We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel but some issues around double charging” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great hotel but some issues around double charging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We got a great deal with this hotel through Last Minute.com. The hotel is lovely, clean and in a really nice area - central with a tram stop just outside, very close to the center of Amsterdam but just outside the noisy busy area. Opposite the Zoo.
Staff were very nice and friendly but despite a number of conversations about having already paid through Last Minute .com they still charged my debit card (which they had for a deposit only) the full amount taking me overdrawn. I had to make several calls to Amsterdam when I returned home. Having said that the staff member was very helpful and did sort it out and refunded my account.
I would stay there again but give a cash deposit to prevent this sort of thing happening again.

Anyone going to Amsterdam for a short city break and wishing to make several short visits to museums, gallaries and travel by tram / bus around the city I would recommend buying an Iamsterdam card - great value.

Room Tip: If your room is small ask for a bigger one. We were given a double bed in a pokey room despite havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Ann E,

thank you for your kind words.
I learned about the mix up with your credit card and I do apologize for this. Mistakes unfortunately do happen but I am glad that it is solved now.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    230
    173
    66
    33
See reviews for
64
243
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was a bit nervous about this hotel after reading some of the reviews but for us it was fantastic. We got a great deal on the price by booking on lastminute.com which ended up being cheaper than a hostel room. The location was actually perfect for us because we hired out bikes for the whole 5 days we were there and we had a good 5-10 minute cycle into the centre each day which was awesome. Our room was a great size. I did see some other rooms as they were being cleaned and they looked very tiny so guess we were lucky. We ate breakfast at a little sandwich bar down the road, about 5 euros each for brekkie which was great. Was very pleased with this hotel! Think the only downside was the usual two singles put together instead of one double!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear sarz323,

thank you for choosing our hotel and writing your review overhere.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Really satisfied with all aspects this hotel has to offer. You can walk to a lot of sites ( good to lose some weight). Reception ....great. Room...... Small but very adequate and clean - shower a little small but we enjoyed the hot water. Overall , on a budget, this hotel is tops!!!

Room Tip: If on a budget ( most of us are) you'll get value for you money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Stuart Peat,

thank you for your kind review, very good to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

After reading other reviews on this hotel, I have to disagree with some of the negative comments such as 'small rooms', 'bad smells' etc. Yes the rooms are small but very ideal for a couple or someone on their own. Everything in the room was clean and we were even provided with a kettle and tea and coffee which was more than we expected. It's a nice hotel and good value for money. There is SO much to see in Amsterdam so I don't recommend staying in the hotel much anyway. Staff were friendly and helpful, there was hardly any noise coming from outside the hotel or other rooms. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel but went to a coffee shop a few doors down called 'coffee to walk' which has a good selection of breakfast and drinks. We also recommend the zoo right across the road, it's fantastic. Overall, great stay and very enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear KellyTobias,

thank you for your nice review.
we hope to see you again ino ur hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was a terrific place to stay, our room may have been compact, but it was clean, the beds comfortable and well stocked with tea and coffee. The staff were courteous, well presented and well informed. The breakfast was a great selection of Continental hot and cold foods, with a wide selection of coffees , teas and herbals . Even though the Artis Zoo was across the road there was very little noise.
The situation of the hotel was very close the Flea Market and only 5 minutes from Rembrant Square.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Mervyn,

thank you very much for these kind, kind words.
It good to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is a bit of a mixture. I've stayed more than once thanks to an employer having a deal there. The rooms seem to all be pretty small, with bathrooms squeezed in. They have showers right up against the toilet, and no bath. There is a hair dryer though, and fixed large bottles of soap.

The beds are okay. The TVs have terrible reception but a fair mix of channels. The bedside lights are flimsy and seem invariably broken. I've had stained bedcovers and carpets each time and once found a hair in the bed.

I'd have expected air conditioning at this price, but there are just central heating radiators and - in some rooms - floor-standing fans.

There are tea and coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast is distinctly average.

The internet didn't work on my device the first time I went, and was in reception only. Recently, it's not only worked, it's both fast, and available in at least some rooms - certainly in the basement. Don't be put off by the basement rooms, by the way - they're fine and so low that the windows actually still manage to offer decent privacy.

The luggage room is free, but rarely locked or monitored properly. Helpfully though, they kindly accelerated cleaning for me once, to help me check in early after an early morning flight arrival.

