We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

First impressions are always the best and Dikker &Thijs Fenince does not disappoint. The staff went over and above to help me resolve a booking error (that was totally my fault) but online travel service (not the hotel) had trouble canceling a room, the staff continued to update me of staus of my reservation, called the travel,service themselves to try and help resolve my issue that took over a months time.

It is conviently located on the tram line (take 1,2 or 5) and was a pleasant sight for three exhausted travelers who just blindly jumped on a tram with luggage and had no idea where they were going. Plenty of resturants with in 5 Mis walk from fast food to elegant sit down dinners.

Our room was comfortable, plenty of space for three adults in the triple room and overlooked the canal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    207
    80
    21
    8
See reviews for
29
201
40
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I am writing this from the hotel where every 3 minutes a tram rumbles by outside my room. Impossible to sleep. If you are into trainspotting this is the place for you but if you come to a hotel to sleep I suggest you stay somewhere else.

Management would not let me check out and refund me despite this happening in the afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights 4 people in 2 rooms and I have only good to say about this hotel. We had large and well light rooms, the one I had probably the best in the house. Not cheap, maybe a somewhat on the expensive side but still fair value for my money as I remember we were there at the very height of the season. Very good breakfast, good dinner at the hotel restaurant, helpful staff, dead center location, what else can a short term visitor expect?

Room Tip: Room facing North-East overlooking the canal, sun through window in the morning. Room 304 large and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a great place in a very convenient location. It is down the street from the Leidseplein, a short walk from the main shopping area, and only a 10 minute walk from the Rijksmuseum. Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby and the tram stops in front of the hotel.

Our room was very comfortable, fronting on the Prinsengracht with a very comfortable bed and good amenities, including free WiFi. Even though the tram was close and lots of people on the street, noise was not a problem. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. What more to like? I will return here the next time we're in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room fronting the Prinsengracht.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms on the front of the building were comfortable and quiet with a good view of the canal. The heating control in one room was not working (nor the heated towel rail in the bathroom of the other). We would have liked the option of a continental breakfast at a cheaper price so found breakfast elsewhere-which was not easy before 9.30am.
We changed rooms after the first night having been given a room at the back which was gloomy and with a long walk with steep stairs from the lift (not good for the infirm!). The room on the front was the same price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We (me, my wife, and 12yo daughter) stayed here last week for 3 nights, rounding off our short European tour of Paris and Amsterdam. My wife had found this location on the Euro-Rail website, after booking our train from Paris to Amsterdam; if you plan on making the same trip, the rail is the way to go - simple on / off, and the seats were very adequate (although the WiFi was not functioning enroute, so I listened to music while brain-numbingly staring out the window at the countryside passing by). We arrived in Amsterdam on an early Sunday afternoon (thank God, because if it had been rush hour, I think that we would have been more than discombobulated). Anyhow, only knowing that we could board a tram at the station (the 1,3, or 5 if I remember correctly) and pay onboard, we jumped on the back of the next correct tram, waiting for someone to come by and collect our fees ($2.80 Euro each); well, we watched as rider after rider got on and scanned their subscription card. Finally, the doors closed and off we went, having not paid, and receiving more than a few disappointed glares from the Nederlanders on board. If the hotel had been closer to the station (it is on the 4th canal in the ring - Prinsengracht), we might have walked, but seeing that we had all of our luggage, the tram was the only viable option. Anyhow, when we got to the correct stop, off we stepped, having not paid (unintentional, but illegal nonetheless), still confused who we were to pay (subsequently, we learned that you need to enter the first door and pay the conductor, directly, and exact change is preferred).
When we arrived to DTFH (much easier to say for this non-Dutch speaker), we found the hotel to be about 30yrds from the tram stop. On entering, you are initially impressed by the modern and clean feel that this boutique hotel exudes. The girls at the desk were very friendly, and as is the case everywhere in Amsterdam, they spoke perfectly good English. We found out that, despite having booked online, we actually had two reservations (2 rooms). After this was sorted out, we rode the lift up to the second floor to the "triple" - a rather large room with 2 single beds pushed together to form the "master" w/ and single on the adjacent wall for our daughter (romance took a back seat on this trip, as you could imagine). By European standards, the room was expansive. We dropped off our things, and we were off to visit Anne Frank's house, the Rembrandt house, Dam Square, etc. After a long day, the room was very comfortable and inviting, and the two separate beds pushed together, each with their own linens, proved to be perfect for a good night's sleep. The next morning, however, we had a little issue. After showering, we noticed large puddles of water forming on the bathroom floor; it appeared that the commode was leaking from the wall. Upon notifying the staff on our way out for the day, we returned later to find that we had to move our things to the 4th floor, same room. It was a blessing in disguise, as the 2nd story was rather loud, seeing that it overlooked the main drag, Leidsestraat. Once again, the accommodations were identical. Of note, the hotel will allow free WiFi access, but it permits only one individual from a party / room to access at the same time. This was a bit of hassle, with us trying to email pics and FaceTime all of the time. I don't know if a simple call to the desk would have changed that, but we never bothered, so the complaint may be just an over site on our part.
Of particular interest, there is a croissanterie just across the street, making a grab-and-go breakfast very doable. Also, just a short walk (< 2 blocks) out of town on Leidsestraat, we found various pubs, restaurants, and shops (practical ones, too, so that you can gather supplies if need be). The location was perfect.
The hotel also has an attached restaurant by the same name; one can enter from the street or toward the rear of the hotel lobby. We ate there our last night in town, and it was very good. Luckily for us, we brought some nice clothes, as the clientele seemed to be locals or non-Americans, all well-dressed. It provides a pre-fixe menu with some interesting, and presumably Dutch, options. Not inexpensive but we did not break the bank, either.
Leaving the DTFH was as easy as getting there, although we paid this time! We took the tram back to the station, boarded the train to the airport (purchasing tickets for this "commuter" rail was easy, using the yellow machines in the station - many take credit cards and others take exact change, but despite warnings that we found online, all the machines we looked at DID provide an English option - again, valuable to these non-Dutch speakers). Most importantly, the train was cheap (less than $4 Euro each, I think), rapid, and drops you off just below the airport, allowing very easy access.
Overall, the DTFH was a very nice place to stay; I might have given it 5/5 if we did not have the inconvenience of changing rooms after a long day (at least one was available, as the toilet had literally been ripped from the wall when we went to get our things!) and if the hotel was more sound-proof. As far as price, it was nearly half as much as what we had paid in Paris for similar accommodations. More importantly, we would be willing to stay here again if our travels take us to Amsterdam in the future; that means more than anything else, I believe.

Room Tip: Overlooking the canal would be quieter, I imagine, but the only "triples" overlook the adj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#95 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind a historical façade right along the Prinsengracht, the Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel provides you an exclusive gateway to discover Amsterdam. The Hotel is located in the heart of the canal district that was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List.Most of the comfortable, spacious and stylish rooms offer a beautiful view over the canal. Within walking distance are located: the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk Museum and the Anne Frank Huis. Also in the neighborhood: the Concertgebouw, theatres, cinemas, the Heineken Brewery, the Diamond Centre, starting points of Canal Cruises and the main shopping streets. The Spiegelkwartier starts 100 meters from the hotel and this historical neighborhood offers over seventy specialized shops with a wide variety of art and antiques. On the Leidseplein (only 50 meters away) numerous restaurants and cafés can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.