We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great location, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Really great area and i found it nice and quiet, my room was canal side not on the main street which would be noisier. The room was and hotel décor is a bit worn but everything was clean. the staff were friendly and accommodating. breakfast was really good too but at 15 euros extra make sure you get breakfast included. My room was a bit small so for a couple with an infant it would be too small but my collogue had a room 50 % bigger at the same standard

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    194
    69
    17
    8
See reviews for
35
206
40
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at Dikker et Thijs Hotel in October for two days and were very satsfied with our overall experience; location, room and the staff. Next time in Amsterdam, we may, most likely, plan to stay there again.

We had a small problem in the bathroom and the staff were really engaged with it and solved the matter quickly. They also send us a small box of chocolate for the inconvenience. Appreciated much!

Room Tip: Upper floor with a canal view is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I really liked the location, ( great for restaurants galore and museums) and the size and quality of the room and pleasant staff. I had requested a quiet room, which was honored. Unfortunately the quiet room overlooked a small square backing onto business and residential homes. So we had to listen to a party until 5.30 on the first night complete with thumping bass and constant screaming, had to get my husband to get earplugs from lobby, so my first full day was exhausting and felt sick with tiredness. Second night only slightly better (they finished at 3.50). It is that kind of area so you will probably hear screaming and siren (police etc) throughout the night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sverige
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Every Amsterdam lover (I'm one of them) is familiar with the almost offensive charm of this easily manageable city. Whether you're a regular or first time visitor, location is important. Especially if you're only on a short weekend trip. Dikker & Thijs has that. A really good location! And it has something else too: quite large rooms for being Amsterdam. Believe me, I've experienced really tiny A-dam hotel rooms. Stayed in spacious room 103 (would've preferred higher up, but booked on a very short notice). It has large windows looking out towards busy Leidesgracht. You should ask for a room overlooking Prinzengracht canal instead. There's a prize-rewarded restaurant in the basement, the service is correct and staff is helpful. Big flat screen tv in all(?) rooms. Nice lounge area. Moderately priced breakfast (again for being Amsterdam), but I'd rather open up my wallet for a classic breakfast at the nearby American Hotel. Even closer is the culturally buzzin' Stanislavski bar/café/restaurant just across the big Apple store. Drawbacks? Depends on your demands, but I'd say D&T is a pretty good-value-for-money-hotel. Very reasonably priced, given the size of the rooms. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: D&T is on the corner of Leidesgracht (street) and Prinzengracht (canal). Ask for a room overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

At first glance everything looked great: comfortable room, view over the canal, an elevator (lugging suitcases up and down the ladders the Dutch call 'stairs' isn't much fun). It was only after midnight I discovered why the rooms are so affordable. The hotel is in a tourist precinct and the night was punctuated with ongoing outbursts of yelling and singing from drunk tourists on the streets below.
I'd visit the hotel again, but I'd make sure I had ear-plugs with me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I liked the location although it was too noisy during the night because there are some pubs near the hotel open until 5 or 6 in the morning and you can hear people partying in the street like if they were in your room.
The service is very good, the young man that worked during the nights in the front desk, was very attentive and friendly and so the young girl that worked in the morning.
The hotel is old and really needs some work to be done.
The main entrance has a narrow hall that connects to the lifts where it is impossible to walk if you have a big suitcase and a handbag.
The rooms are clean, but look old. Maybe new wall to wall carpets, modern furniture and a new bathroom would be different, because this hotel has a good location and a nice view.
Towels were clean, the shower had enough water and nicely hot and the bed was very comfortable. The TV had local cable I think, because I could not find any Italian or Spanish channels. I recommend this hotel, but it is pricey (like all hotels in Amsterdam) for what it offers.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our room was exactly as advertised and very nice. We had some rain leaking through our windows and alerted the staff to it on our way out in the morning of the second day of our stay. When we came home the window was open and glass was shattered around the window. We discovered the glass was from an overhead light. The staff offered to move us to another room immediately. To our surprise we were moved to the penthouse for the remainder of our stay and it was fantastic. All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: The penthouse is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind a historical façade right along the Prinsengracht, the Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel provides you an exclusive gateway to discover Amsterdam. The Hotel is located in the heart of the canal district that was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List.Most of the comfortable, spacious and stylish rooms offer a beautiful view over the canal. Within walking distance are located: the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk Museum and the Anne Frank Huis. Also in the neighborhood: the Concertgebouw, theatres, cinemas, the Heineken Brewery, the Diamond Centre, starting points of Canal Cruises and the main shopping streets. The Spiegelkwartier starts 100 meters from the hotel and this historical neighborhood offers over seventy specialized shops with a wide variety of art and antiques. On the Leidseplein (only 50 meters away) numerous restaurants and cafés can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.