We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't plan on sleeping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Plantage & the East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bedford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't plan on sleeping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

It's 'cheap' for Amsterdam and well situated as a base to explore the city. Your room will be clean if not perhaps luxurious. Unfortunately in the 3 nights I spent there I didn't sleep a lot. Amsterdam is awash with rowdy young guys looking for beer, hash and possibly sex and quite a few of them were crashing in ALL through the night and making no attempt at all - quite the reverse - to respect the sleep of others. Bang, bang, crash.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Photowall,

thank you for your review, I am sorry to read that you had troubles with the other guests.
Although we have our night shift walking rounds at night, there is always the possibility of guest being loud. Please feel free to call the reception next time so we can take steps to avoid this.

We hope to see you next time in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    276
    204
    77
    37
See reviews for
74
300
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Everything is fine, except for one thing.

It may have passed some time since the last renovation, but the place is clean, the staff friendly (and speaks English), free wifi, good breakfast (in a windowless room in the basement, but much nicer than this sounds). Walking distance to downtown and the next streetcar station just a few steps away. Room temperature was ok, after I turned on the heating (January). My room was with two beds and may be a bit small for two, but for one it was ok.

The problem though was, if you imagine a scale of soundproofness with 10 soundproof, my room was about a 2. Light spills in from the corridor during the night on all four sides of the door, and so does apparently the sound. Neither do the walls protect much. You'll hear not only TV from the neighbors but also water running in the pipes, bathroom noises, steps on the hallway, cars in the street (not that many, luckily) and the streetcar rumbling, although my room wasn't even towards the main road. I admit I was sensitized by a room neighbor who had the TV screaming in the middle of the night (until I asked him to tune it down). But still, I got to hear much more than I wanted to. If you are insensible to sound, this is a good place to go, though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Trav010r,

thank you for writing your review overhere.
I am sorry to hear that you suffered some inconvenience due to the sounds of other guests.
We do try to check the hotel by doing rounds at night and asking other guests politely to keep down the noise.

We hope that we will see you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

A warm welcome and a pleasant room in a pleasant hotel. You need to go downstairs to take advantage of the wi-fi, but the foyer is set up in such an inviting and comfortable way, it's a pleasure to do so.

We loved the breakfast serve downstairs .. you had to go up, down, around and through and it felt like you were embarking a submarine until ta-dah! The dining room! The best buffet and an excellent start to the day. The staff just loved and indulged our children, which added to the feeling of wellbeing.

We spent two nights here and would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear hbf_melb,

thank you for your kind words regarding your stay in our hotel.
Allthough we have free wifi in all our rooms, it is good to read that this is not allways clear for our guests. We will place signs in the rooms. Learning from our guests is good to improve our service to them for the future, thank you for mentioning this.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

All hotel rooms in Amsterdam are small due to the way they build so when we got to this hotel we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is a minutes walk from the tram stop (9 and 14 stop here and go to the centraal station, stopping at Rembrandt Square and Dam Square on the way) although it's not too far to walk. There is a park situated next to the hotel which I'm sure would be a lovely spot in the summer and you are opposite a zoo which was a surprise seeing Flamingos in Jan lol. From mid Dec to mid Jan there is the festival of lights which includes lots of lit up buildings and light art installations all over the city which made it very beautiful and I was told this will happen every year from now. Also there was about 100 log cabins lining the main road from the station to Dam square selling foods and sweets, hot chocolate, beer and many other interesting products and on the other side of the square is a hole in the wall pizza slice shop that sells the best pizza I've ever tasted :) We also found a little restaurant off the beaten track called Fred's where Steve the Waiter made us feel very welcome as well as serving a lovely steak meal. The hotel has breakfast included and the was a huge selection and you can go up a serve yourself again and again there is definitely something for everyone. The room was clean but there were some hairs in the bathroom but it must have been a 1 off as when we told the staff it was dealt with immediately. If you are going there in the winter months it can get very very cold and although there was central heating in the room I found I had to wear my pj trousers and a sweatshirt so pack accordingly. Bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Room sizes do vary so if you want a little extra room ask for 1 of the bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Cass1377,

reading your review I see that you have had a great stay in Amsterdam.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four nights the staff were very helpful, the hotel was very clean and the location was perfect 2 minutes from a tram stop. The rooms were quite small but who is going to be sitting in a room all day in Amsterdam? They were warm and clean and thats all we needed. I hope to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Neilafc1,

thank you for writing your comments about our hotel overhere.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here on December 29th for one night. Took a taxi from Centraal but this isn't necessary, it's an easy walk. Good transport links on the 9 and 14 tram from outside the hotel to Centraal. Walking distance to Remembrandt square and lots of coffee shops there.

Room just about big enough to swing a cat in. Tiny bathroom. Beds comfortable and clean. Okay for a one night stay, especially if not spending long in the room.

Staff friendly, allowed us to check in 2 hours early and leave our baggage in the luggage room before this.

Breakfast nice, not a lot of choice but the coffee machine and hot chocolate is delicious!

For people who drink a lot of coffee, there is a free coffee machine in reception and the coffee is actually nice! (or just go to one of the 900 coffee shops...)

Overall a pleasant stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Rosie,

thank you for writing your review overhere.
It is very nice to see that you enjoyed our hotel and the new feature; free coffee for our guests.
It is good to read that this is appreciated.

We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful
The hotel is very well located and peaceful
Good value for money
Easy to get to the hotel using public transport
Coffee was free, it helps a lot in the cold an makes you feel welcome

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Frans V,

thank you very much for your kind words overhere.
It is good te read that you have had a comfortable stay in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#116 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,783 reviews
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven
#201 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Vondelpark
BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.