We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel to your Saves list
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Iklin, Malta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in the middle of the Leidseplein area and a nice walk from all the main areas in Amsterdam. It also has a tram stop for 3 of the main trams directly going to the Amsterdam Central Station just in front of the Hotel.

Hotel offers very spacious rooms with free wifi which was perfrect. Breakfast is a bit poor and is not included in price would not take it. Some rooms are not accessible direct from lift and some steps going up or down are required to be taken.

All in all a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Up until a certain time the tram bells can be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    222
    69
    20
    8
See reviews for
39
232
40
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel is right along the Prinsengracht canal, and in the center of the city. From the airport, we just took the train to Centraal Station, and then take the trolley to right in front of the hotel. We were able to walk to the Anne Frank house, many of the popular museums, and to the start of a bike tour. The cons to the location is that this city does not go to sleep early, and it can be rather noisy from the street on a Saturday evening if you plan on going to bed early. You also can hear the occasional ringing of the tram bell.

We stayed in the Penthouse Suite which is VERY spacious and offered a larger bed, which I discovered is hard to come by in Amsterdam. The view is fantastic from the suite as it had huge pane glass windows that overlooked the city. However, to get up to the penthouse it required navigating up a very narrow, steep spiral stair case from the elevator. It’s wasn’t took much of an issue for my wife and I who are young and fit. However, and elderly or infirmed individual would have issues with it. Carrying our luggage into the room took a real physical effort. Also, the elevator was out of order when we checked in. The staff stored our luggage in bag check until it was repaired later that afternoon.

Room Tip: The penthouse is worth it, if you can navigate the spiral staircase to get into it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to Amsterdam and staying at this hotel was one of the main reasons why. It's a quaint little hotel but with very spacious rooms, which is quite unusual around this area. We had a nice view overlooking the canal. What's more, it's walking distance to attractions, shopping areas, numerous restaurants, public transportation and one of the stops for the hop on, hop off tour bus. We would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to be in the middle of the action.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

For those of you that have visited Amsterdam you already know that it is difficult to find a hotel near the city center that is descent with comfortable rooms and at a reasonable price. you always get 2 out of three. In this case I could not get the price. Still it has been the most spacious room I've ever had in Amsterdam. The breakfast was rather poor for such a hotel price. Location is perfect. The security issue that you have to leave your key at the reception (and if not you need a passport in order to enter) strikes strange for such a hotel.

Room Tip: if you carry bulky or numerous luggage ask for a room directly accessible through the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

In the excellent location, just a couple of stops from Dame square, walking distance to Van Gough museum. Quite a large room, very clean and very very nice view go the canal. The breakfast was very good and in the beautiful breakfast room. Ask for room with a view!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOVE
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have stayed in Amsterdam many times, usually using a ' corporate ' hotel, so this was a real change.
The location is excellent - near to Leidseplein and tram stops. Our room was unusually spacious for this city, and was very comfortable. The bar and restaurant was closed on the Sunday night that we stayed, but both looked well presented. The staff were very efficient and friendly.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and will stay there again the next time I visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Dikker & Thijs is situated just around the corner from Leidseplein, in the middle of "everything" in Amsterdam. The rooms are quite large and with different lay-outs, which makes the stay more personal.

When my husband an I and Our friends visited a couple of weeks ago, we had a terrific stay, and the staff was polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Trying to sleep on a saturday night in a room facing Leidsestraat was not not a sucsess ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind a historical façade right along the Prinsengracht, the Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel provides you an exclusive gateway to discover Amsterdam. The Hotel is located in the heart of the canal district that was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List.Most of the comfortable, spacious and stylish rooms offer a beautiful view over the canal. Within walking distance are located: the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk Museum and the Anne Frank Huis. Also in the neighborhood: the Concertgebouw, theatres, cinemas, the Heineken Brewery, the Diamond Centre, starting points of Canal Cruises and the main shopping streets. The Spiegelkwartier starts 100 meters from the hotel and this historical neighborhood offers over seventy specialized shops with a wide variety of art and antiques. On the Leidseplein (only 50 meters away) numerous restaurants and cafés can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.