We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & convenient location - highly recommended!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet & convenient location - highly recommended!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel for two nights last week. As with many review comments of Amsterdam hotels in general, the room we had in the basement (002) was snug/small for two people but fine for the short stay. As the room we had was directly below the lobby/entrance, we could hear the occasional footsteps and sounds of doors closing. It was noticeable, but wasn't a big deal as we were out all day and didn't get back to the room until late anyway. The hotel provided a standing fan as the room was pretty hot. The room price included breakfast which was not outstanding but a reasonable and convenient buffet spread to start the day. Service and reception staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel's location is not right in the centre of the city's action but close enough to walk (or take a tram). Big advantage is it's really quiet at night! The room and bathroom were cleaned every day, no complaints. The free wifi access without the need for special log-in codes was a big plus. The no.9 tram stop is nearby to get to the city centre and also Schipol airport via Centraal train station (allow at least an hour for travel). Can also ask the reception to book a shuttle transport to the airport for 17euros giving at least 2 hours advance notice. Would definitely consider staying here again!

Room Tip: Don't go for any of the basement rooms if you really want a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for your review overhere in Tripadvisor.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and are recommending us.
This is highly appreciated.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    216
    163
    59
    31
See reviews for
58
220
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Perfect hotel for nights out in Amsterdam. With a tram stop right outside it's so easy to go all round Amsterdam. I would recommend getting a tram pass for your time in Amsterdam as they are so useful! Hotel staff are friendly and nice but rooms aren't anything special, but more than enough just to freshen up and rest your head!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you very much for taking the time to write about your expereince in our hotel.
I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in July 2014. Experience was very mixed. It is well-located and easy to get to, there are many nice places to eat/socialise in the area if you don't want to do the more busy, tourist places in the City Centre. Staff were helpful and the hotel reception with its ice machine and free tea/coffee machine was also very useful whilst you plan where to go/meet up etc. However, the room was very quirky - toilet and shower in separate 'cupboards', sink in the room. The room was large but the whole place had a grubby feel and the toilet had a lingering odour. Their towel policy is a bit different from the norm - we left some on the floor on the basis that we thought they would be changed - they were re-folded and put back on the shelf! With typical English reticence we went with it ( it was only two nights) but I would not re-book or recommend. It's a shame because there is a lot going for it and it is not the most expensive hotel to stay at - just a bit more attention to detail and it would be good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Wendy,

thank for writing your experience overhere. It is good to read that you enjoyed our staff and service. We have changed the towel procedure this summer due to the warmth and the fact that our guests would like to shower more and use a different towel.
In the bathroom we have expelained about the towel procedure (towel on the floor is change, towel hanging on the door means using it again) Unfortunately we have had may complaints from guests who did not understand the standard procedure and therefor we have changed our policy for this summer as a test. The housekeeping did not fold up the used towels, they were just changed for clean ones and put back on the shelf.
I hope this explains the towel incident.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped at Lancaster three nights over the last month.no frills rooms at a good price just far enough out of the centre to be relaxing.number 9 tram from Central . Friendly staff and a good breakfast though the second day went into the centre for a change of scenery.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Glenn,

Thank you for your nice review and kind words, please stop by another time.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stayed at this hotel for three nights in june 2014. it was a great stay! we had a really early flight and obviously couldn't check into the hotel immediately but the staff were helpful with assisting us store our luggage while we went out into amsterdam to kill some time. we were given a bigger room than we expected (room for 4 people even though there was only 2 of us), so we had a lot of space and the bathroom was good too. the beds were especially comfy. the location of the hotel is really impressive for the price we paid. it is a five minute tram ride to the centre of Amsterdam, with a tram stop right outside the hotel, or a pleasant twenty minute walk. (public transport in amsterdam is generally really easy to understand) there are plenty of things to do in the immediate local area too - the zoo (which was a lot bigger and better than we expected), a busy street market, a supermarket, lots of quirky clothes stores, a park, coffee shops and canals everywhere. it was nice to stay outside of the busy centres as it felt a lot safer walking home late at night. upon check-out, we were faced with an extra charge of almost 300 euros for the upgraded room which we had apparently asked for. but after explaining that this larger room was the one we had been given by the reception staff, these fees were avoided. the only extra charge we had was a city charge of 14 euros (congestion charge if you like) which was no problem at all. overall a really great stay! amsterdam is an amazing place. would definitely recommend staying here at this hotel too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for writing your review overhere.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is like the curate's egg - good in parts! To start, it's easy to find and easy to get to by tram 9 from Centraal Station, Amsterdam. It's situated in a green and leafy area which was traditionally a Jewish residential area, and across the road from Artis Zoo. There's a tram stop about 200 yards along the road, and it's about a 20-30 minute walk to the city centre. There are good cafes and bars and bakeries in the nearby area and it's pleasant for walking. There are canals just around the corner, lovely for strolling in the evening.

