We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay very well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel to your Saves list
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great stay very well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

There are so many hotels in Amsterdam to choose from. When making my selection I consulted Trip Advisor reviews. I am glad I did. This is a great place to stay, so centrally located. Our room was on the corner and had a bay window with 2 other large windows overlooking the canal and a very interesting side street. The room was huge and nicely furnished, very comfortable. My sister who was traveling with us also had a room overlooking the canal, that was smaller, but even more charming than ours. The breakfast was very nice, with a great coffee machine.
This hotel is so well located that we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. In one direction were the museums and in the other all the central canals and squares, etc. We did a lot of walking, and made a lot of cafe and beer stops. This is a great city for walking. The only problem is dodging the bicycles.
We were driving so parking was a concern for us. There is a parking garage 2 blocks away (quite expensive @ 40 Euros a days), but was very convenient and the car easily accessible.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    253
    77
    22
    8
See reviews for
49
282
41
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Great room, very clean, great location, reasonably priced. I have stayed in many of the 4 and 5 star hotels in Amsterdam and unlike many others, Dikker & Thijs ticks all the boxes. On the down side, it can be noisy as the hotel is situated on a busy junction.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Great location on prinsengracht near trolley but not noisy. We had room overlooking canal the attractive awning across from us was an excellent peruvian restaurant. Friendly snd helpful staff. Airy and clean rooms. Great value. Our stay was in June 2012 2 nights. Windows open but the kids the age of our kids debarking from booze cruises and trolley were just lively and not too loud or numerous.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doetinchem
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect, trams in front of the door, and in walking distance of shops and musea.
Service in hotel and staff was very friendly and helping us with every question.
our romm was facing the leidsestraat and on the 4th floor we could hear the trams but after midnight it was quit enough

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located on Leidestraat, on the major tram line, between Amsterdam Centraal station and the museum area. My room on the third floor had a comfortable bed and plenty of electric outlets (you can borrow a converter from the desk clerk) The room had a desk, a table and two chairs. It was nicely furnished and decorated. We only stayed one night, but I could have stayed longer. The room had a hair dryer. (Be sure to bring a wash cloth if you need one.)
I was not troubled by the tram bell, as others had warned. In fact, it was very convenient to be able to walk out of the hotel, and hop on a tram.
The breakfast buffet had a good variety of hot and cold food.
They will gladly store your luggage prior to check in and after check out. The staff speak excellent English and are very friendly.
They only thing I would caution anyone with a mobility impairment. It is not very wheelchair friendly. The tub does not have a good grab bar and you have to step up and down out of it.
If I'm ever in Amsterdam again, I would stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Münchenstein
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Room: Perfect, nice interior, cosy!
Fridge: all you need!
Breakfast: My alltime favourite place (furniture, walls, sound!) with excellent food!
Service: very friendly, especially when I was stuck in the bathroom!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legnano
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I loved the hotel's canal view and the position that allowed us to visit Amterdam centre by foot or by tram, that can be taken directly out of the hotel.
Room was very clean and silent, for a peaceful rest after kilometers of walk across the beautiful canals.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#20 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#57 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#61 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#56 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind a historical facade right along the Prinsengracht, the Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel provides you an exclusive gateway to discover Amsterdam. The Hotel is located in the heart of the canal district that was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List.Most of the comfortable, spacious and stylish rooms offer a beautiful view over the canal. Within walking distance are located: the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk Museum and the Anne Frank Huis. Also in the neighborhood: the Concertgebouw, theatres, cinemas, the Heineken Brewery, the Diamond Centre, starting points of Canal Cruises and the main shopping streets. The Spiegelkwartier starts 100 meters from the hotel and this historical neighborhood offers over seventy specialized shops with a wide variety of art and antiques. On the Leidseplein (only 50 meters away) numerous restaurants and cafes can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.