We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but tiny rooms with thin walls & windows!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good value but tiny rooms with thin walls & windows!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

For £65 a night, we couldn't really complain. The location is really good; you're not in the middle of everything but in a really nice area with plenty of bars & much more local (higher quality) restaurants - see some of my other reviews for where to eat/drink in this area.

You can easily reach the hotel on public transport from Schipol - take the train, then the no.9 tram from Centraal Station (7th stop - Artis). You can walk to Nieuwmarkt in 15 minutes and take a tram to Dam Sq in 12 minutes.

Negative points about the stay:
- really tiny room; I'm talking shoe box, we had to push the bed further across the room, right up ageing the window, to gain an extra 30cm or so.
- walls are so thin you can hear when somebody sneezes in the room(s) next to you.
- if you're at the front of the hotel, you hear road noise & building works from 8am as windows are not very thick. We were woken up this morning by the noise of monkeys calling to each other in the nearby zoo...
- bathroom very small - you might need to leave the door open to fit on the toilet!
- poor TV reception.
- Front desk staff aren't too polite but maintain a general standard of service (when you're lucky enough to find someone manning the front desk).

Positive points:
- location (local bars/restaurants & ease to get to Centraal)
- INCREDIBLY comfy double bed (not two twin beds pushed together)
- near the zoo
- far enough away from the mega touristy areas to feel as though you can dip in and out when you want.
- Breakfast is pretty good (but weird bacon).

Overall, average. Possibly would stay again if the price is right but would request a room not at the front of the hotel. We were in 404, front corner, too noisy!!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel (front gets lots of street noise). Rooms on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear mail4matt,

thank you for your review overhere.
It is good to read that you have enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    230
    174
    66
    33
See reviews for
64
243
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The hotel was situated opposite the Zoo. The room was small, but had a good view, clean and the beds comfortable. Just right for a base to explore Amsterdam. The hotel only served breakfast. Which is clearly mentioned on its site. There is a trek to get to your breakfast, but the food and service is alright once there. There are basement bedrooms which could be off putting. But if used as a base for exploring and the cost makes it a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear LoweAm,

thank you for writing your review overhere.
We hope to welcome you back again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in March 2014. When we arrived the first room we were given was very small, the size of a cupboard. When I opened the door I could do one step and be in bed! I was shocked of the size of the room and I went to the reception to ask for it to be changed. Reception staff was very helpful during our stay and they offered to change our room the next day (no free rooms were available that day). The second room we were given was a bit bigger but still very cramped. Bathrooms were also very small. We stayed in the second room we were given as we thought it would do for a weekend break.
What I found good about the hotel:
- good location, close to areas of interest, tram 9 takes you straight to Dam Square and Centraal Station - 7 stops in total
- staff was polite and they did help when we needed assistance

What I did not like about the hotel:
- the rooms were not clean, curtains were covered in thick layer of dust which filled the room as soon as the curtains were pulled. Kettles in both rooms looked grubby and sticky therefore we did not use them
- bad smell in both rooms - smells like they need a good scrub off
- the images available on the hotel website do not reflect the true size of the rooms - images make rooms look much bigger than they are (not very fair marketing).
- do not ask the hotel to call you a cab to take you back to the airport - we made this mistake and for a 20 minutes ride the cabbie charged us €65! We realised something was doggy when we were half way through the journey and the clock was spinning like mad charging each time 10 cents. I am appalled that the hotel uses such companies!

Overall the hotel was ok-ish , beds were comfortable, but if we were to chose again we would not stay at Hampshire again due to the above reasons and overall impression.

Room Tip: check with the hotel the size of the room you will be allocated under your reservation ... to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Mummyshorts,

thank you for writing your review overhere.
I am very surprised to hear about the taxi fair. The maximum a taxi should cost is € 45,- per ride and that is why we only work with the Amsterdam Taxi Centrale. If you still have the receipt or have the number of the taxi, I would be happy to contact the taxidriver for you.
Please let me know.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Out in the sticks (Wiltshire)
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed at the Hampshire for 2 nights. The hotel is in a great location. The best tram to get from Centraal is the number 9 which stops at the "Artis" stop. Our room was on the street side of the building. It was very quiet and I got a good nights sleep both nights I was there. The room was a little small but I expected this looking at the reviews, and the building is an old building so nothing against them. The room was well presented but not very well cleaned for our second night. An exceptional shout out to the staff. Very good english and were extremely helpful when we wanted our room changed, and were very attentive when my friend injured her ankle and needed something to put her ankle in (Water). So very good stay, shame about the cleaning.
I will definitely choose this hotel again if I am in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Jamiedave,

thank you very much for your kind words overhere.
I am sorry to read about the cleaning. I will certainly pass this on to our cleaningcompany; thank you for mentioning this to us.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at Hampshire Hotel on 18th /19th March. Didn,t expect a lot due to price and reviews, so was pleased with what was on offer. I,m not really a picky traveller and just expect what I pay for. Room wasn,t the biggest but suited me and my wife, beds single and pushed together but not a problem as very comfortable. shower room small but only showering not dancing everything was clean and tidy. Had to be careful when sitting on toilet as not a lot of room but that's not a holiday highlight. Any reception staff I dealt with were polite and helpful. complimentary coffee in lobby. Arrived at 10 30am and was allowed to check in even carried our bags in. On checkout was able to leave bags in luggage room while continued to explore city.. Hotel was in walking distance of centre but also on tram route . Overall a pleasant hotel with decent rooms and comfortable. is a 3 star after all and was only a base to sleep.

Room Tip: Our room as 219 at the back of hotel so was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear MikeL5855,

thank your for writing your review overhere.
It is true that our rooms are not hte biggest ones but it's is good you appreciated our rooms and service.
We do hope to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

A member of staff opened and removed half a box of chocolate oreo's which we had bought for a gift, although it was only biscuits taken you start to think what else is missing| Daytime staff not interested, just shrugged their shoulders, very disappointing. Room average, bad smell in room when we returned after first day, cups left unwashed after maid had been in, good location but no way would return after our incident, I agree with other reviewers that poor customer service at reception, both days we left and returned to the hotel we never got a single acknowledgment,

Room Tip: sounds like all rooms are small with two beds pushed together,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Sear Sir,

thank you for writing this review.
we have investigated this and asked our cleaningstaff but they did not even like sweets.
You mentioned to the reception that your wallet and passport were next to it but nothing else besides the cookies was missing.
We offered you a free breakfast and both evening and morning recpetionists were in the understanding that we had done everything for the inconvenience caused.
I am sorry to read that you did not like the room, we could have easily changed rooms for you if only we had known.
Again my apologies for the inconvenience and I do hope to welcome you in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Arrived after a long day and the room had a bad smell. It was also at the front of the building so was very noisy. Give the staff their due we were given another room right away and it was spotless. Wouldn't recommend this hotel. It badly needs freshened up.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Betty M,

thank you for writing your comments overhere.
I am sorry to hear that the room did not smell nice but it is good to read that the receptionist changed the room for you when you asked for it.
The hotel is located in the city centre so noise cannot always be avoided.

Thank you again for taken the time and effort to write this review and we do hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.