We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location and great staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Out in the sticks (Wiltshire)
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location and great staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed at the Hampshire for 2 nights. The hotel is in a great location. The best tram to get from Centraal is the number 9 which stops at the "Artis" stop. Our room was on the street side of the building. It was very quiet and I got a good nights sleep both nights I was there. The room was a little small but I expected this looking at the reviews, and the building is an old building so nothing against them. The room was well presented but not very well cleaned for our second night. An exceptional shout out to the staff. Very good english and were extremely helpful when we wanted our room changed, and were very attentive when my friend injured her ankle and needed something to put her ankle in (Water). So very good stay, shame about the cleaning.
I will definitely choose this hotel again if I am in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Jamiedave,

thank you very much for your kind words overhere.
I am sorry to read about the cleaning. I will certainly pass this on to our cleaningcompany; thank you for mentioning this to us.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    224
    166
    62
    32
See reviews for
63
230
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at Hampshire Hotel on 18th /19th March. Didn,t expect a lot due to price and reviews, so was pleased with what was on offer. I,m not really a picky traveller and just expect what I pay for. Room wasn,t the biggest but suited me and my wife, beds single and pushed together but not a problem as very comfortable. shower room small but only showering not dancing everything was clean and tidy. Had to be careful when sitting on toilet as not a lot of room but that's not a holiday highlight. Any reception staff I dealt with were polite and helpful. complimentary coffee in lobby. Arrived at 10 30am and was allowed to check in even carried our bags in. On checkout was able to leave bags in luggage room while continued to explore city.. Hotel was in walking distance of centre but also on tram route . Overall a pleasant hotel with decent rooms and comfortable. is a 3 star after all and was only a base to sleep.

Room Tip: Our room as 219 at the back of hotel so was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear MikeL5855,

thank your for writing your review overhere.
It is true that our rooms are not hte biggest ones but it's is good you appreciated our rooms and service.
We do hope to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

A member of staff opened and removed half a box of chocolate oreo's which we had bought for a gift, although it was only biscuits taken you start to think what else is missing| Daytime staff not interested, just shrugged their shoulders, very disappointing. Room average, bad smell in room when we returned after first day, cups left unwashed after maid had been in, good location but no way would return after our incident, I agree with other reviewers that poor customer service at reception, both days we left and returned to the hotel we never got a single acknowledgment,

Room Tip: sounds like all rooms are small with two beds pushed together,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Sear Sir,

thank you for writing this review.
we have investigated this and asked our cleaningstaff but they did not even like sweets.
You mentioned to the reception that your wallet and passport were next to it but nothing else besides the cookies was missing.
We offered you a free breakfast and both evening and morning recpetionists were in the understanding that we had done everything for the inconvenience caused.
I am sorry to read that you did not like the room, we could have easily changed rooms for you if only we had known.
Again my apologies for the inconvenience and I do hope to welcome you in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Arrived after a long day and the room had a bad smell. It was also at the front of the building so was very noisy. Give the staff their due we were given another room right away and it was spotless. Wouldn't recommend this hotel. It badly needs freshened up.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Betty M,

thank you for writing your comments overhere.
I am sorry to hear that the room did not smell nice but it is good to read that the receptionist changed the room for you when you asked for it.
The hotel is located in the city centre so noise cannot always be avoided.

Thank you again for taken the time and effort to write this review and we do hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I found the customer service staff very helpful and friendly. I was there for Christmas in 2010 and it was very warm, friendly, including clean room with comfortable beds. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to travel to Amsterdam the Netherlands.
Paul.

Room Tip: Excellent location, including friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Paul P,

thank you for your review.
What a nice present to start the weekend with.
Thank you for your kind words and we do hope to see you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very nice and clean .there was 6 of us that all went for 4 Day one room was very large and the other two rooms was very small and cramped. Most of the staff was nice and helpful, we was a little way out from all the main attractions but it was a nice walk to take in all of the lovely buildings and there surroundings. There is a tram stop outside of the hotel if you wish to use it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Amanda,

thank you for your kind words overhere.
Our rooms have different sizes, it is a true and this is due to the fact that we are located in a ancient residence in the centre of the city.
We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

The best way to describe this hotel is beige. Nondescript, functional, affordable and good enough if you can't get better. The rooms are small but well equipped, adequate if all you need from a hotel is somewhere to sleep. The ensuite is best described as cosy. God knows how someone taller than 6' could use the toilet...Our radiator appeared to operate on chaos theory, at times the room was frosty, at others roasting.

The location is good though, opposite Artis with quick access to the centre and attractions.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Tim G,

thank you for your comment overhere.
It is good to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.