We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for young people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiller

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Schiller to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Schiller
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein, 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller) (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Ranked #158 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for young people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

Hi,

I just returned from this hotel after staying for 3 nights. I had requested a smoking room in advance (which is difficult to find in Amsterdam) which we were allocated on check in. We had a room on the first floor with a nice balcony overlooking the Rembrandsplein square. The room is perfect size with a flat screen tv and a good selection of english channels but no pay per view movies. The hotel is very well located with restaurants and clubs all outside the door! I would say it is more suited to young people as it is quite loud at night time if you are in a room facing the square. It is a 5 minute walk to Dam's square where you can do shopping and sight seeing. I would recommend the hop on hop off bus tour and would also recommend Lucius seafood restaurant.

All in all, a great stay and fun weekend!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    365
    202
    59
    32
See reviews for
88
371
56
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

cant ask for a better location if you like to party...coffee shop right next door, plenty of clubs, bars and restaurants within one block radius. staff was nice and hotel very classy. i will not stay anywhere else when i return to amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed at this hotel from 19th of September till 22th of September 2009.It was a nice hotel and the rooms are very large for the Europian standarts.The location is good and it can be thought as city center hotel since it was just 5-10 min. walk to Dam Square.We have not tried the restaurant of the hotel so I can not comment on the food satff.But I can tell you that the breakfast is good enough to make you happy.One day we had a problem with the room.We found a small insect in the bed and told this to the staff in the reception and the manager took the responsibility and offer to change the room immediately If we like to do or they will clean and check all the room again. We want them just to check the room and when we turn back at night we find an apologize letter from the manager and 3 apples and a bottle of water.That was kind .You can go to this hotel.Nice location,Nice staff,Nice service.What can you want More?

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We were directed to this hotel as our first choice was overbooked and we were told this was to be our hotel for our long weekend. Initially, we were not pleased but on arrival at the said hotel, what a surprise. Lots of old paintings (if you like that sort of thing) but the staff on reception were fantastic. Always helpful and nothing too much trouble. The rooms we were given were superior rooms due to being inconvenienced and they certainly were! On the 6th floor with a balconly overlooking Rembrandht Square. We had a meal in the restaurant and the service and the meal was first class. We found out the next day it was the number one eating place in Amsterdam. The only complaint I had was, on the last day, the breakfast was cold. This was due to a large party who were also leaving that day and everyone seem to have descended on the dining room at the same time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Taken me almost a year to write this.
We were on a business trip in Dusseldorf Germany, and Friday was German Unity day, so we had a 3 day weekend to enjoy in Amsterdam.

We booked the Schiller rather last minute, and they had availability for us. 4 rooms total.
The hotel is beautiful, very old building, with hard wood floors in the dining room, and very nicely decorated.
I had a room on the 5th floor. I opted for the stairs, as the lift was a little too tiny for my liking.
I was sharing a room with a co-worker, so we had 2 twin beds.
The room was outstanding! I loved the art-deco decor. Nice painting, and even nicer furniture. The bed was extremely comfortable, and we had a charming view over the rooftops of Amsterdam, in the rear of the building.

The Schiller is directly on Rembrandtplein, and the clubs go until all hours of the night. It's very noisy, but since we were in the back of the hotel, we had no problems whatsoever.
I think people exaggerate about the huge neon billboard. But then again, i didn't have a room directly facing it. If this, or the noise may bother you, simply ask for a room in the back.

The bathroom was a nice size. Full size shower, sink, vanity area and toilet.
Nice ammenities (lotion, shampoo, etc...)
There was a rather large desk, also of the contemporary design.
Wall mounted flat screen TV was helpful to catch some news in the morning.
The hallways in the hotel were charming. A little tight, and we peeked into some of the other rooms. There are all decorated similarly, and some even have a slanted ceiling. I saw another which seemed to be very small, with a separate bed area from the main sleeping quarters. I think they really jammed as much 'room' out of the original layout of the building, as they could (as such, there may be a beam or 2 in the way, or some other type of odd layout).

Breakfast in the on-site restaurant was wonderful. Plenty of hot and cold dishes to chose from, buffet style. They had an espresso machine so you can make your own coffee, as well as several fresh juicer machines - even champagne and strawberries.
it was a little pricey, but I felt it was worth it. The quality of the food was excellent.