Laundry is quite pricey, and if they call you a taxi it'll be without any special arrangement or price deal. The tram stop is a block up the road.

It's a great location for the zoo and the botanical gardens. Perhaps just a little too far for very comfortable exploring if you're there for the city centre, but great if you've business on the east side. It's a nice neighbourhood.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Whered,

thank you for your review.
It is true we do not have special deals with taxi driver. To avoid problems we only work with the official Amsterdam Taxi Company; they are registered and work with meters.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Arrival
We arrived at our hotel around 11am, to get to the hotel from the airport is very very simple: when arriving at the airport we went to the Iamsterdam information shop, here we purchased our unlimited tram for three days (€15). We then headed to the train station inside the terminal and got train tickets to Central Station (€4 return). Once arriving at the station head for the trams and board tram9 all the way to the zoo. Once you leave the tram turn left and opposite the zoo is the Lancaster Hotel.

Check in
Simple, handed my Avios voucher in and were given keys to our room.

The room
This was the smallest hotel room I have ever encountered, but for us it did just fine as a budget base to tour the city and easy to get back to for a siesta during the early afternoon heat.

Pros: We liked that the two singles could be made up as one double or pulled apart. The TV had some good viewing and the bathroom was enough for one plus it was clean. It had huge window that opened fully (which as the room had no air conditioning was a big bonus as we were there during the hottest day if the year), it had a fan, tea and coffee making facilities, there was a lift and stairs to each floor (although the breakfast room would be difficult to get to if you were disabled), a safe (*) to store your passports in etc and comfortable beds. The staff were helpful and pleasant although I would like them to discuss me in front of me in the language I speak, but I understand this is not always possible due to not all staff being able to speak English, but just an observation and maybe something I would expect at a higher level of hotel.

Cons: (*) the safe was attached to a wardrobe which had shelves (including the one the safe was on) that could be pulled out and was falling apart, it has no air con and although they did say we could change rooms to a cooler room they wanted me to leave my luggage with them (as some of you are aware I don't leave luggage with anyone) so we stayed put for one more night, there was a lot of noise outside you could hear if you had the window open (probably wouldn't be a problem the rest of the year), the shower curtain was not a very appealing (I would prefer a wet room style or glass separator), the carpet needs replacing and more needs to be done for those who might find it difficult to enter the hotel/room/breakfast room as the entrance to hotel has stairs, the room has step into it over the doorway and the breakfast room is on a level which can be entered in the lift but has an array of stairs to the room itself. I love the 12noon check out, it gave us lots of time to relax before our flight in the afternoon and strong wifi.

Breakfast
Was ok, a small selection of cocktail sausages and shredded bacon was available with (no flavour) scrambled eggs. There was cold meats available and toast. We enjoyed the yoghurt and cereal they had on offer, there was also tea, coffee, juice and water available with a selection of pastries and fruit.

Location
Outside the hotel you have the number 9 tram which takes you directly to Rembrant Square, Dam Square and Central Station. The number 14 (also outside the hotel) takes you to Anne Franks House. If you leave the hotel and turn right a short walk to the top of the road you collect the number 10 tram to the Heineken Experience, the National Museum, PC Hooftstraat (the brand named shops such as Jimmy Choo and Armani are based there), Albert Cuyp Market (short walk from tram station) and the Van Gogh Museum. I would say all of these attractions are no more than a 10 minute tram ride away from the hotel.

There are a few bars and cafe style eateries within 2 minutes walking distance of the hotel, where you can sit outside and watch the world go by, the park next door to the hotel where you can relax and throw a frisbee or even walk up to the the canal and lie in the sunshine on the banks and wave to the passers by in their boats whist they toast you with their champagne.

A lovely hotel with location being its big feature (not too close to the city, but far enough out of the noise of tourists). The free wifi, very strong signal, is a big bonus in my books and free breakfast included in our stay was an added bonus which keeps overall costs down on any trip. Would stay here again but not for special occasion, for that the De' L Europe would be my choice :-)

I would be very grateful that if you enjoyed this review and found it helpful, you press your mouse/finger on the little button that says YES. Thank you in advance x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Lionbird,

thank you for your extensive review, it is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Just for your information, when a guest request a roomchange, we always ask to pack the luggage and stire them in the luggage room. Due to the fact that we are fully booked this period, we need to clean the room for other guests checking in.

Kind regards and hope to see you again.
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.