We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #196 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We found this hotel a decent and quiet one, not new or luxurious, but adequate for a short stay. We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel to save time due to our short 3 day stay, it cost us about EUR 50.

The 4-bedded room (2 x 2 single beds placed together) was reasonably big with just enough room for walking (but we have seen more cramped ones, so this was ok to our standard). We found the room not very user friendly. The bath gel dispenser was located at a weird position so you would end up hitting it or knocking the cover off during your shower. Doors creak loudly whenever you open or close them. We could hear sounds of the tap running or doors creaking from the room next door very loudly. The bathroom and toilet is located in 2 separate cubicles, side by side, with the basin located outside at a corner behind the door to the room.

Wifi was fast with good connection. The hotel staff at the reception was polite, though she offered information only upon request and further probing. You can buy the tram ticket from the reception or on the tram itself from the conductor. Remember to tap in and out on the card reader.

The hotel is easily accessible by tram (number 9). Quite near to city centre, but i believe it should still take at least 15 min to walk there (we didn't try it). However, we walked to Nemo. Took us 15 minutes. A few eateries/restaurants near the hotel.

Breakfast cost about EUR16 per pax, so we decided not to go for it. We tried a small cafe just steps away from the hotel entrance. It cost us much less and we liked the food served (croissant, toasted bread, eggs, bacon, ham, jam, butter, coffee, tea).

This hotel is not bad for a short stay. Overall we had a good stay, but I would want to try another hotel when i visit Amsterdam in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear blueraisin,

thank you for writing your review overhere.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    262
    190
    74
    33
See reviews for
70
274
28
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in October 2013, it was fine for a short city break, not luxurious just adequate:

Pros
- good location
- easily accessible by tram
- friendly and helpful staff
- comfortable beds
- quiet location
- yummy bakery round the corner!

Cons
- bathroom small (but you don't really need a large bathroom for a city break)
- we had a 'sewer' type smell in the bathroom, we told the receptionist and they seemed to sort it whilst we were out
- the beds were two single beds rather than a double...they weren't zipped together so as a couple we found ourselves falling down the gap in the middle!

Overall a great little hotel, just what you need for a city break!

If you are looking for things to do in Amsterdam then I would suggest:
- the Heineken experience
- the handbag museum
- the house of bols

I would avoid:
- the ice bar!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear cutie_shopper_11,

thank you for writing your comments about our hotel overhere.
it is good to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Was far from impressed with this hotel. I have stayed in a number of hotels over the last number of years and it was by far the grubbiest hotel I've stayed in. Toilet looked like it had never been cleaned, a crack on bathroom sink, rust on ceiling of shower. Whole bathroom needed to be redecorated. Bedroom, two single beds pushed together. Not even a double bed. And no way of keeping the beds together for a comfortable sleep. Furthermore dirty underwear from previous guest left in room. Took those offending items to front desk but never received an apology from any of the staff at anytime during our stay. If you want a hotel that looks like it was decorated in the 1960s and not since then this is the place for you. If you expect to have at least a clean place to stay then look elsewhere

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear William M,

thank you you writing your review overhere and my sincere apologies for the item you found in your room. This is certainly not our standard and I will takes this up with our cleaning company and our reception.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nice, quiet location with a few bars and restaurants with easy accessibility to the busier city centre.

Very friendly welcome upon check in however we were advised that we had a lower ground floor room (016) for the first night - but that we could move upstairs the next day (115).

Both rooms were adequate and clean although the single beds were a little too soft for my personal liking.
Room 016 did seem a little cramped, mainly due to the large wardrobe by the bathroom door at the foot of the bed. This was less obvious in the larger 115.

Both bathrooms are a bit dated and the curtain shower sticks to your body as it is so close in to the showroom. The showers themselves did what was asked of them - but nothing more.

Throughout, carpets have loosened and are rippled in many places but the reception area and lounge are relaxed with refreshments and games available.

Did not sample breakfast as I felt 15��� per person to be a bit steep - particularly as there is very good eating to be had close by at half the cost.

Highlights - the nocturnal dog who seemed to think he was a wolf, and the two loose parrots spotted in a nearby tree - bizarre.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Bellytubby,

thank you for your review,

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights this week and was happy with the room. good size and warm. Has really fast wifi internet which was perfect for uploading photos to facebook etc and planning our day trips. The location was perfect. with the awesome zoo right across the road. and close to the really good coffeeshop "het Balloonje". Catch tram 9 the get to the dam square or just walk like we did. takes 15mins at most. would stay again.

Room Tip: we had 2 single beds pushed together instead of a double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear MrMark87,

very good to read that you enjoyed the free wifi.
This is something we learned from reading the reviews overhere and decided to provide free wifi. Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Recently had a 4 night stay. It was a bargain for 30 per person per night and exactly what we needed. The staff were all lovely and spoke great English as most people did in Amsterdam.
The rooms were pretty big compared to what previous reviews on trip advisor said. More than enough space. The bed were really comfortable and the rooms nicely decorated.
About a 20 minute max. walk from the hotel to the centre and in a lovely area much quieter than the centre.
Lovely restaurants near by that weren't expensive.
Tram stop practically right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear PipM215,

thank you for your kind words overhere.
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.