There is a little patio out front of the hotel where you can have coffee and ready the paper. It is literaly directly on the square, and you are in front of the ''Night Watch" Rembrandt re-enactment, which is just gorgeous.
Directly next store, is a coffeeshop called 'Smokey Joes'. We went in, but didn't sample anything. Everyone was really very nice, and they let me take some pictures! (sorry, but in America you just don't see shops displaying Hash, and Opium for sale!!)

No shortage of pubs and clubs right on the square either. We had lunch at an Italian place, which served excellent gourmet pizza.
As the night fell, we hopped from bar to bar, right on the square. As they started really getting very busy, the service from the wait staff lacked a bit, but thats to be expected.
What a lively place. Excellent people watching.
The square is extremely clean, and they have the street sweepers out at about 5am to clean up the prior night's mess.
There is also a tram that stops right in front of the hotel, should you need transportation.
We walked from Centraal Train Station, to the Schiller, taking in all the sights along the way. Even with baggage, it was an easy trek, and a great way to see the city. Was about a 45 minute walk.

The staff were nice. Not overly nice, but nice. They answered questions, and that was about it. They certainly didn't go out of their way to explain things, or expand on their answers..

Will not hesitate to stay here again. In fact, going back this October, but staying in a Bed and Breakfast, to get a different feel of Amsterdam.
When i do require a hotel in this city on a future visit, the Schiller will be my choice.
If you are young and in the party frame of mind, this is the best Square to stay in. Others may find it just a bit too rowdy for their tastes.

Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

It was quite warm when we stayed here but there is no air conditioning. We slept with the windows open but, even though we were in a room at the back, it was very noisy.

Our room was very small, we didn't have room to leave both suitcases out, one had to be closed and stashed in a corner.

Great location, very central.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

We've become quite fond of the NH chain of hotels around Europe, they offer good value for money and there are usually no major unpleasant surprises in store. So when my girlfriend and I needed to spend an overnight in Amsterdam we made a booking at the NH Tropen. Arriving at the hotel we found it a little out of the way although in a beautifully green district, near the Tropical Gardens, Zoo and so on. We wanted however to be somewhere more central and to be able to explore historic Amsterdam on foot so the girl at Reception was very helpful and actually transferred our booking to another property, the NH Schiller on Rembrandtplein, at the same price and without any fee or surcharge!

The Schiller is in an older building with a turn-of-the-century feel to the lobby (19th - 20th obviously, not 20th - 21st!). It gives on to a rectangular plaza with a statue of Rembrandt, tramlines, cafes, two more NH Hotels some restaurants and so on. Are you surprised at there being three NH hotels on one square? They have thirteen in Amsterdam and there's not really a lot of space to spread them around! Back to the neighbourhood, shops and restaurants and even cinemas abound in the lanes that lead from the square and 5 minutes to the south or east will find you strolling along the famous canals, looking into houseboats and trying not to get run over by strange half-bicycle-half-wheelbarrow contraptions.

Our room was not particularly spacious but it was comfortable and spotless. As with quirky older buildings, sometimes the ensuite bathroom is actually larger than the actual bedroom which was almost the case here. Everything was clean and well cared for but pretty old. A nice touch were the little sweeties they'd placed on the pillows and the desk and a book of short stories actually compiled and published by the hotel chain, on the bedside table.

To sum up, we were satisfied with our stay. We didn't try the breakfast as we had an early morning flight the next day but if up to the usual standards for this chain I'm sure it would have been perfectly acceptable. A little surprise was when we asked room-service for some ice and drinking glasses they said they would charge us if they had to bring it up but it was free if we went down to the restaurant and fetched it ourselves. And a word of warning if you get a room that actually faces on to the Rembrandtplein: there is a MASSIVE advertising LED display on the building opposite that is on all night and that the very heavy curtains only barely manage to block out. Without the curtains it will burn your silhouette onto the wall behind you or blind you like those interregation lamps in a prison somewhere!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#124 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#218 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,527 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#79 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#137 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#165 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,932 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Doelen
NH Amsterdam Doelen
#242 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Address: Rembrandtplein, 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at the sculpted facade of the NH Amsterdam Schiller hotel in Amsterdam, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you'll know you've stumbled upon a place rich with history. Located in Amsterdam's bustling Rembrandt Square, this national monument embodies the essence of the Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, NHHotels, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Schiller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.