We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome But Noisy Location, Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiller

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Schiller to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Schiller
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller) (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #149 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome But Noisy Location, Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

NH Schiller has a cool old-world feel and a terrific location, right in the heart of the action in Amsterdam. We joked that "Rembrandt's Plaza" is the Times Square of Amsterdam as it has one good-sized tv screen on one building. The lobby of the hotel is a little faded and dated but our room (117) was beautiful with a view of the square looking right at the statues. We had booked another room for our two teenagers and it was small and slightly dungeon-like (120) so pay close attention to the size and the location of the room you book. The larger room with the view was more but it wasn't that much more and it was a "night and day" improvement over the other room. The whole family hung out in the large room that has a pull-out couch and comfy chair with the fabulous view and the teenagers went back to their small room to sleep. Turns out they slept better because the rooms with the view of Rembrandt's square are hella noisy as hard-drinking tourist are outside your window yelling until four o'clock in the morning. The bathroom was huge and had a stained glass window that was very pretty.

Don't bother with the breakfast. You can get much cheaper at any sidewalk cafe on the square and there is a pastry shop down the street. You can catch the tram right across the square and it will save you a lot of time walking once you get familiar with the layout of the town. And there is an awesome Indonesian restaurant to the right when you exit the hotel that has a great set of menu options.

Would definitely recommend this hotel with a caveat of making sure you understand what type of room you are booking. We would love to come back and stay there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of the square that are absolutely fantastic but they are noisy. Some rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuburbanTraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a grand old hotel which shows some wear and tear but it's an imposing place which has a lot more character than more modern hotels. The staff were all very friendly and obliging. The room was clean and well equipped, and the ensuite bathroom was ok, with a good shower. The breakfast was a buffet which offered a generally good range of breakfast food and drink in a relaxing environment. It is open until 10.30am, which is a great help for those of us who don't get up early. There is also a brasserie on the ground floor of the hotel which serves good food and drink - a valuable asset. The hotel, which is on the south side of Rembrantplein, is very conveniently located: we found it easy to walk from it to all the places we wanted to around Amsterdam, whether the museums, Vondelpark, Jordaan, de Pijp, or the central area. And having a tram stop outside the hotel was really helpful. There were lots of good places to eat, drink (coffee, alcohol etc) close by. My only criticism would be the noise from the square itself. In some ways the noise and bustle is a good and exciting thing, but the noise of trams, boisterous young people in the early hours of the morning and the thud of disco music from the clubs below (on one night only ceasing at 4am!) did prevent me from getting sleep on the first two nights of our stay - and we were high up on the 4th floor. The hotel leaves ear plugs on the bedside tables for the use of residents, which says it all really. However, now that our stay in Amsterdam is over, we were glad we stayed in this hotel rather in the many of the others that we considered, and when we come back to Amsterdam we'd certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Wild_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Breakfast is optional and @ + E15 each is not worth it - find a local cafe ( at back of hotel or left across square ) for better value.
4th Floor room at the back was very private and quiet - good central location for short walks to many bars / restaurants, Museums, etc. but about 1/2 hour walk from station. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank ray p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Staff are so friendly and cater to whatever you may need! Hotel is in a great location and overall is very clean and kept up really well. Have stayed a couple of times now and will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank DeirdreMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Excellent location,staff very friendly,food very good although I thought breakfast was overpriced.Standard room very comfortable.For a long weekend or midweek break in Amsterdam its really good.All the sights are close at hand,well within walking distance

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My partner booked 4 nights in this hotel for a birthday trip. He had been a little worried about reviews mentioning the noise and emailed ahead of our stay. We were given a room on the sixth floor at the back of the hotel and can honestly say had a very peaceful stay with no noise (this could have been due to being higher up and not facing the square). The view overlooking the city skyline was also quite impressive, particularly in the early evening.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, situated on Rembrandtplein, a vibrant and historic square with numerous bars, restaurants and cafes. A tram stop is directly opposite and a Metro station 5 minutes away. Having said this, due to it's central location we walked everywhere which was so convenient and it was lovely stepping out the hotel to the great atmosphere of Rembrandtplein. It was just a 10 minute walk to Dam Square and all of the main attractions in that area. In the other direction it's a 15-20 minute walk to the Museum Quarter (Rikjmuseum, Van Gogh museum etc). We found it a perfect spot to explore Amsterdam from and enjoyed sitting outside in the square at the end of the day for a drink. You only have to venture down any of the streets off the square to come across more restaurants. However, we walked a little further afield to two which were fantastic (see our reviews for The Pantry and Humphreys).

The room was pleasant and clean, and in comparison to other European hotels we have stayed in, it was a great size.The staff were very friendly and helpful and if requested, can organise a shuttle service to the airport at 17 Euros per person. We found this a reasonable price and easy way of getting there, instead of alternatively having to get to and catch a train from Central Station or paying for a taxi.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay here again if ever returning to Amsterdam in the near future!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare-and-Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed at the Schiller for a few days mid-February and it was great, I arrived early morning and much to my surprise my room was already ready for check-in. The room was a bit small but you're on vacation and hopefully not spending too much time in the room. My room was in the front of the building and overlooked Rembrandtplein. Yes it is a bit noisy at night but I am of the younger generation so didn't mind as much. Within walking distance of all the major sights, and the tram stops just on the other side of the park. Very convenient location!!! Would definitely stay here again, and am planning on it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsb7140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#137 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#237 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,755 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#85 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,032 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#104 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Address: Rembrandtplein 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at the sculpted facade of the NH Amsterdam Schiller hotel in Amsterdam, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you'll know you've stumbled upon a place rich with history. Located in Amsterdam's bustling Rembrandt Square, this national monument embodies the essence of the Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing