We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Breakfast, Lovely Staff, Beautiful Foyer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast, Lovely Staff, Beautiful Foyer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

A warm welcome and a pleasant room in a pleasant hotel. You need to go downstairs to take advantage of the wi-fi, but the foyer is set up in such an inviting and comfortable way, it's a pleasure to do so.

We loved the breakfast serve downstairs .. you had to go up, down, around and through and it felt like you were embarking a submarine until ta-dah! The dining room! The best buffet and an excellent start to the day. The staff just loved and indulged our children, which added to the feeling of wellbeing.

We spent two nights here and would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear hbf_melb,

thank you for your kind words regarding your stay in our hotel.
Allthough we have free wifi in all our rooms, it is good to read that this is not allways clear for our guests. We will place signs in the rooms. Learning from our guests is good to improve our service to them for the future, thank you for mentioning this.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    215
    163
    59
    31
See reviews for
57
220
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

All hotel rooms in Amsterdam are small due to the way they build so when we got to this hotel we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is a minutes walk from the tram stop (9 and 14 stop here and go to the centraal station, stopping at Rembrandt Square and Dam Square on the way) although it's not too far to walk. There is a park situated next to the hotel which I'm sure would be a lovely spot in the summer and you are opposite a zoo which was a surprise seeing Flamingos in Jan lol. From mid Dec to mid Jan there is the festival of lights which includes lots of lit up buildings and light art installations all over the city which made it very beautiful and I was told this will happen every year from now. Also there was about 100 log cabins lining the main road from the station to Dam square selling foods and sweets, hot chocolate, beer and many other interesting products and on the other side of the square is a hole in the wall pizza slice shop that sells the best pizza I've ever tasted :) We also found a little restaurant off the beaten track called Fred's where Steve the Waiter made us feel very welcome as well as serving a lovely steak meal. The hotel has breakfast included and the was a huge selection and you can go up a serve yourself again and again there is definitely something for everyone. The room was clean but there were some hairs in the bathroom but it must have been a 1 off as when we told the staff it was dealt with immediately. If you are going there in the winter months it can get very very cold and although there was central heating in the room I found I had to wear my pj trousers and a sweatshirt so pack accordingly. Bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Room sizes do vary so if you want a little extra room ask for 1 of the bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Cass1377,

reading your review I see that you have had a great stay in Amsterdam.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four nights the staff were very helpful, the hotel was very clean and the location was perfect 2 minutes from a tram stop. The rooms were quite small but who is going to be sitting in a room all day in Amsterdam? They were warm and clean and thats all we needed. I hope to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Neilafc1,

thank you for writing your comments about our hotel overhere.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on December 29th for one night. Took a taxi from Centraal but this isn't necessary, it's an easy walk. Good transport links on the 9 and 14 tram from outside the hotel to Centraal. Walking distance to Remembrandt square and lots of coffee shops there.

Room just about big enough to swing a cat in. Tiny bathroom. Beds comfortable and clean. Okay for a one night stay, especially if not spending long in the room.

Staff friendly, allowed us to check in 2 hours early and leave our baggage in the luggage room before this.

Breakfast nice, not a lot of choice but the coffee machine and hot chocolate is delicious!

For people who drink a lot of coffee, there is a free coffee machine in reception and the coffee is actually nice! (or just go to one of the 900 coffee shops...)

Overall a pleasant stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Rosie,

thank you for writing your review overhere.
It is very nice to see that you enjoyed our hotel and the new feature; free coffee for our guests.
It is good to read that this is appreciated.

We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful
The hotel is very well located and peaceful
Good value for money
Easy to get to the hotel using public transport
Coffee was free, it helps a lot in the cold an makes you feel welcome

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Frans V,

thank you very much for your kind words overhere.
It is good te read that you have had a comfortable stay in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We arrived at check in at 3 pm, having walked from centraal station. The walk was very simple and easy to decipher on a map, it must have taken us 20 minutes to arrive at the hotel, which is not bad at all. The road the hotel is on is nothing special, but just down the road there was a nice little park and several canal walks which we did explore. The staff seemed friendly and helped us with any requests we had during the weekend. We opted for the slightly larger room of 16sqm, which still wasn't massive but was a perfect size for anyone who just wants to use the room to sleep in. It was nicely furnished with all the things you could want such as a TV, hair dryer, and of course, a bible! The bathroom was a bit cramped but it didn't bother us at all. We had two single beds pushed together, but we didn't even notice until we were leaving! We though we just had a very big bed! All in all, the hotel is perfect for people who would like a decent place to stay, but do not want to pay big prices. The hotel was a perfect distance from the attractions and offered us everything we needed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Joington,

thank you for writing your comments here on Tripadvisor.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I've travelled all around the world and have stayed in mostly four to five star and more up class hotels if im honest. The Hampshire hotel was neither of these things but it's now one of my top ten hotels I've ever been in.

1. The staff is friendly! They're always happy to help.

2. The room (had a double) was pleasant and had everything you need. Hair dryer, safe, kettle... now normally these are things that you won't find in a cheaper hotel, but here they are! The room decor was simple and pleasant and despite it being an old building it was still perfect.

3. Breakfast had variety and wasn't boring at all. Thank you.

4. Location! The tram stop is just less than two minutes away which takes you straight into the city centre. It's so convenient I cannot stress how great it is. Also nice cafés and restos around.

5. The building itself, whilst not really important, is beautiful. Grand stairs at the entrance and a full length mirror on the stairs heading up, old breakfast room and hallways? Such a charm!

6. Free. Wifi. Enough said.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Raphmike,

thank you for your very kind words.
This is a very nice Christmas present for us.
We hope to see you again!

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in a 100-year old building in city center - Walk to Waterloo Square, Rembrandt Square and Artis Zoo. Certified with the Silver Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.