We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiller

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Schiller to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Schiller
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein, 26, 1017CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Just average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great location. Lack of air conditioning is the fatal flaw. Building is musty, dank and dirty and in desperate need of refreshment. Certainly past it's prime. The value is good, but is definitely below four star level. Most rooms are small with lots of rough edges. Front rooms on the Rembrandtplein are noisy, while rooms on the back of the building are relatively quiet. Somewhat depressing to return to after appreciating the true beauty of Amsterdam

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    322
    174
    54
    24
See reviews for
71
315
53
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Have just spent 2 nights in this hotel. We found staff very welcoming and friendly on our arrival. Rooms were small but very clean an had all amenities needed from hairdryer to coffee making facilities. Towels and bedding were very clean. Breakfast was more than adequate. The location was brilliant with loads of bars and restaurants right on the doorstep. The trams were right outside hotels doors straight to and from central station we caught the number 9 tram. For the price we paid we were satisfied although modernisation is needed in some areas of hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back if you don't sleep too well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Ok reading the reviews on here luckily we got a room at the rear of the hotel which overlooks onto the back of a quieter residential area. The hotel is in the beating heart of Amsterdam so if your a ruddy moan a lot then this probably isn't the place for you. The room that we had appeared to be the smallest on the floor plan but it was still an adequately sized with a proper double bed which was supportive and we requested extra pillows which were brought to the room. The TV had access to range of stations in various languages. The bathroom was clean with a bath and shower head, although the water pressure on the shower wasn't a power shower. The room was tidied and beds made up every day which given some of the reviews on here it almost came as a surprise to me. The staff were very helpful although we couldn't check in early on our first day they were happy to hold onto our cases till later and also after check out this allowed us to make the best of time in the city. When my partner was feeling poorly they had paracetamol at the desk and were happy to offer advice on where to hire bikes. The decor of the hotel in the main foyer and restaurant was under going restoration but was beautiful and in art decor style. The quirky main lift is interesting. Just a quick note don't forget the 5% city tax which is payable on accommodation only on check out. In respect to Amsterdam all you want in a city is here; much nicer than London. The hotel fronts onto Rembrant Square just bear in mind what you see immediately outside the hotel is 'lively' I would say a bit chavy nightlife and a couple of smoking dens which quite frankly stink. The council hoses down the area on mornings which makes it pleasant to pass through on the daytime.The hotel reassuringly keeps the main door locked on weekend nights and you will have to give room number and name to gain entry. A wise move given some of the human effluent floating around late at night in the area it is safe but full of chavs and dope heads on a night out.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Whilst we were planning to stay at the hotel for our upcoming vacation and actually made a non-refundable booking based on information the hotel has provided on a number of websites the information proved to be inaccurate when we contacted the hotel the day following the booking date. Basically all reviewed sites listed baby sitting as a service provided by the hotel whilst the front desk confirmed twice that such a service is not provided. Despite our request for cancellation on that grounds, the hotel and its General Manager do not seem to give any interest into our situation and the false information about the services they do or do not provide, Rather they stick to the terms of the agreement that is favorable to them and charge the full 4 nights stay. I believe the manners of conducting business and the affairs of its guest are the lowest priority for this hotel management, apparently charging Euros 764 to a guest requesting cancellation based on false information is more important to the management of this hotel than actually performing the service and earning the money . Thank you very much never again with an NH property.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siam Rep
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I stayed at the NH Schiller twice for four nights each time, within a three month period.
Both stays were prepaid long in advance, so I had not much of a choice but to stay there the second time, especially since management promised to make up for the horrific experience the first time.
But of course that did not happen. It got worse!
Both times the room assigned (4.+5. floor) were in a terrible condition. The wear and tear is to an extent, that is highly unacceptable - broken, heavily soiled furniture, majorly stained carpets, walls covered in all kinds of dirt spots.
Housekeeping is basically nonexistent, remember they advertise a 4 star level of excellence.
One room still had all the previous guests trash in the trash bins at check-in.
They never replaced amenities on their own, coffee and tea sometimes only.
As mentioned in previous reviews, there is no air conditioning, so you have a choice of exorbitant noise or a hot smelly room, because with the central location comes the nightlife and the exhaust from the next door coffee shop.
All in all a horrific experience. If you ever decide to stay there, do not say that you have not been warned after reading my review!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Ries,

I was up-dated with your discontent from our Assistant FO Manger and Duty Manager, who had some conversations with you.

I would like to express our sincere apology once more, regarding the status and cleaning of the room.

Our guests’ satisfaction is a main goal for NH Hotel Group,

We regret to know that we have not covered your expectations on this occasion.

Yours sincerely


Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel is on excellent location what was very important to us and off course the rooms are clean and the staff is helpfull and friendly. On reception we have got all necesary informations and tips which excursion will be interesting for us and all of them were the good choice.
Amsterdam is beautiful so we gonna stay here again, for sure

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Sophia,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on tripadvisor.
Nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and in Amsterdam.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the Hotel.

Kind regards

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

At the side of the Rebrandtplein (one of the busiest party areas) this hotel offered a quiet retreat despite the throngs of people outside the front door who went at it until 6:00 and 7:00 in the morning. The buffet breakfasts were quite good. The staff were polite and accommodating. The upgraded room offered a large space, comfortable beds, a new TV, and a soaker tub. The small fridge allowed us to keep some of our perishables fresh. The furnishings were clean and comfortable if a little dated. Easy to access the central railway station. About a 40 euro cab ride to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back - a tip from our cab driver.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madame,

Thank you very much for taking your time to place a comment.
It is nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we may welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Address: Rembrandtplein, 26, 1017CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#106 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at NH Amsterdam Schiller’s sculpted facade, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you’ll know you’ve stumbled upon a place rich with history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, NHHotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Schiller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.