We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great stay in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

A pleasant stay near bats and restaurants. Loved walking along the canal. We didn't use hotel breakfasts. We alike and had breakfast at nearby places. Close to museums and can walk into city or take canal boat

Room Tip: We had a quiet room near the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    201
    69
    17
    8
See reviews for
38
210
40
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in July, a very pleasant hotel with great service. Only down side was that it felt a little dated but was very clean none the less. Location is superb as mentioned in all reviews prior! Would definitely stay again....

Room Tip: Wifi on the 4th floor wasn't great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Loved the location, overlooking the canal, walking distance to everything I wanted to see and do, and easy access to the tram for the central station. Front desk staff was always pleasant and helpful, wîfi worked well, the rooms had good lighting and a spotless and efficient bathroom; the bed was very comfortable

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Dikker and Thijs over a weekend. We were delighted with the location. It is right on the Prinsengracht Canal so you are within walking distance of everything. You really feel you are right in the buzz of Amsterdam. Our room was big and bright and comfortable. It was also very clean. We were at the back of the hotel so did not have a view but it was very quiet. The staff were very efficient and helpful if asked. The breakfast was what I would term as sufficient but the coffee was great, something that lets other hotels down! You pay for breakfast separately. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to friends

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just recently returned from a 3 night break staying at this hotel in the heart of Amsterdam.

The location was perfect. 5 or 6 stops on the tram from Centraal station. Within reach of the main attractions and some lovely restaurants and outdoor bars in the area. The hotel sits right on the Prinsengracht canal and only a few meters from the tram stop.

The hotel itself was very welcoming. I had requested a high floor and view and they did not disappoint. We were given room 408 which overlooked the canal and had patio doors which we opened and sat watching the world go by. Wedding not experience some of the noise Previously mentioned other than usual city noise (except for Sunday...more in a moment)

I really don't blame the hotel. They could do nothing, but on Sunday the city was invaded by drunken football fans celebrating Ajax winning the championship. The hotel is situated very close to the main square where bars are located and the football,is watched. It was a nightmare. If you are visiting make sure Ajax haven't got a significant match on during the period of your stay. It's a real nightmare.

In short, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again, we were well looked after and enjoyed our stay greatly. I will just keep a closer eye on be fixtures next time!

Room Tip: Contact the hotel prior to your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

First impressions are always the best and Dikker &Thijs Fenince does not disappoint. The staff went over and above to help me resolve a booking error (that was totally my fault) but online travel service (not the hotel) had trouble canceling a room, the staff continued to update me of staus of my reservation, called the travel,service themselves to try and help resolve my issue that took over a months time.

It is conviently located on the tram line (take 1,2 or 5) and was a pleasant sight for three exhausted travelers who just blindly jumped on a tram with luggage and had no idea where they were going. Plenty of resturants with in 5 Mis walk from fast food to elegant sit down dinners.

Our room was comfortable, plenty of space for three adults in the triple room and overlooked the canal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind a historical façade right along the Prinsengracht, the Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel provides you an exclusive gateway to discover Amsterdam. The Hotel is located in the heart of the canal district that was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List.Most of the comfortable, spacious and stylish rooms offer a beautiful view over the canal. Within walking distance are located: the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk Museum and the Anne Frank Huis. Also in the neighborhood: the Concertgebouw, theatres, cinemas, the Heineken Brewery, the Diamond Centre, starting points of Canal Cruises and the main shopping streets. The Spiegelkwartier starts 100 meters from the hotel and this historical neighborhood offers over seventy specialized shops with a wide variety of art and antiques. On the Leidseplein (only 50 meters away) numerous restaurants and cafés can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.