We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little stopover hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little stopover hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We hadn't intended on staying in Amsterdam overnight, however after changing plans we managed to get a double room for less than £40 overnight. With shower facilities, television and everything we needed, we actually thought his hotel was much much better than originally anticipated.

Also about two miles out from Amsterdam Centraal, and directly opposite the zoo the hotel is in an ideal spot for staying on a city break. Luggage storage is also available. Overall, an excellent hotel for the price!!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Carolyn,

thank you for your kinds words in this review.
I am glad to read that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope that we may welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    243
    176
    69
    33
See reviews for
65
252
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 days, it was a trip for my partner for his 30th, I had emailed in advance to ask for some balloons/streamers to be put in the room for us arriving on the day and we received an email a couple of days in advance to say they would sort something out for us which they did, my partner was well chuffed, initially he walked in he thought it hadn't been cleaned. Talking about clean, it was immaculate - the whole room, we were in room 118 - ground floor, I know I've seen other messages about small rooms but this room was massive - however if you are after an outside view this is not the room for you - not an issue for us as we were out and about all day and sometimes all night. Exceeded all expectations after the reviews. Location was good, we walked everywhere but there was a tram stop just outside, the zoo was across the road aswell, it's not smack bang in the middle but it's a nice location. We didn't have much dealings with the staff but when we did they were helpful, friendly and professional. Would recommend and definitely stay again. If I have to fault something, the room had two single beds pushed together, that's not uncommon but normally they are joined with a larger cover or duvet cover to make them seem like one - a minor issue.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Gilda,

thank you for writing your review overhere. It was a pleasure to decorate your room for this birthday surprise.

We hope to welcome you once more in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel last year for 2 days with my friends. Apart from really poor quality of service (rude personnel) and small rooms, my fried's purse was stollen. Moreover it got magically found just after we headed the local police officer.

Room Tip: Better not stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Kate,

thank you for writing your review overhere.
I am sorry to read about your bad experience you describe in your review but we have no knowledge of this incident in our records. I would have gladly known about this during your stay in February 2014 so I could have investigated it for you.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here over the New Year and although the room was small everything else was very good. Friendly staff, free wifi, good hot shower, soft towels and a comfortable bed in room 310 from where we could see the flamingos in the zoo - you can hear the elephants too.
Breakfast was included and there was plenty of choice both hot and cold.
The hotel is on the number 9 tram route which runs from the Central Station every 10 minutes or so during the day. The stop is 2 minutes walk when you leave the hotel.
Lots of local places to eat nearby and we really liked Ristorante Pizzeria Torino on Roetersstraat which is a five minute walk away.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Rob,

thank you for writing your comments overhere.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay wtih us and we hope that we will see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Decent enough hotel with an alright location.The rooms were a bit shabby and the "double" was just two tiny singles pushed together. The bathroom is minute and the shower isnt great.

And if you are goiung to have coffe making facilities some milk would be nice.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 22, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for writing your review overhere.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

We booked this a mid price hotel in Amsterdam, I had read the reviews so requested a room on the upper floors to avoid noise, which was great and we did not hear any street noise.
The hotel is brilliantly placed, we went to Amsterdam for Christmas shopping and it was great to be able to nip back to the hotel and drop off bags during the day.
We arrived late, tired on a Friday night so went straight to the Bistrot Flo that is attached to the hotel, it was fully booked so we were seated in the bar but able to order off the Bistrot menu, the service was quick and the food was excellent, it is a bit pricey but was excellent quality and the bar had a nice atmosphere.
Breakfasts were good and had a lot of choice.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book on the top floors to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 22, 2014
Dear Abigail,

thank you very much for writing your review overhere.
It is good to read that you have had a good stay in Amsterdam allthough I am afraid you did not stay in our hotel but in our sister hotel the Hampshire Eden Hotel. This hotel has the bistro Flo attached to them.

I will forward your review to them.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in september as a group of 4 girls. Was pleasantly susurprised by the rooms. Beds were extremely comfortable and had amazing nights sleep. Bit of a walk into the canals but not unbearable, we walked every day and did not get the tram.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 12, 2014
Dear Danielle,

thank you for writing your nice words about your stay in our hotel.
I am glad to read that you have had a lovelyy stay with us.

We hope to see you again,

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.