We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel for a Short Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel for a Short Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My partner stayed in this hotel for my birthday in February for 2 nights.

It is a lovely hotel, the rooms are modern and clean as is the rest of the hotel; extremely contrasting to some of the photos that other people have posted on here.

Breakfast was the usual continental; bread, cheeses, ham, coffee, sausages, cereal etc.

The free hot drinks machine in the Reception and free WiFi throughout the hotel were rather handy as well.

The hotel staff are friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in a brilliant location whether you are a couple on a short stay or a family as it is just out of the noisy atmosphere of the centre. It is across the road from the Artis Zoo which I would recommend for a day out and also is either a 15-20minute walk or 5 minute tram ride from Rembrandt Square.

It is really useful to know that you can buy 24 and 48 hour passes for the trams as my partner and I looked at doing one of those Red Bus tours, but instead just picked up a map and bought a 24 hour pass for around 7 Euro each and went around Amsterdam this way, as a cheaper alternative.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    224
    166
    62
    31
See reviews for
62
230
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a lovely little hotel and very easy to find. Take tram #9 and get off at Plantage. In the direction of travel it's on the left just pass the intersection. The staff is great, free espresso/cappucinos in the lobby and the tasty breakfast was very lovely. The wifi worked without a hitch AND there is an ice machine! I didn't know that they existed in Amsterdam.
Will definitely stay here again.

And for those who like ice cream (and let's admit it, who doesn't?) there's a great place at the nearest intersection.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for your kind words in your review, it is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay.
I am glad you have discovered the ice cream shop around the corner, both my staff and myself are very glad with it too.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pro's:
The hotel was clean and nice decor. The showers were good size. We had a nice view of the adjacent park. The breakfast the hotel offered was excellent. The breakfast staff was pleasant and attentive. The wifi (free) worked great. The bed was really comfortable. The hotel was about two blocks from the Tram #9. We paid 7 Euros for a 24 hr pass per person. TIP: Be sure you scan your pass when you get on and get off. Otherwise it will deactivate. It's not close to everything by walking but take the Tram and hop on and off to get where you want to go. The Tram goes to Central Station too. We had to go to the airport and took the Tram to Central Station (#14 Line?) then a train to the Airport which was about 5 Euros per person.

Con's:
No A/C but that was typical of the hotels. The window did open but then we heard drunks partying outside until 4am. We arrived early and stored our luggage until later in the afternoon. The storage room was not locked and anyone could go in. When we got back that afternoon it had been locked at that point but they just gave us the keys. No claim check tags. We had to use an ironing board and they got one for us out the storage luggage room. They are not in the rooms. The entrance to the hotel, we had to take stairs up and carry our luggage. We were on the first floor but there were steps to go up and had to carry luggage up. Not horrible but I can see it may be difficult for elderly travelers or if they have a lot of luggage.

Room Tip: The hotel location is not in the heart of the city or near nightlife but you can take the Tram anywh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you very much for writing your review over here.
It is good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to see you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights, and were pleasantly surprised. It is only 10 minutes by tram from Central Station, with a tram stop about a minute's walk away. It is approx a 10 minute walk to Rembrandt's House, and near a large supermarket and cafés. Being opposite the zoo is handy so you know where to get off the tram!
The staff were helpful, and the breakfast was good, though the cooked part of it did not always look particularly appetising.
The room had everything you needed - hot drink facilities and a very comfortable bed. It also had a fan incase it was too hot. The bathroom was a little small without a bath (just a shower), but that was not an issue with only staying for a few nights.
There is a communal area on the ground floor, with vending machines, which was always beautifully clean. There was also a left luggage, though this was a little risky as anyone leaving luggage could have gone in your case. However, we used the facility without a problem.
I would definitely stay there again if I returned to Amsterdam.
Tip: there was a delicious Italian around the corner, called La Roma (downt he road with the Chinese on the corner). I would recommend eating here as the food was delicious and very cheap, great portions and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for writing your review over here.
It is good to read that you appreciated the service of our staff and had a good stay with us.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this hotel through last minute.com secret hotels. After I paid they let me know I was staying as soon as I paid. I stayed here for two nights, we arrived at 12 and told we could access our room at 1, they said we could leave our stuff in their luggage room. Most hotels I stayed at either kept my luggage in their office, or put it in a secure room giving us a tag to get our bags back. This was a room around the corner from reception, that was mostly kept locked, but perhaps not as secure as others. I booked a twin room, there was a decent size, and a comfy bed. The bathroom had all the essentials, it had a shower, I would have enjoyed a bath, but for the price I paid I can't complain. There was a TV in the room which had lots of Danish, British and American channels. There were no issues with notice from other guests or traffic. The hotel is close to the zoo, and is a 2min walk to a tram stop, and tram take about 10min to dam square. And the hotel is close to cafés, a market and a supermarket. The only issue was when we checked out they sprung a €6 tax on us, I don't mind paying but wasn't expecting it. I would recommend if you are staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Zoe,

thank you for writing your review about your stay in our hotel.
The € 6,- tax is the local tourist tax which every guest in hotels in Amsterdam have to pay. We collect this and pay this to the city of Amsterdam. We do try to inform all our guests at check in and this info is put on the websites we work with. I am sorry that the amount for this city tax was not clear to you.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were here for 4 nights. Good location - about 10 minutes from the train station by tram, and quiet. There were a lot of student backpackers when we were there and breakfast was a challenge (get there early, or go later to avoid the rush). The bathroom was minuscule, but the room was clean and the staff were friendly. All-in-all it was exactly what we needed - cheap, clean and somewhere to lay our heads at night.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you very much for writing your review.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This location was great for our family. We could walk to the center (in 10m) and do shopping and have a coffee etc...

Additionally the Zoo is opposite the Hotel and so our daughter really enjoyed the trip. Definately our list to return to next time we are in Holland.

Room Tip: top floor was very quite...(400+)
See more room tips
Green Features: Staff were very helpful and extremely pleasent. They looked after all our needs, excellent!
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for writing your review overhere.
It is good to read that we will be seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.