We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Llangollen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Magic stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was a terrific place to stay, our room may have been compact, but it was clean, the beds comfortable and well stocked with tea and coffee. The staff were courteous, well presented and well informed. The breakfast was a great selection of Continental hot and cold foods, with a wide selection of coffees , teas and herbals . Even though the Artis Zoo was across the road there was very little noise.
The situation of the hotel was very close the Flea Market and only 5 minutes from Rembrant Square.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Mervyn,

thank you very much for these kind, kind words.
It good to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    236
    176
    66
    33
See reviews for
65
246
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is a bit of a mixture. I've stayed more than once thanks to an employer having a deal there. The rooms seem to all be pretty small, with bathrooms squeezed in. They have showers right up against the toilet, and no bath. There is a hair dryer though, and fixed large bottles of soap.

The beds are okay. The TVs have terrible reception but a fair mix of channels. The bedside lights are flimsy and seem invariably broken. I've had stained bedcovers and carpets each time and once found a hair in the bed.

I'd have expected air conditioning at this price, but there are just central heating radiators and - in some rooms - floor-standing fans.

There are tea and coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast is distinctly average.

The internet didn't work on my device the first time I went, and was in reception only. Recently, it's not only worked, it's both fast, and available in at least some rooms - certainly in the basement. Don't be put off by the basement rooms, by the way - they're fine and so low that the windows actually still manage to offer decent privacy.

The luggage room is free, but rarely locked or monitored properly. Helpfully though, they kindly accelerated cleaning for me once, to help me check in early after an early morning flight arrival.

Laundry is quite pricey, and if they call you a taxi it'll be without any special arrangement or price deal. The tram stop is a block up the road.

It's a great location for the zoo and the botanical gardens. Perhaps just a little too far for very comfortable exploring if you're there for the city centre, but great if you've business on the east side. It's a nice neighbourhood.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Whered,

thank you for your review.
It is true we do not have special deals with taxi driver. To avoid problems we only work with the official Amsterdam Taxi Company; they are registered and work with meters.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Arrival
We arrived at our hotel around 11am, to get to the hotel from the airport is very very simple: when arriving at the airport we went to the Iamsterdam information shop, here we purchased our unlimited tram for three days (€15). We then headed to the train station inside the terminal and got train tickets to Central Station (€4 return). Once arriving at the station head for the trams and board tram9 all the way to the zoo. Once you leave the tram turn left and opposite the zoo is the Lancaster Hotel.

Check in
Simple, handed my Avios voucher in and were given keys to our room.

The room
This was the smallest hotel room I have ever encountered, but for us it did just fine as a budget base to tour the city and easy to get back to for a siesta during the early afternoon heat.

Pros: We liked that the two singles could be made up as one double or pulled apart. The TV had some good viewing and the bathroom was enough for one plus it was clean. It had huge window that opened fully (which as the room had no air conditioning was a big bonus as we were there during the hottest day if the year), it had a fan, tea and coffee making facilities, there was a lift and stairs to each floor (although the breakfast room would be difficult to get to if you were disabled), a safe (*) to store your passports in etc and comfortable beds. The staff were helpful and pleasant although I would like them to discuss me in front of me in the language I speak, but I understand this is not always possible due to not all staff being able to speak English, but just an observation and maybe something I would expect at a higher level of hotel.

Cons: (*) the safe was attached to a wardrobe which had shelves (including the one the safe was on) that could be pulled out and was falling apart, it has no air con and although they did say we could change rooms to a cooler room they wanted me to leave my luggage with them (as some of you are aware I don't leave luggage with anyone) so we stayed put for one more night, there was a lot of noise outside you could hear if you had the window open (probably wouldn't be a problem the rest of the year), the shower curtain was not a very appealing (I would prefer a wet room style or glass separator), the carpet needs replacing and more needs to be done for those who might find it difficult to enter the hotel/room/breakfast room as the entrance to hotel has stairs, the room has step into it over the doorway and the breakfast room is on a level which can be entered in the lift but has an array of stairs to the room itself. I love the 12noon check out, it gave us lots of time to relax before our flight in the afternoon and strong wifi.

Breakfast
Was ok, a small selection of cocktail sausages and shredded bacon was available with (no flavour) scrambled eggs. There was cold meats available and toast. We enjoyed the yoghurt and cereal they had on offer, there was also tea, coffee, juice and water available with a selection of pastries and fruit.

Location
Outside the hotel you have the number 9 tram which takes you directly to Rembrant Square, Dam Square and Central Station. The number 14 (also outside the hotel) takes you to Anne Franks House. If you leave the hotel and turn right a short walk to the top of the road you collect the number 10 tram to the Heineken Experience, the National Museum, PC Hooftstraat (the brand named shops such as Jimmy Choo and Armani are based there), Albert Cuyp Market (short walk from tram station) and the Van Gogh Museum. I would say all of these attractions are no more than a 10 minute tram ride away from the hotel.

There are a few bars and cafe style eateries within 2 minutes walking distance of the hotel, where you can sit outside and watch the world go by, the park next door to the hotel where you can relax and throw a frisbee or even walk up to the the canal and lie in the sunshine on the banks and wave to the passers by in their boats whist they toast you with their champagne.

A lovely hotel with location being its big feature (not too close to the city, but far enough out of the noise of tourists). The free wifi, very strong signal, is a big bonus in my books and free breakfast included in our stay was an added bonus which keeps overall costs down on any trip. Would stay here again but not for special occasion, for that the De' L Europe would be my choice :-)

I would be very grateful that if you enjoyed this review and found it helpful, you press your mouse/finger on the little button that says YES. Thank you in advance x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Lionbird,

thank you for your extensive review, it is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Just for your information, when a guest request a roomchange, we always ask to pack the luggage and stire them in the luggage room. Due to the fact that we are fully booked this period, we need to clean the room for other guests checking in.

Kind regards and hope to see you again.
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On Trent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A group of us have stayed at this hotel this week. Yes the hotel rooms are small but clean. The bathrooms are small but are clean. The rooms are quite warm but we are provided with a fan.

Enjoyed our stay not that we spent much time there as we were visiting all the sights. The hotel is ideal as it is just away from the city centre but it is a short tram ride from everything. We would recommend getting an iamsterdam card for your time in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for one not on the ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Aimee,

thank you for your nice review.
We hope to welcome you back in the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It was a disappointment in general terms, but the worst thing was the service.
At our arrival time, there was two staff members at the counter, and none of them gave us a simile o even say "welcome". Same thing used to happen every morning when we get out, nobody turn or look us and say "bye, have a nice day". We were looking to them waiting to say "good morning" and "thank you".... but nothing. OH surprise!!! when we made the check out, there was a very kind lady who ask who was our tryp, the city, the hotel... finally!!
In other terms, the hotel has very little rooms, and smaller bathrooms. Nice furniturs and comfortable beds. Not so clean if you see under the bed, and the bathroom is not so clean as you can expected.
The best is the situation. 10-15 minutes to the center, it´s a quite and clean area, and you don´t hear anything at night time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear EduTachu,

thank you for writing your comments overhere.
It is good to have some feedback from our guests. I will certainly use your comments to improve our service.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked our flights and accommodation together, and chose the Hampshire located in Plantage Middenlaan. The hotel is quite basic, but was very comfortable! Staff were very helpful, free wifi was a great addition. Hotel rooms are quite small but me and my friend moved around the room quite comfortably. Yes the bathroom is small but you don't go on holiday and spend it in your hotel room!

The hotel is a teeny bit out from the centre, right across from the wonderful Artis Zoo. The centre is extremely accessible by tram, which we used daily. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, but twenty yards down the road is a lovely wee cafe with extremely competitive prices for breakfast, and lovely it was too. There is a lovely Chinese on the corner of the street, and on Plantage Kerklaan (round the corner) is a lovely pasta/pizza restaurant called PastaVilla, where the food is just lovely and very cheap.
I would recommend buying the IAmsterdam city card, lots of discounts, free entry to places and free public transport. Canal cruises are a must, and the card entitles you to a free one!

The red light district is worth a visit, Rembrandtplein is lovely, much more sedate than Leidesplein (mental) and you must try the Dutch pancakes and their chips and mayonnaise! Just amazing.

We booked a day trip to Marken and Volendam, which was about 36 euro but worth it, you can buy these trips from the tours and tickets outlets located across Amsterdam, including on the Damrak.

All in all, the hotel was great, very close but not too close, staff very friendly and helpful. You'll enjoy a wee stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Lisa,

thank you very much for your kind words over here.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is about a 30 minute walk to central station and the red light district, which is nice. It is located in a quiet part of Amsterdam with few to no coffee shops nearby (if that is a concern to you). It is okay for a night, but I would not stay here again. The rooms were tiny, though cleanly, but no AC which was an annoyance. Also, the bathroom did not meet my standards. There was hair in the shower when we arrived and it was so small. Breakfast was very nice! And free! Overall, would not recommend due to no AC and location vs. price (135 dollars a night) If it was cheeper my review wouldnt be so harsh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Kira,

thank you for your time to write your comments.
We do not have any AC in the hotel, this is true. I hope you did not find this anywhere on your bookingsite because we try to provide all the internet sites we work with, with the proper information.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.