We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Only stayed 1 day so it was important that I stayed some place central. I was able to easily walk, rent a bike, shop all very close to the hotel. Accommodations were clean, people were nice, and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: From the pictures it looks like the higher rooms have better views. I was on the first floor but ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    194
    69
    17
    8
See reviews for
35
206
40
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Perfect for being right in the heart of the shopping district and right on the canals! Lovely average sized rooms slightly older but clean and comfortable. We had a back room with no view as we were with a baby else the trams would be too noisy out the front. Small lift for all our luggage.
Good wifi in rooms.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is my second time at this hotel and once again a great stay. Check in a breeze, staff very pleasant and helpful. I was fortunate enough to be upgraded again to a corner room which is very spacious and clean. It's also very quiet considering it's on quite a busy junction (well, busy for Amsterdam )
Would definitely recommend

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayshott, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Wonderful location, stayed before, large rooms, canal views. Fab deli/ shop on the corner - a little eclectic and a boutique feel. Very welcoming staff and room service very good, if menu slightly limited.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnetha t, Sales & Marketing Department at Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Graham,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We have forwarded your message about the limited room service menu to our restaurant. We will review our menu again when a change of menu will take place.

We hope we may welcome you soon at our hotel again.

Kind regards, Agnetha ten Hove | Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The positives: This hotel is right in the middle of it all, close to everything. It might be one of the best locations you could ask for in Amsterdam. Some of the rooms here are incredibly huge with canal views. Theres a metro stop right in front.

The negatives: The hotel is badly in need of a makeover or renovation. It's oldschool. Some of the rooms are not even accessable by elevator and you need to carry a bag up steps. In many of the rooms you can hear the metro bell pretty loud starting at 6am to 12am.

If you are looking for a good deal in a good location, this place is fine. But not if you want a 4 or 5 star that feels modern and polished.

Room Tip: The suites are huge, but get a high floor or you will hear the metro bell all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnetha t, Sales & Marketing Department at Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Scorpio,

Thank you for your valuable review. It is good to hear that you mention our location as one of the best of Amsterdam.

We do our best to constantly upgrade our product. We have forwarded your message to the management regarding a hotel renovation. At this moment we are taking action to refurbish our rooms.

The stairs in our building De Prins, are unfortunately not avoidable. We are sorry to hear that help with your luggage was not offered upon your check in. We will instruct our personnel better to avoid any inconvenience in the future.

We hope you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we may welcome you again in the nearby future.

Kind regards, Agnetha ten Hove | Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Nice hotel , perfect location, very nice size bedroom(504) , beautiful bathroom( hotel manager/owner , please take the shower curtains off and fit a nice shower box ) reasonable priced, definitely will be my place to stay next time in Amsterdam

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a delightful stay in this warm, welcoming hotel. we were in Amsterdam for only a few days, not long enough to thoroughly enjoy our eerie on the top floor. Our room was delightfully appointed, with two windows, giving us great views of the city from two aspects. A tiny balcony enabled us to get good photos of the rooftops. Breakfast was served in the basement restaurant and again was served with care and warmth. The staff were always courteous and helpful, assisting us in finding restaurants within easy walking distance and helping us to book cruises etc. We could easily walk to the museums and art galleries using one of their umbrellas to ward off the rain!
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and on my next visit to Amsterdam I have every intention of staying there again! hoping to get the same room and meet the same, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Go high! Views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#95 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind a historical façade right along the Prinsengracht, the Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel provides you an exclusive gateway to discover Amsterdam. The Hotel is located in the heart of the canal district that was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List.Most of the comfortable, spacious and stylish rooms offer a beautiful view over the canal. Within walking distance are located: the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk Museum and the Anne Frank Huis. Also in the neighborhood: the Concertgebouw, theatres, cinemas, the Heineken Brewery, the Diamond Centre, starting points of Canal Cruises and the main shopping streets. The Spiegelkwartier starts 100 meters from the hotel and this historical neighborhood offers over seventy specialized shops with a wide variety of art and antiques. On the Leidseplein (only 50 meters away) numerous restaurants and cafés can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;