh, we were given three small bottles of water as we left!

Room Tip: If you have to stay here whilst the renovations take place, room 216 was our room, watch out for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for your review and thank you for sharing your feedback.
I am sorry to read that your stay did not match with your expectations and that I was not able to meet you. Normally I am in the hotel every working day from 8:15 hours untill 17:00 hours but Wednessday was my day off. I am sorry that we missed eachother, I would have gladly talked to you.
We did buy the building next door and we have the agrreement with the builders that they work between 09:00 and 17:00 hours only to avoid any noise and they really keep their promis.

Again my apologies, I do hope that you have enjoyed your trip to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed with our 17 year old son and had 2 rooms on the ground floor.Rooms are not huge but very comfy beds and were clean.
We had breakfast every day which was of a good standard and choice that set us up for our day.Get the 9 or 14 tram to the centre which is just down the street opposite a great friendly pub!We brought Iamsterdam cards that gave us unlimited tram use,admissions to some museums,zoo,micropia,boat ride and restuarant discounts.Buy them at the airport at information....well worth it
Would stay here again :)

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Wendy,

thank you very much for sharing your review over here.
I am happ y to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us we hope that we may welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived early and our room wasn't ready so the receptionist told us that we could leave our luggage in their secure storage room. Very friendly lady.

The hotel is quite a walk from the main areas of Amsterdam but there is a tram stop not far from the hotel, although we didn't actually use the tram at all as we walked everywhere. It took us about 20/25 minutes to walk to Dam Square but it was a nice walk in the sunshine and easy to find your way to all the main tourist sites. The hotel is in a quiet area so perfect if you're not visiting Amsterdam for a wild weekend. It is situated directly opposite the zoo too!

Our room - we had a room with four single beds in. The beds were actually very comfortable and had clean, crisp bedding. The room also had a wall mounted flat screen tv which we didn't use. There were electrical sockets next to each bed. The bathroom however was a disappointment. You walked through the main door to the room directly into the "bathroom". Where the actual room looked as though it had been decorated quite recently (albeit, slightly dirty - mucky marks on the walls, dust under the beds etc) the bathroom was very dated with grey/brown floor and wall tiles. The shower was in one open plan cubicle with a shower curtain hanging and the toilet in another cubicle. The shower itself was not very good and the water pressure not great. The toilet cubicle was very very clean though and had obviously been cleaned that day. In the main area of the bathroom/entrance foyer of the room there was a small sink and mirror although this area was very dimly lit.

The room also had relatively high speed wifi which was excellent as I have stayed in far nicer hotels that either don't offer wifi in the rooms, wifi only for a fee or frustratingly slow speeds.

We didn't eat in the hotel although they do offer free tea and coffee in the reception which was very welcome after a long day of travelling, there is also a vending machine and jugs of water provided.

Check out was at 12 which was excellent and after we checked out we were able to store our luggage in their secure room and go out to explore the city again until our flight later that day.

All in all it was an okay hotel to stay in for a short break especially for the very reasonable price but do not expect anything lavish. This hotel would really benefit from upgrading the bathrooms to fall in line with the standard of the actual rooms. We had a lovely stay in Amsterdam and the hotel served its purpose well.

Room Tip: Quiet, Cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sir, madam,

thank you for writing your review and giving us your feedback.

Kind regards,

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The reviews are really helpful and I agree with most. The reason I say underrated is because the area is really quite nice and has a great local feel. My family of four (two teenage girls) walked to and from central city many times and easily. It's a solid 3 star hotel but it's very clean, very functional and comfortable. Not a lot of style but perfect home base for a three star. Don't plan to eat here! The restaurant is worth looking at only because it's so weird. Never ate there and wouldn't want to. Lounge is comfortable and free coffee and espresso are actually very good. Staff is friendly and speaks good English. You won't spend time at this hotel but as a solid three star, comfortable even if not fancy, easy going local area with great bars and restaurants within a 2 minute walk, centrally located, I would stay there again and I would recommend it. The city is vibrant so it's a nice respite and a phenomenal value for the price.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you very much for taking the time and effort to write your review.
I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#117 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,781 reviews
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven
#201 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Vondelpark
BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.