We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, pleasant neighbourhood.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lincs
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel, pleasant neighbourhood.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I spent two nights on a recent trip to Amsterdam staying at the Lancaster and I found all staff to be very helpful and friendly. I arrived at 11AM and deposited my luggage before returning for check-in. I was given helpful local tips and a map.

Check in was fine, the room although a little small was perfectly OK and well maintained, clean and all the usual things that make a room more than just a room. Tea and coffee making facilitity is welcome.

The hotel does not do evening meals but there are many eateries within a very short walk I can see why. Breakfast was plentiful and the room is well laid out.

The hotel is opposite the zoo and tram stops are outside the door. if you do not want the 15 minutes gentle walk to Centraal station or even less to get to the "skinny bridge" area and City Hall. If it is a nice day walk off the breakfast!

There are snacks and tea and coffee via vending in the lounge area opposite reception. All in all a good hotel in a pleasant neighbourhood that is fine for visiting the city of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Noggin54,

it is good to read that you had a nice stay in our hotel and Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    231
    175
    66
    33
See reviews for
64
243
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east lothian, Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights for a short holiday in the city. Our room was booked as a double room but was too small for comfort - and the bed was not a double bed but 2 single beds pushed together. Furnishings were clean but a bit weary. Breakfast was good. Desk staff were helpful when we had queries. The location of the hotel was quite handy for tourists like us - close to the tram line to get to Central Station and the city centre.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Petmarscrims,

thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a reasonable hotel, room very basic but clean. We had a room next to the kitchen and this was very noisy early hours of the morning which meant not a good night sleep. Would have been great to have a fridge in the room especially as no milk was provided for morning coffee. Breakfast was good though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Eunibobs,

thank you for writing your review.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

When we arrived we were greeted with a friendly welcome. All the staff were very polite and helpful. The room and bathroom was a bit small but that was not a problem .The room was clean and tidy, It also had a kettle with tea and coffee supplied. Just what's needed when you arrive. We had a problem with the TV in the room but that was sorted by a very helpful young man.The Zoo is just over the road to the hotel and the Dutch Resistance Museum was opposite the zoo. It was about 20 min walk into the centre also the trams stop a short walk from the hotel (no 9 and 14) that takes you there. Breakfast was very good and plentiful with a good selection of food. Very quiet and peaceful area we felt safe with some very nice restaurants close by. I would recommend this hotel and I would also stop here again should I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Maureen H,

thank you for writing your kind words overhere in this review.
Looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We got a great deal with this hotel through Last Minute.com. The hotel is lovely, clean and in a really nice area - central with a tram stop just outside, very close to the center of Amsterdam but just outside the noisy busy area. Opposite the Zoo.
Staff were very nice and friendly but despite a number of conversations about having already paid through Last Minute .com they still charged my debit card (which they had for a deposit only) the full amount taking me overdrawn. I had to make several calls to Amsterdam when I returned home. Having said that the staff member was very helpful and did sort it out and refunded my account.
I would stay there again but give a cash deposit to prevent this sort of thing happening again.

Anyone going to Amsterdam for a short city break and wishing to make several short visits to museums, gallaries and travel by tram / bus around the city I would recommend buying an Iamsterdam card - great value.

Room Tip: If your room is small ask for a bigger one. We were given a double bed in a pokey room despite havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Ann E,

thank you for your kind words.
I learned about the mix up with your credit card and I do apologize for this. Mistakes unfortunately do happen but I am glad that it is solved now.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was a bit nervous about this hotel after reading some of the reviews but for us it was fantastic. We got a great deal on the price by booking on lastminute.com which ended up being cheaper than a hostel room. The location was actually perfect for us because we hired out bikes for the whole 5 days we were there and we had a good 5-10 minute cycle into the centre each day which was awesome. Our room was a great size. I did see some other rooms as they were being cleaned and they looked very tiny so guess we were lucky. We ate breakfast at a little sandwich bar down the road, about 5 euros each for brekkie which was great. Was very pleased with this hotel! Think the only downside was the usual two singles put together instead of one double!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear sarz323,

thank you for choosing our hotel and writing your review overhere.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Really satisfied with all aspects this hotel has to offer. You can walk to a lot of sites ( good to lose some weight). Reception ....great. Room...... Small but very adequate and clean - shower a little small but we enjoyed the hot water. Overall , on a budget, this hotel is tops!!!

Room Tip: If on a budget ( most of us are) you'll get value for you money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Stuart Peat,

thank you for your kind review, very good to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.