We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in an superb central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiller

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Schiller to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Schiller
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller) (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #150 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in an superb central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay in NH Schiller from 28th - 31st November. It was easy to get to va train and tram from Schipol airport. The hotelreception is clean and the staff were friendly and courteous. Our room was on the 6th floor. It was a double room and although was quite small, it was adequate. The room and bathroom were clean and housekeeping did a great job each day. We did not eat or drink in the hotel but the bar/restaurant area looked nice and there werea lways plenty of customers. On our first night there we were awakened at 5am by people coming out of a nightclub near the back of teh hotel. This only happened once in our 3 night stay thankfully. I would not hesitate to stay in the NH Schiller if we visit Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derrygaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

The hotel is a great place. The location, the staff, and the food are great. A little pricy but it is Europe and the European idea of hotel versus US idea are a little different. WIth that in mind the cleanliness was good enough. NO BED BUGS here. The towels were changed daily as was the bedding. The only issue is: the noise. We had a great room overlooking the square and it was fun. However, after the second night of no sleep (I'm not as young as I used to be) we requested to move rooms. There was no issue regarding this. The staff had us in a new room on the same floor within seconds. They even came to help us move our things over. Once in the new room we slept like babies. No free wi-fi. But the computer worked fine. Great eating close by. Stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar42o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

I'll start with the good:
Good central location at Rembrandtplein which is a nightlife center. Good breakfast was included in the price. Staff was courteous.

Now for all the reasons to avoid:
The location also meant loud noise until 2am. Let's just say that the hotel was considerate enough to put earplugs in the room.
The room itself was of a fair size, but had serious electricity problems, with lights coming suddenly off, or not turning on at all. The hotel sent an electrician who managed to fix it - until the problems started again the very next day.
The hotel is trying to save on the wrong staff: very few towels, a single bar of soap, and a short supply of toilet paper.
WiFi in the rooms and lobby, but very expensive (more than 10 EUR per day).

In summary, not really bad, but definitely not worth the price either. Next time in Amsterdam I'm going to look for something better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I made my reservation at the Schiller with some hesitation after reading reviews that emphasized the nighttime noisiness of Rembrandtplien's cafe and disco culture. But the location was great and a signficant online discount drew me in. I requested a back room, which I ineed got, and noise was never an issue. In fact, I had a lovely view of the city skyline. The size of the room was small, of course, by US standards, but fairly typical for one-person rooms I've experienced in Europe. It was very clean and housekeeping did an excellent job every day tidying things up. A very large window--that opened--along with a transom--kept the air moving, so the lack of air conditioning wasn't a problem (and I like my rooms cool!). The breakfast (that came with my room fee) was outstanding: hot foods (eggs, sausage, pancakes, etc.), many breads, fresh fruit, yougurts, cold cuts and cheeses, salads, muesili, etc. were plentiful, and a lovely way to start the day. The people working the front desk were attentive, learned my name, and very hospitable. When a morning wake-up call failed to come one day, they were very apologetic and made sure that mistake did not happen again. The decor--in the rooms and the lobby--were neutral and fine; the cafe (where the breakfast is served) classical Amsterdam Art Deco. Adding to the value for me was the hotel's location--very close to the city center, right on 2 key tram lines, with lovely restaurants nearby and a great grocery store just a block away. My only real complaint is that they do not provide free wireless. All in all, a very positive experience. Now, I wouldn't pay rack rate for the hotel; but then again, I never do. So look for an online discount, make your requirements known, and I bet you'll find it a pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2IowaGals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Went with a group of 7 people. the hotel was clean,modern enough and the staff were very helpfull.

My room was quiet and the beds were comfy. Had loads of channels like uk which was great. bathroom was clean.

Only thing was that i have bites on my legs which I think are bed bugs... noone else in the room got them so I dont know.

We were beside a bars and clubs but we couldnt hear a thing the room we were in but my other friends said it was quite noisy out the front.

Overall the hotel and location was perfect. We were happy with the service, and it was reasonable too.

Also nearly everywhere we went we had to pay 50cent to use the toilets!

Would go again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shania201010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL USA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed in this hotel on a previous visit to Amsterdam, and were quite satisfied. As a result, this time, we didn't look elsewhere. We requested a quiet room away from Rembrandt Square, which other reviewers have reported as noisy at night. Good thing, because we were there during the World Cup games in which the Netherlands was participating, and Amsterdam was crazy. But what they gave us was a very small, very cramped room on the back side of the building (OK with that) behind the elevator. The bathroom was clean, but also small and cramped. These accommodations did not even come close to meriting the $200 we paid. Yes, the hotel is clean and nice; yes, the location is great if you want to be in central Amsterdam; but this particular accommodation was a very poor value. On a return visit to Amsterdam, we will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmccaleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for the weekend of the world cup... fab location couldnt fault it! Noisy outside but we asked for a room at the back and top floor to ensure a view...this was provided for us with no problems... Check in was ok, charged our card for $50 incase we used the mini bar... would prefer the choice to pay when we used it and not before to be honest but no huge deal. Found the staff to be sometimes rude and not really interested in what we had to say whether it be looking for directions or enquiring about a late check out...

One massive complaint i have about this hotel is the air con.. or lack of it i should say! The room was awful with how hot it was.... they had one small fan in the room which done absolutely nothing apart from circulate hot air. It really was unbearable... look into another hotel if u are travelling through the summer months. To be honest i should have thought and checked before i booked!!

Other than that the hotel was nice, modern and easy to get to places! Wouldnt recommend in the summer months but maybe through the winter!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaxM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#137 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#237 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,755 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#85 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,032 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#105 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Address: Rembrandtplein 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at the sculpted facade of the NH Amsterdam Schiller hotel in Amsterdam, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you'll know you've stumbled upon a place rich with history. Located in Amsterdam's bustling Rembrandt Square, this national monument embodies the essence of the Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing