We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Plantage & the East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location! The hotel was on a quiet boulevard in a nice neighborhood with the tram to the Central Station right in front. It was a short walk to the major attractions in Amsterdam. Lovely lobby with tables, a computer for guests' use, and a coffee machine that dispenses cappuccinos and lattes. Friendly, helpful, courteous staff. Beautiful, clean, BIG room (not typical of European hotels). Great breakfast with a huge array of breads, cheeses and meats, condiments, yogurts, cereals ... you will not begin your day hungry! The breakfast room is a lovely setting with an even BETTER coffee machine. A most pleasant place.

  • Stayed February 2016, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maribeth2953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The rooms are basic but clean and have facilities like English TV. Free Coffee machine, hot chocolate etc... It's quite cheap and isn't too far out of Amsterdam central, i've stayed here 3 times now and would continue to stay here. Really good location for the zoo opposite the street, few nice local bars/restaurants around too!

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Alex,

Thank you for your visit to our hotel and ofcourse for leaving this pleasant review. It is good to read that you like our hotel and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Best regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel was very clean and the staff are very polite and helpful, printed off our boarding passes for us, lovely place no complaints at all.
Make sure you go to the Heineken museum, Ice Bar and book a cruise.
If you use the tram buy a 48hour ticket if your there for a weekend or you can buy 24hr passes.

Stayed February 2016, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Maxine,

thank you for writing your review and for your kind words.
It is good to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time in Amsterdam. I hope that we may welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards, Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really like this hotel - which is situated outside the main centre - in a very peaceful environment, opposite the city zoo...
It takes about 20 minutes to walk from Amsterdam Central station, but once you're familiar with the route, it's very easy to navigate.
The check in process was handled very smoothly - even though we'd booked two single rooms, we were informed the hotel only has one single room, so I was upgraded to a twin room. My travelling companion asked if he could transfer to a twin, as the single was very small, and as there were rooms available...he was given a twin also - excellent customer service from the lady at front of house.
The beds are ultra soft - I had a really good nights sleep, especially as my room (014) was very quite indeed. My companion in room (106) noticed a bit of noise, mainly due to being near reception....
There is free wifi, which is very strong - never once did it drop.
The toilet and shower area is really small, but manageable.
The buffet breakfast is very good value indeed - open from 0730 to 1030 weekdays, and 0730 - 1100 at weekends. There is a good choice of cereal, hot food, and fruit..
All in all, this is a good value hotel, away from the noise and crowds, perfect for a weekend, and exploring the city. we didn't feel the need to take a tram, during our entire stay, but if you have a lot of luggage - Tram 9 stops outside the hotel - from Central station..

Room Tip: Rooms in the basement, or on higher levels tend to have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Dan,

thank you very much for sharing your experiences in this extensive review.
It is good to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we may see you again in the near future.

Kind regards, Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayd las wkend- room didnt look like original photo on bookin site wanted 15 euro 4 breky whch was 30g rice crispies or egg - n need card to get n2 restaurant - staff was helpful but 15 Mins from CiTy

Room Tip: Dont stay here if u havent got 8 euro day ticket for a tram n2 town!!!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Amanda N,

thank you for your review.
I am sorry that the room you stayed in was not to your liking. We would have gladly offered you a roomchange if we had known.
Our breakfast buffet costs € 15, - per person but you get a very extensive breakfast with hot food, various breads, cheeses, meats, various types of dairy products, fresh fruit, different kinds of coffee and tea.
It is good to read that you appreciated our staff and I hope that you overall have enjoyed your trip to Amsterdam.

Kind regards, Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Beit Shemesh, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our vacation was excellent.Its close to the center and to tourist sites. Near the hotel there are cafes,shops and the zoo.The hotel was comfortabel and nice. The hotel staff was friendly. The place was clean.

Stayed December 2015, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank olgadrokov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Olga,

thank you very much for writing your review.

Kind regards, Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
321 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are a lot of great things about this 3-star hotel near the Amsterdam zoo. The staff was fantastic! Every person I encountered was very friendly and attentive. My bed was really comfortable, and the breakfast buffet offered a nice variety of hot and cold choices. The neighborhood in which the hotel is located is lovely with lots of eating options just a block or two away. The location is a bit further off the beaten path than I would have liked, but with a tram stop right in front it's easy to get anywhere else in the city quickly.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freutmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your kind words over here.
It is good to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we may welcome you once more.

Kind regards, Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#125 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook and Travelocity so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing