We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel for good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel is located in the edge of the centre of Amsterdam in a quiet and nice area. 30 minutes walk from Central Railway Station and 20 minutes from Dam Square. 2 lines of a tram are located near the hotel, so you can get to any point you need in Amsterdam within 15 minutes. Rooms are a little bit small but clean, normal for the 3-star hotel. Breakfast is also standard for the 3-star. Good but no variety. Personal is ready to help. Free fast Wi-Fi in rooms and free coffee/tea in lobby. Good hotel with normal location for an acceptable price.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for writing your experiences about your stay with us.
I am glad to read that you have had a good stay and we hope that we may see you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    269
    197
    76
    34
See reviews for
70
286
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tel aviv
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice hotel far from the central area
Clean good service near the zoo but far from the center area
Thank you for the stay the crew was vary helpful in finding the museums and the other main attraction of the city


  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Sir, madam,

thank you for writing your review.
I am glad to readthat you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we could be of service to you.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos aires
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel was nice and comfortable. Not in the middle of the center but it was walking distance. Has elevator. It was a nice trip for me and a good place to stay with my friend. I will recommend it!!!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Luli,

thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am glad to read that you have had a good stay with us.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is completely average. Staff are friendly, the breakfast is fine, the location is a little bit of a walk to the town, but close-ish to the harbour . Nothing really stands out apart from the free coffee machine in reception which was nice. I'm struggling to make any special comments in this review. I would only recommend it if you are seeing something specific. I went to the FITC show at the Pakhuis de Zwijger, so for a location that is inbetween the town and the harbour its pretty good.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for writing your review over here.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haute-Vienne, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel, very clean and very friendly, helpful staff. The tram service is just down the road which takes you straight into the center.. the free coffee machine in the entrance hall was lovely, you dont get much for free now a days..all in all very pleased with our stay and will definatly be going back again :)

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for writing your review.
It is good to read that have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our free coffee.
We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wife and I booked weekend trip with BA, hotel recommended by BA. What a let down. Small room with 2-single beds. No fridge. No room service. What! Yep, no room service.
More like hostel than hotel. Room had lingering musty smell.
Please avoid.

Stayed June 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sir,

thank you for writing your review. I am sorry to read that you were misinformed about our hotel and that your expectations did not match with your stay. Our hotel does not have roomservice and our rooms do not have fridges except for two superior rooms.
If we had known that your information for the travel agent was false, we could have tried to solve this with the travel agency or with you, during your stay.
I do hope that you have enjoyed your trip to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay to explore Amsterdam! Only a short walk away from the main city centre, some main attractions very near by. Staff very friendly and helpful when we had a problem with our booking from Thomas Cook! Could not have been of more assistance. Room surprisingly big for a city hotel, view not great as at back of the hotel but we didn't stay in room much with so much to do. Beds very comfy, no traffic noise. Breakfast good but another good place to eat only across street. Hotel defiantly worth a look, thank you again to the great staff!

Room Tip: Get top floor if u can and don't mind the stairs, there is a lift though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Betsy,

thank you very much for writing your review over here and thank you for your kind words.
I am glad that we could be of help and hope we may see you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.