We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late review hope helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiller

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Schiller to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Schiller
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein, 26, 1017CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Ranked #148 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Late review hope helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I booked this for my partners 30th Birthday for 2nights on the weekend never been before either. Hotel reasonable price location perfect right next to everything. The room was clean and nice but like a box glad we was out most of the time.
The food was experience but was nice didn't have much there as we was eatting out. Would booked again as perfect location but would ask for a bigger room amsterdam is lovely can't wait to go again. The flight is so short, checking In and out takes longer.
red light district an experience must go!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    356
    197
    56
    29
See reviews for
87
356
55
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I was on a two week Business trip to Amsterdam. The Hotel Staff are very friendly. The hotel emplacement, in the Rembrandt Plein, is nearly close to everything in Amsterdam. By close, I mean at walking distance. I did not try the Hotel cuisine, but I know that the staff made discounts on the run without me asking for anything, for things I got from the mini-bar.
Around the Hotel are the best Clubs of Amsterdam and many cafés, restaurants and beer bars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I liked the location of the hotel. It is situated at Rambrandt square and is 10 -15 min to central station with tram or cab. Tram station is just outside the hotel and there are lots of cafés, restaurants and souvenir shops around it. There is a great steak house nachtwacht (nightwatch) . I recommend it. Our room (604- top level) was not air conditioned. The fridge was not working and when we report it to staff, they came to check on it but did nothing to replace it. Internet connection at reception was slow and we couldn't print off our boarding pass for our flights out of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Choose a room on other floors rather than top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your experience at our hotel.

First I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. We do not have air conditioning in the hotel .We do provide portable vantilators. Also our sincere apologies for failing in repairing your minibar during your stay.
we are always more than willing to help and assistwith the internet and printing service at reception.
Should you choose to stay with us again in the future, please let us know so we can make sure your next experience will be a better one.

We hope you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The staff were helpful and friendly. But the only negative is in the summers the room can get quite warm as there is no AC facility. Apart from that location is great; price for a centrally located hotel is great.
Rembrandtplein is a brilliant location in itself, with numerous cafe's, coffeeshops, the park, and the tram station, all within a 100m radius. Take a walk down to Dam square for some history, sightseeing, and lots of shopping on the connecting roads!!!
Do take the canal cruise.. its simply marvelous! The Rijkmeuseum, Van Gogh Museum are a must for art lovers. Anne Franks house is a must for anyone with a heart (but be sure to reach there early to avoid long a long que).
A visit to the red light district is a must to satisfy your curiosity. The area is full of many pubs and restaurants serving every cuisine under the sun!
And my favourite burger was AT THE BURGER BAR!!!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!!!!!!! They are all over the city so just google the location... you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room as the rooms are small by Asian standards to start with (20 sq.m.).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Diksha,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and visited our beautiful city.

Let us know when you are planning your next trip to the heart of Amsterdam, so that we can welcome you again.

Kind regards

Hotel Director
Leticia Muro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Excellent hotel located at the Rembrandt Square centrally located in Amsterdam within walking distance of the central Amsterdam.
Room are good and spacious.
We enjoyed the breakfast.

Only negative observation is the somewhat slow and cumbersome free internet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Location is excellent and the trams are opposite the Hotel if you don't fancy walking too much. We were there Monday to Thursday so we had no real problems with the noise from the clubs close by. At weekends the staff said it gets very noisy. Lots of really good restaurants and bars (both types) close by also. The room we were offered on arrival was very small but we had already been offered an upgrade to a large suite for an extra 25 euros a night. The staff let us look at both on our own without any pressure. Once you see the see tghe suite with the bigger bed and larger bathroom it is a 'no-brainer ' unless you are on a very tight budget

The desk staff were polite and friendly but it has to be said that housekeeping and room service generally are a bit 'hit and miss' for an Hotel of this rating.

Room Tip: Ask about the possibility of a room upgrade on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Schiller, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your tip to future travellers, indeed it is possible to upgrade to a different roomtype if the one you booked does not meet your expectations.
We will share your comment regarding housekeeping and roomservice with the managers involved.

Thank you for your comment and for your choosing our hotel for your stay in Amsterdam.

Kind regards
Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, Surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The hotel is in great central location.
I stayed here for a 2 nights in June with 4 other friends in a double and a triple room. The rooms are spacious and the size of the bed is generous.
Hotel staff are helpful, but they did't accommodate us with the double room well 1st night, even though we requested it ahead of time. However, they upgraded the room the following day, as soon as it was available.

Room Tip: There is no air-conditioning in the rooms, so if you sleep with the window open it may be too noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Address: Rembrandtplein, 26, 1017CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at NH Amsterdam Schiller’s sculpted facade, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you’ll know you’ve stumbled upon a place rich with history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Otel and Priceline so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Schiller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.