We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

enjoyed our stay at this hotel. only ten minutes from the centre. Room was clean and good size seeing as we only paid for a small room. Batteries were not in the remote when we arrived but this was soon sorted out when I asked for more at the reception desk. Had to pay 10 euro service charge when leaving the hotel (even though our last minute package said it was included in our holiday) so be prepared for this when checking out!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Abby68,

thank you for your comments in your review overhere.
In Amsterdam, hotels are asked by the City of Amsterdam to charge the guests tourist tax which is never included in any rates. The VAT tax is included but the tourist tax isn ot.
The service charge you mentioned is the tourist tax which we, as hotel, have to hand over to the city of Amsterdam.

I hope this explains the "service charge" you mentioned in your review.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    249
    184
    66
    35
See reviews for
56
220
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights before taking a river cruise. Hotel is good value, and has helpful, pleasant staff. Building is older with a lot of character. Breakfast included is decent and sets you up for a day exploring Amsterdam. Watch out for the crazy bicyclists!
Only criticism is it's a good 20 minutes walk from Dam Square. But it is right on the tram line.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear John W,

thank you for taking the time to write your review overhere.
It is good to read that you have enjoyued your stay in Amsterdam and our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Found this hotel through Booking.com and it offers value for money to a family on a budget who were looking to maximise our time in Amsterdam.
Rooms were small but cosy rather than poky !
Breakfast was easy enough basically as much buffet as you could handle usual stuff toast, croissants, pan au chocolait, cereals, cold ham,salami, cheese etc. Coffee,juice and tea.
Excellently placed about 10 mins from Dam Square , 12 minutes from Centraal Station (and trains to Schipol) plenty of eating places near to hotel and lots in on the tram. 9 & 14 tarms stop outside hotel. 9 takes you to Centraal Station and 14 to Dam Square and Jordaan area.
Loved Amsterdam first time for our family.
You must see Anne Frank House, Resistance Museum both excellent about Nazis and Jews.
Van Gogh unmisssable; Stedilijk a bit oatchy some good Malevich and Mondriaan but some poorer later 20th century stuff.
Do buy the Iamsterdam card as it saves money and DO go on the free boat trip around the canals as it shows you what areas might be interesting for you.
Heineken Experience good too and 2 'free' beers included in the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear mkla07,

Thank you very much for your review and your recommondations on things to do in Amsterdam. This really helps our guests.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Comfortable rooms and lovely staff. One of them even spoke Spanish, that was a plus since we were staying with Spanish-only speaking friends. The breakfast was a nice buffet that even had some traditional food, though mostly it was international food. There is an elevator, in case one isn't very fond of stairs.
We walked from there to the city center and it wasn't that far away, but since we love walking we didn't feel it. It was safe and the city has a lovely, relaxed vibe. I fell in love with Amsterdam right there.
If you aren't fond of walking or cycling, no fear, close from the hotel there is a tram stop. One of the stops for the canal boat tour is also nearby, so it is convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear ReleenaL,

It is very nice to read that you fell in love with Amsterdam; you really enjoyed your stay and we are happy about that.
We hope to see you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights over Christmas 2013. Hotel is situated on good tram route served from centraal station. Room was ok, basic and the bathroom was very small! Breakfast was nice; good selection and kept us going for most of the day.

Room Tip: We were located on the fourth floor which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear HRB25,

thank you for taking the time to write your review overhere.
It is good to read that you have enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The hotel is conveniently situated in a quiet area, two minutes' walk from a tram stop for the no.9 (Dam Square and Centraal Station) and the no.14 (Nine Streets). There's also a night bus to Centraal from the same stop if your flight arrives or departs when the trams aren't running. There are a number of decent restaurants (italian, chinese) just round the corner, and an ATM close by. The Artis Zoo is literally across the road.

We found the staff friendly and helpful. There's no restaurant, but there's an 'eat as much as you like' breakfast room with a big selection from a buffet. At Euro 15 it's not cheap, but we could see guests making up rolls, sandwiches, and fruit for their packed lunches, which makes it better value :-) The reception room upstairs has tea and (ground) coffee from a free vending machine - it got quite lively in the evenings while we were there. There's a computer there for guests' use, and free Wifi (which also worked from our rooms).

The rooms are nothing special: comfortable beds, desk, wardrobe with a safe, cramped en-suite bathroom with a shower, WC, and sink. Our room (001) was at semi-basement level (the window looked out at street level), which didn't help the plumbing. When I took a shower, the shower tray filled up with water to an ominous level. Flushing the loo would occasionally cause water to bubble up from the drain in the shower tray. People worried about water borne diseases (diarrhoea, hepatitis A, typhoid, cholera, etc) would be advised to request a higher altitude room.

The walls and floors of the hotel were not particularly soundproof. If your neighbouring guests are inconsiderate, noisy, or drunk (or all three) you may not get a good night's sleep. Luckily the neighbourhood outside was pretty quiet while we were there.

Would we stay there again? yes, if the price was right. It's not the kind of hotel that will make your holiday especially memorable, but it won't ruin it either.

Room Tip: Beware of the plumbing at the bottom of the hotel ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear jpmcc_ta,

thank you for writing your review overhere.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The Hampshire is a really good hotel, good location and really quiet for good sleep, about 15mins walk from central area. breakfast good and all laid out self service. rooms basic but clean and comfortable ideal for short stays.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Barbara D,

thank you for your nice and kind words overhere.
It is good to read that you liked our hotel and enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in a 100-year old building in city center - Walk to Waterloo Square, Rembrandt Square and Artis Zoo. Certified with the Silver Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.