We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but ridiculously overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Okay, but ridiculously overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for a weekend trip to Amsterdam. The room was _super_ small and quite run down, a refurbishment is utterly needed to justify the nighlty rates. The hotel is fairly central and has a tram station nearby. Was the first hotel ever to ask for a deposit for the room (and this when you pay ~180 EUR/night)!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, today
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you stay did not match with your expectations.
The deposit of € 50,- in cash or on a credit card is a standard procedure and is common in hotels. This deposit will be returned or refunded at the check out.
I am sorry that you were not aware of this.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    262
    191
    76
    33
See reviews for
70
276
28
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The good:
1. Location: it's in a nice part of the city, and near the botanical gardens, the zoo and the Resistance Museum
2. Breakfast: a nice selection of food, and good coffee
3. A comfortable bed
The bad:
1. No help with your luggage
2. Narrow hallways
3. Tiny room
4. Tiny bathroom, with inadequate water pressure to the shower

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, today
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for sharing your experience in your review.

Kind regards,

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Four of us stayed at this hotel from monday to friday. We were greeted by very helpful staff who let us check in early. Our room was spacious and very clean and had everything we needed, plenty of towels, tea, coffee etc. It was a very comfortable bed and a peaceful nights sleep. The hotel offered many different vouchers and deals for activities in the city which was very useful. The shower was great and always hot. The wifi was free and very fast. I would highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Charlie,

thank you for your review and your kind words.
We hope to welcome you once more in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Four of us stayed at this lovely hotel, my two daughters and a friend. We stayed in a quad room. There was plenty of room for the four of us in this clean, well laid out room. We loved the fact that the toilet, shower and wash room was all separate so we could all get ready at the same time without having to wait , being four females this was great for us.
The staff at the hotel were all really friendly and helpful. They had no problems helping us with anything, and they had a sense of humour which was good.
Even though we were on the top floor, this was not a problem as there was a lift to right outside our room. This hotel is absolutely brilliant. The tram stop is not far to get to, to go anywhere you want.
We all had a fab time, and are already thinking of returning and we haven't even unpacked.
Would like to thank all at this hotel for making our short break a pleasure.
Hope to see you again soon.
P.s if you stay at this hotel we recommend that you buy a tram pass, we got one for 48 hours and we used it loads. We even used it to the station for the last time on our way home and it was only 12€ each....excellent

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Kim,

I am glad to readthat have emjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for writing your review and I hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived on a Sunday afternoon to a clean presentable entrance, greeted by a helpful, cheery receptionist he got us checked in quickly with no fuss.

Bedroom had four single beds, felt a little cramped but was okay as we only had 3 people if we had 4 then space would have been an issue.

The view from our window was terrible, but didn't expect anything spectacular for the price and a city break.

The toilet was clean and okay, nothing spectacular. One small thing... The furniture in the room was somewhat mismatched, but didn't bother us greatly, however if you were to go on a romantic getaway it would be nice to have a matching nice room.

The hotel was located 2/3 tram stops away from the city center not majorly far, but not majorly close either. Walking would take a while so do not recommend this hotel if you want to save on tram costs.
The tram costs aren't that bad, it was 13 euros or something for a 48 hour pass.

Overall it was a pleasant stay but nothing amazing that makes me want to stay again :)

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sir, madam,

thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Their fantastic range deals .
We can do instant confirmation .
Their service is toooo fast.
It is located in the centre of Amsterdam.
All rooms have a safe and coffee and tea making facilities.
In the whole hotel there is free wifi and in theirlobby and you can enjoy a free coffee or tea. They offer a delicious breakfast for the perfect start of the day.

Room Tip: window facing , 4th floor , have the breakfast and enjoy free wifi ..
See more room tips
Green Features: recycling, water conservation , greenery all around and so many shops to shop or buy good stuff.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for sharing your experiences and writing your review overhere.
We hope we may welcome you once more.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was very very small but clean.
The staff is helpfull but a little bit cold.
The street Plantage Middenlaan is very calm during the night...unfortunately many guests slammed their doors and it was difficult get asleep.
This hotel has nothing special but the surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mara,

thank you for writing your review over here.

Kind regards,

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.