We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but needs renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel to your Saves list
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location, but needs renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The positives: This hotel is right in the middle of it all, close to everything. It might be one of the best locations you could ask for in Amsterdam. Some of the rooms here are incredibly huge with canal views. Theres a metro stop right in front.

The negatives: The hotel is badly in need of a makeover or renovation. It's oldschool. Some of the rooms are not even accessable by elevator and you need to carry a bag up steps. In many of the rooms you can hear the metro bell pretty loud starting at 6am to 12am.

If you are looking for a good deal in a good location, this place is fine. But not if you want a 4 or 5 star that feels modern and polished.

Room Tip: The suites are huge, but get a high floor or you will hear the metro bell all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnetha t, Sales & Marketing Department at Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Scorpio,

Thank you for your valuable review. It is good to hear that you mention our location as one of the best of Amsterdam.

We do our best to constantly upgrade our product. We have forwarded your message to the management regarding a hotel renovation. At this moment we are taking action to refurbish our rooms.

The stairs in our building De Prins, are unfortunately not avoidable. We are sorry to hear that help with your luggage was not offered upon your check in. We will instruct our personnel better to avoid any inconvenience in the future.

We hope you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we may welcome you again in the nearby future.

Kind regards, Agnetha ten Hove | Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    212
    69
    17
    8
See reviews for
39
221
40
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Nice hotel , perfect location, very nice size bedroom(504) , beautiful bathroom( hotel manager/owner , please take the shower curtains off and fit a nice shower box ) reasonable priced, definitely will be my place to stay next time in Amsterdam

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a delightful stay in this warm, welcoming hotel. we were in Amsterdam for only a few days, not long enough to thoroughly enjoy our eerie on the top floor. Our room was delightfully appointed, with two windows, giving us great views of the city from two aspects. A tiny balcony enabled us to get good photos of the rooftops. Breakfast was served in the basement restaurant and again was served with care and warmth. The staff were always courteous and helpful, assisting us in finding restaurants within easy walking distance and helping us to book cruises etc. We could easily walk to the museums and art galleries using one of their umbrellas to ward off the rain!
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and on my next visit to Amsterdam I have every intention of staying there again! hoping to get the same room and meet the same, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Go high! Views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very pleasant welcome, room presentable and clean with two easy chairs, table, desk and bedside cabinets, tea/coffee facilities, shower over bath, television, hairdryer and all toiletries provided.

Good guidance from staff what to see and do, whatever we asked for we were advised about.

A very pleasant stay and would definitely stay here again if we return to Amsterdam.

Use the bus 197 from Amsterdam Airport, stops 400 metres from the hotel, a short walk to the Hotel and only cost 4 Euros each as opposed to getting a taxi which would cost 45 Euros.

The Hotel is within easy reach/walking distance of all sight seeing venues in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a view over the canal, very picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

if you are not looking for a 5 star hotel, but a good one in the best location, this is the for you.
1 minute walk from the Leidseplein, a tram station at the front of the hotel, the room are not big but well organized and well fitured.
please take in considoration that there is no "Loby ". just a reception and then rooms.
we've had no noise from the tram, yet i can understand the reviews with a notice, if your room is facing the street.
ask for a high floor

Room Tip: ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merksem, Antwerpen, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We booked one night in this hotel. Whilst driving to Amsterdam, one hour before arriving, we received a phone call from the hotel that there had been an overbooking! They had booked us in another hotel already, without consulting us. Really annoying considering we carefully planned the trip and now lost time looking for parking space etc.
You would expect a small gesture, but nothing. They "upgraded" the room in the new hotel, so they said, but that was the least of our worries.
An overbooking is one thing, but last minute is something I have a hard time understanding.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnetha t, Marketing / Sales Department at Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Mario,

Thank you for your reaction concerning your overbooking last weekend. We contacted you before arriving at our hotel, so you could drive direct to the Victoria Hotel, the hotel we booked for you. Next to the Victoria Hotel is a very big public parking, so you could park close by. We arranged, as compensation for the inconvenience, upgraded accommodation is this superior 4 star Hotel at the same price you reserved in our hotel.
We understand your disapointment and we will upgade you to our Penthouse Suite, without any extra charges, during your next visit to Amsterdam. Please refer tot this correspondence.
We wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Happy 2014. Kind regards, Agnetha ten Hove | Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed with a friend for a couple of nights early December. Couldn't have picked a better hotel. The location was perfect for everything we wanted to see and do, and we walked almost everywhere (although there is a tram stop is just across the road). We were delighted with the very spacious and clean room which was on the 5th floor and easily accessible from the lift. Although we didn't book a canal view, we were able to see the Prinsengracht canal and had a fantastic view across Amersterdam from the balcony, which was a lovely and unexpected surprise. The great location of the hotel does however, mean some noise from the street below at night, the level of which of course depends on who is doing the partying!

Breakfast options were good with plenty of choices of breads, pastries, boiled eggs, cold meats and cheeses, along with hot bacon and scrambled eggs.

Hotel staff were professional, helpful and very pleasant. Taxi service used by the hotel was a very reasonable rate and actually cheaper than a shuttle service.

Would not hesitate to stay here again and am already thinking about planning another trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind a historical façade right along the Prinsengracht, the Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel provides you an exclusive gateway to discover Amsterdam. The Hotel is located in the heart of the canal district that was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List.Most of the comfortable, spacious and stylish rooms offer a beautiful view over the canal. Within walking distance are located: the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk Museum and the Anne Frank Huis. Also in the neighborhood: the Concertgebouw, theatres, cinemas, the Heineken Brewery, the Diamond Centre, starting points of Canal Cruises and the main shopping streets. The Spiegelkwartier starts 100 meters from the hotel and this historical neighborhood offers over seventy specialized shops with a wide variety of art and antiques. On the Leidseplein (only 50 meters away) numerous restaurants and cafés can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.