We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lobby of hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 444, Amsterdam 1017 KE, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    207
    79
    21
    8
See reviews for
29
201
40
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you go to Amsterdam there are certainly better hotels for a better price which provide more service. I felt like I was at a hostel as each time we left the hotel we had to hand in our key - and the price was not cheap. There were 8 in our party and the tiny reception only has 2 chairs. We wanted to check out a little late (1 p.m.) to go directly to our cruise ship. The staff would not allow us to do this and did not have adequate storage space for our luggage. Look at other optins when you go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Maryland
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I just had one night in Amsterdam between flights. Have been to A'dam many times so didnt need to be touristy, just wanted a nice taste of the city. The location of this hotel was good for that -- near the Leidesplein, a lively place, but far from the seedy stuff downtown. Hotel was along a canal, also nice.

The room was blah but adequate. Had a room not on the street -- was quieter, but no view and only high windows. That was depressing. A room in front would have been nice view-wise but noisy I'm sure.

There is a very classy-looking restaurant associated with the hotel but didnt try it.

Front desk staff was very helpful.

Main issue -- seemed pricey at $237 for the night. But who knows, maybe that's just Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you are on street-side it will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel is situated in a convenient location and is easily accessible via a short tram ride (No. 1) direct from the Centraal station. The room we had was smaller than expected with a seperate shower room (we found out afterwards that the rooms are different in size). It wasn't a problem to us, but having expected a 4 star hotel at approx £116 per night (don't forget 5% city tax added to bill) we thought that it may have been a bit bigger. The room decor was quite dated, but had a full length window and good view of the canal. There was very little noise considering the busy street life outside due to good double glazing. We had quiet nights sleeping on the very comfortable bed. The TV had BBC1 and BBC2. There are plenty of places in the area to get something to eat day/night. It is only a short walk to see the sights of central Amsterdam, but I would recommend that you get yourself a pocket map (you can easily get lost because the streets look similarin the canal areas). On the whole, a nice comfortable hotel, great location, but decor slightly dated and not many amenities (more like 3 star than 4 star).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel is in a great location.
You can use the train from the airport to the hotel and you can move easily around the city from this hotel.
The rooms are huge and very confortable.
As we booked this hotel online and with a promotional price we didn't get the room with canal view, our room was on the back, anyway was a good room, bright, comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Choose with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have to admit choosing from the array of Amsterdam hotels on offer was not an easy task. But Fellow trip adviser reviewers have got it right again. Great hotel in an excellent location in a great little city. Getting to the hotel by public transport was a breeze, even with our luggage. From the airport take the train then hop straight on to the tram and it stops right outside of the hotel.
We arrived at the Dikker & Thijs Fenice very early in the morning so obviously our room was not ready, it would have been great to check in early as we were exhausted after very long flight from New Zealand but unfortunately the hotel was full and it was not possible. However the staff were helpful and stored our bags for us until 2:00 pm check in time so we could go off and explore Amsterdam.
We had booked a twin room with a balcony that has a glimpse of the canal and city views. The room was exactly as shown on the website, clean, comfortable & a good size for a European hotel. The canal is right on the door step as are shops and cafes. There was only one weekend night or should I say morning when our sleep was disturbed by drunken revellers in the street on their way home.
The hotel is in an excellent spot to walk to many of the main attractions & the public transport system is excellent for getting further afield. The hop on hop off canal boat & bus is a wonderful way to see the city from a very different perspective and we were surprised how much of the city we were able to see in our short three day trip. Don't miss the chance to get a picnic together from one of the many wonderful bakeries and cheese shops and spend a few hours taking in the sights at Vondel park, the atmosphere and energy is amazing.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to travellers who want a comfortable, clean and quiet resting place as their base for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room it's a must for summer stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in 2010/2011 for New Years and it was superb. Hotel is in the best location (next to trams, canal, food, corner store) and had so much character. Price wasn't that bad for New Years and staff was friendly and helpful. Warning, in-room phones are crazy expensive and don't expect weight rooms, pools, dining facilities etc. Dikker is just a great place with comfy beds to rest your head in one of Europes best towns.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 444, Amsterdam 1017 KE, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind a historical façade right along the Prinsengracht, the Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel provides you an exclusive gateway to discover Amsterdam. The Hotel is located in the heart of the canal district that was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List.Most of the comfortable, spacious and stylish rooms offer a beautiful view over the canal. Within walking distance are located: the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk Museum and the Anne Frank Huis. Also in the neighborhood: the Concertgebouw, theatres, cinemas, the Heineken Brewery, the Diamond Centre, starting points of Canal Cruises and the main shopping streets. The Spiegelkwartier starts 100 meters from the hotel and this historical neighborhood offers over seventy specialized shops with a wide variety of art and antiques. On the Leidseplein (only 50 meters away) numerous restaurants and cafés can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.