We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for a short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
SOUTHAMPTON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for a short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Ok the bathrooms are small but are clean with effecient shower. Comfortable bed and ample tea and coffee making facility - what more do you want ? Very friendly and helpfull staff. A short walk or even shorter tram ride into the center of town. A good range of excellent resaurants and bars within a two minute walk from the hotel. Booked through Last Minute and FlyBEand got a superb rate. Overall cannot fault the hotel or service. Will happily return another time.

Room Tip: Ask on arrival if you can have the biggest room possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear IDB31,

thank you for your review here.
I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    222
    166
    61
    31
See reviews for
61
227
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. Booked it via last minute.com and got a fantastic deal, after reading some of the reviews i was a bit sceptical about what the hotel would be like. STAFF:We were greeted by very freindly staff the whole way throughout our stay.
ROOM: Our room was very big, double bed and sofa and enough room for clothes etc (although i think we may have had a slightly bigger than average room by luck!). The showers were brilliant and had tea/coffee facilities as well as a fridge which was great as we were making our own lunch etc to save some money! The double bed was 2 singles pushed together but wasnt a problem at all!
LOCATION: Personally i dont believe it is necesary to get a tram card although this was the advice by many. The walk to dam square is a 15 minute slow walk, and the whole walk is past interesting shops, resteraunts, museums, coffee shops so i feel you miss out on seeing alot of amsterdam by getting the tram, as it really is a lovely little walk (even in the pouring rain as we experienced it!) We used the tram just twice when we had to get to central station with all our bags.

Cant comment on the breakfast as we didnt eat as it was 15 euros each.

One place i would really recommend doing (i personally enjoyed it even more than Anne franks house and van gogh museum) was the resistance museum, right opposite the zoo and only a 3 min walk from hotel. 8 euros per person and absolutely fantastic. Would also massively recommend the free walking tours which meet at dam square at 11am, an amazing 3 hour tour (cant imagine its any less good than a paid tour which can test 25 euros).

We also did Van Gogh Museum and Anne frank which were both fantastic.

Would defiantly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 316 (end of the corridor) which was massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Sambradshaw2,

thank you very much for our kind words and your nice review.
It is good to read that you have enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here for 4 night in August, overall had an enjoyable stay. Size of the rooms were fine, mostly clean although desk and fan a bit dusty - I think more attention needs to be paid on the cleaning front. Couldn't believe how small the bathroom was!! It felt like a cabin bathroom, literally only room to shower etc. Bathroom was clean although had a slight odour (I am guessing from the drains) which wasn't very pleasant - this needs to be addressed.
On the up side we got an actual double bed rather than two singles pushed together as requested! Did not have breakfast so can not comment.

A good price for the number of days we stayed and we didn't have any particular problems so overall was a good stay. I am far more interested in exploring the city rather than being in a hotel anyway. This was our second stay in Amsterdam and already can't wait to return!! Would definitely recommend visiting. Tram stop conveniently outside the hotel, great location right near zoo and 5-10 minutes from the centre. A few nice cafe's and bars near the hotel, although supermarket a bit further.

Travelled as a couple.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Lauren B,

thank you very much for taken the effort to write your review about our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed here several times. The rooms are very small but clean and comfortable. The hotel is located in the old Jewish quarter of Amsterdam and the Holocaust Museum is right a round the corner. The zoo is right up the street. There are several cafes and numerous restaurants close by. There is a bakery just next door that smells wonderful in the morning. The tram from the train station stops right out front. The hotel is located in a nice residential area perfect for walking yet easily accessible to the center and tourist areas without being in the middle of it all. Rates have been reasonable and the staff pleasant albeit somewhat reserved.

About the only bad things I could say are that it is not handicap accessible and there is no Air conditioning. The latter only matters for a month or so in mid late summer when it can get quite warm

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear MizunguhowRu?,

thank you for writing your comments overhere.
Looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on the 31st for my boyfriends birthday. Spent the day going around the museums and went to check in at around 5pm. Was told they couldn't find my name on the system and left us waiting for ages and not letting us know what was going on. Turns out they had double booked us and arranged for us to stay in another hotel even further away from the centre. Wasted a couple of hours of our time. Would not recommend because of this, plus staff were very unhelpful and not keep us up to date with what was happening. I don't expect to book a hotel and have to waste my time because they have messed up.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Lauz1810,

thank you for your review.
Unfortunately mistakes in booking do uccur and I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced.
I will certainly pass your comments about our staff through to them.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Lancaster for 4 nights last week and found it to suit all our needs. It was clean, friendly and in a good location (right by tram tracks but also an easy walk to the main tourist attractions). It was a little noisy at night with the trams going past, but the room was equipped with a fan so that we didn't overheat when we had to shut the window due to the noise. Disappointingly we had two single duvets on a double bed, but as a bonus it meant we didn't have to fight over the duvet in the night! Room was small but if your main aim is to be out and about whilst in Amsterdam rather than spending much time in the hotel, this is a very reasonable option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Angharad B,

thank you for writing your review overhere.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I spent two nights on a recent trip to Amsterdam staying at the Lancaster and I found all staff to be very helpful and friendly. I arrived at 11AM and deposited my luggage before returning for check-in. I was given helpful local tips and a map.

Check in was fine, the room although a little small was perfectly OK and well maintained, clean and all the usual things that make a room more than just a room. Tea and coffee making facilitity is welcome.

The hotel does not do evening meals but there are many eateries within a very short walk I can see why. Breakfast was plentiful and the room is well laid out.

The hotel is opposite the zoo and tram stops are outside the door. if you do not want the 15 minutes gentle walk to Centraal station or even less to get to the "skinny bridge" area and City Hall. If it is a nice day walk off the breakfast!

There are snacks and tea and coffee via vending in the lounge area opposite reception. All in all a good hotel in a pleasant neighbourhood that is fine for visiting the city of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Noggin54,

it is good to read that you had a nice stay in our hotel and Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.