On arrival, the building sits on a corner opposite a small park/football area and looks very nice. However, when checking in we were immediately asked to pay 50 euros for 'tickets, extras and drinks' - we said we didn't require any of these but were told it was compulsory - we paid up, but weren't happy and this gave us a really poor initial impression. We hadn't been told by our travel agent there would be a charge so it was very annoying and we didn't know if we'd get the money back or not, which really put a cloud over our arrival. (I've never been asked to pay this in any other hotel I've stayed in). Then our twin room was made up as a double - there were two single beds but they were pushed together and the room was so small it was very difficult to rearrange the furniture differently. We managed, but the bathroom door them could not fully open because our room was so small and fitted wall lights made rearranging the beds difficult. The room was really too small to be used as a twin. The en-suite bathroom was also incredibly tiny - probably about 3 ft wide by 5 ft - clean enough, but to use the loo you had a wedge your knees under the sink. Not great - and for anyone with mobility problems at all or taller or larger than average it would be impossible. Fresh towels were provided on the 3rd day only and the sink was cleaned then too (don't know if this is normal or if it was because the door wouldn't fully open as a result of us having to rearrange the beds). Décor wise, the room was chocolate brown/grey and russet so not the best, and the window nets and glass were fairly unclean. Our room was 106, on the front left corner and pretty noisy - you can filter our the traffic/tram noise though - but there was lots of noise from reception with radios, phones ringing, people coming and going all night which woke us up a few times.

The hotel is opposite the Artis Zoo - you get noise from it too, but it's actually brilliant to wake up with howler monkeys chorusing, and there are wild green parakeets zooming around the park calling to each other too - which we really liked.

There is a small safe in the wardrobe (we didn't use it, so can't comment if it worked) and the hotel expressly say they are not responsible if there are any thefts from your room - so take care of your belongings and valuables! There's also a plug in fan, kettle and tea/coffee and mugs and the window will open for fresh air. To be honest, the room was a bit grim - not somewhere you look forward to coming back to. It did the job for the 3 nights we were there, but only just and it was a relief to leave, especially considering the price and the claim that the hotel is 3 star.

Happily, breakfast was very good every day and a saving grace of the establishment - it's a self service buffet down stairs and along a series of corridors - and there's a great selection of muesli, granola, yogurt, dried and fresh fruit, juices, coffee, tea, chocolate, sausages or bacon, boiled and scrambled eggs. There's also cold meat, cheeses and a variety of different breads, rusks, gingerloaf, cucumber, tomatoes, preserves and spreads. No complaints about breakfast or the breakfast staff who were very efficient and pleasant! Other guests were students, couples, older people from all over Europe - all politely breakfasting away.

When we checked out we were relieved to get our 50 euros back - another member of staff told us the charge was not for extras of any kind, but 'in case something happened with the room' - so I imagine a deterrent against vandalising guests. Apparently this is standard in Amsterdam, so we were told, but if you're not expecting it, to be hit with a fee on arrival gives a terrible impression and is a bit of a downer, and of course you only get it back when you're leaving - so build that in when you're planning your holiday spending money.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - away from reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Stormcloud46,

thank you very much for your extensive comment about your stay.
I am sorry to hear that the deposit policy was not explained by your travel agency. We ask a credit card number or an amount of € 50,- as a deposit for any extra's like tourist tax, phonecalls etc. Guests may put extra's like bike rental, stamps or museumtickets on their room and any difference to this deposit will be returned at check out. This is quiet common in most hotels. I hope this explains the reason for asking for the € 50,-.
We do hope that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you once more.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Before i leave review i have to thank to Mr Richard for such great service .Can not wait to come back again to your great hotel.Great service and organization in all ways.i am recomending hotel to all Amsterdam visitors.Easy to walk around and easy to reach from airport.Hello from Ljiljana and Hrvoje as well:)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for your kind words overhere.
I will pass your thanks to Richard, it is good to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.