We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungry For Money, Cheap On Promises” 1 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiller

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Schiller to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Schiller
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein, 26, 1017CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #136 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hungry For Money, Cheap On Promises”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Whilst we were planning to stay at the hotel for our upcoming vacation and actually made a non-refundable booking based on information the hotel has provided on a number of websites the information proved to be inaccurate when we contacted the hotel the day following the booking date. Basically all reviewed sites listed baby sitting as a service provided by the hotel whilst the front desk confirmed twice that such a service is not provided. Despite our request for cancellation on that grounds, the hotel and its General Manager do not seem to give any interest into our situation and the false information about the services they do or do not provide, Rather they stick to the terms of the agreement that is favorable to them and charge the full 4 nights stay. I believe the manners of conducting business and the affairs of its guest are the lowest priority for this hotel management, apparently charging Euros 764 to a guest requesting cancellation based on false information is more important to the management of this hotel than actually performing the service and earning the money . Thank you very much never again with an NH property.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    342
    189
    55
    25
See reviews for
80
339
55
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Siam Rep
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I stayed at the NH Schiller twice for four nights each time, within a three month period.
Both stays were prepaid long in advance, so I had not much of a choice but to stay there the second time, especially since management promised to make up for the horrific experience the first time.
But of course that did not happen. It got worse!
Both times the room assigned (4.+5. floor) were in a terrible condition. The wear and tear is to an extent, that is highly unacceptable - broken, heavily soiled furniture, majorly stained carpets, walls covered in all kinds of dirt spots.
Housekeeping is basically nonexistent, remember they advertise a 4 star level of excellence.
One room still had all the previous guests trash in the trash bins at check-in.
They never replaced amenities on their own, coffee and tea sometimes only.
As mentioned in previous reviews, there is no air conditioning, so you have a choice of exorbitant noise or a hot smelly room, because with the central location comes the nightlife and the exhaust from the next door coffee shop.
All in all a horrific experience. If you ever decide to stay there, do not say that you have not been warned after reading my review!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Ries,

I was up-dated with your discontent from our Assistant FO Manger and Duty Manager, who had some conversations with you.

I would like to express our sincere apology once more, regarding the status and cleaning of the room.

Our guests’ satisfaction is a main goal for NH Hotel Group,

We regret to know that we have not covered your expectations on this occasion.

Yours sincerely


Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel is on excellent location what was very important to us and off course the rooms are clean and the staff is helpfull and friendly. On reception we have got all necesary informations and tips which excursion will be interesting for us and all of them were the good choice.
Amsterdam is beautiful so we gonna stay here again, for sure

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Sophia,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on tripadvisor.
Nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and in Amsterdam.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the Hotel.

Kind regards

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

At the side of the Rebrandtplein (one of the busiest party areas) this hotel offered a quiet retreat despite the throngs of people outside the front door who went at it until 6:00 and 7:00 in the morning. The buffet breakfasts were quite good. The staff were polite and accommodating. The upgraded room offered a large space, comfortable beds, a new TV, and a soaker tub. The small fridge allowed us to keep some of our perishables fresh. The furnishings were clean and comfortable if a little dated. Easy to access the central railway station. About a 40 euro cab ride to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back - a tip from our cab driver.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madame,

Thank you very much for taking your time to place a comment.
It is nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we may welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed here for three days location is perfect every tourist spot is just a stone throws distance nice and clean room but Airconditioning is not working they will supply a room fan and sometimes it gets really hot. If this is ok with you then stay here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hempstead, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Just an OK stay. The hotel needs to make some improvements and price adjustments for the value.


The bed was very very uncomfortable. Our particular room had a view of a wall.

The staff was very nice but was not able to supply the accommodations that were promised for joining NH Rewards. The manager was not willing to upgrade the room without a substantial price increase.

The breakfast was just OK for the price. It was above the price point i was willing to pay for what was given.

One staff member at the from desk seemed new and could not give suggestions for restaurants. All hotel staff dealing directly with the public should be familiar with the area to make suggestions.








  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have stayed there for our honey moon we had a great welcome. The room and all the stuff there are great. And the location is the best. 5 star location. Hot and cold water 24/7. No a/c but in the summer is bit problem but in the winter they have a solution.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Address: Rembrandtplein, 26, 1017CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at NH Amsterdam Schiller’s sculpted facade, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you’ll know you’ve stumbled upon a place rich with history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, NHHotels, Booking.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Schiller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.