We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiller

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Schiller to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Schiller
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein, 26, 1017CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #169 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Breakfast is optional and @ + E15 each is not worth it - find a local cafe ( at back of hotel or left across square ) for better value.
4th Floor room at the back was very private and quiet - good central location for short walks to many bars / restaurants, Museums, etc. but about 1/2 hour walk from station. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    251
    154
    42
    20
See reviews for
54
247
44
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Staff are so friendly and cater to whatever you may need! Hotel is in a great location and overall is very clean and kept up really well. Have stayed a couple of times now and will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Excellent location,staff very friendly,food very good although I thought breakfast was overpriced.Standard room very comfortable.For a long weekend or midweek break in Amsterdam its really good.All the sights are close at hand,well within walking distance

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My partner booked 4 nights in this hotel for a birthday trip. He had been a little worried about reviews mentioning the noise and emailed ahead of our stay. We were given a room on the sixth floor at the back of the hotel and can honestly say had a very peaceful stay with no noise (this could have been due to being higher up and not facing the square). The view overlooking the city skyline was also quite impressive, particularly in the early evening.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, situated on Rembrandtplein, a vibrant and historic square with numerous bars, restaurants and cafes. A tram stop is directly opposite and a Metro station 5 minutes away. Having said this, due to it's central location we walked everywhere which was so convenient and it was lovely stepping out the hotel to the great atmosphere of Rembrandtplein. It was just a 10 minute walk to Dam Square and all of the main attractions in that area. In the other direction it's a 15-20 minute walk to the Museum Quarter (Rikjmuseum, Van Gogh museum etc). We found it a perfect spot to explore Amsterdam from and enjoyed sitting outside in the square at the end of the day for a drink. You only have to venture down any of the streets off the square to come across more restaurants. However, we walked a little further afield to two which were fantastic (see our reviews for The Pantry and Humphreys).

The room was pleasant and clean, and in comparison to other European hotels we have stayed in, it was a great size.The staff were very friendly and helpful and if requested, can organise a shuttle service to the airport at 17 Euros per person. We found this a reasonable price and easy way of getting there, instead of alternatively having to get to and catch a train from Central Station or paying for a taxi.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay here again if ever returning to Amsterdam in the near future!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at the Schiller for a few days mid-February and it was great, I arrived early morning and much to my surprise my room was already ready for check-in. The room was a bit small but you're on vacation and hopefully not spending too much time in the room. My room was in the front of the building and overlooked Rembrandtplein. Yes it is a bit noisy at night but I am of the younger generation so didn't mind as much. Within walking distance of all the major sights, and the tram stops just on the other side of the park. Very convenient location!!! Would definitely stay here again, and am planning on it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bawnard west
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Upon arrival relatively early. 7am frlight from Cork Sharella greeted us with a genuine friendly, welcoming smile. She asked about our flight, and during the week we stayed at the Schiller, she
was helpful, bright, chatty and well able to discuss any areas within the city we wished to visit. Given a choice of rooms we opted for one overlooking the Plein and she advised it could be noisy and we could have one overlooking the gardens at the rear. We opted for the former, and, being from a very quiet rural area has the added enjoyment of "people spotting" which I particularly apprecited being a writer. The Hotel is beutiful, quite old fashioned which added to its allure; not so its quisine which was top class. It was pleasently busy without being overcrowded. Dining room staff were friendly and quietly efficient. We came and went as we
pleased, but always with a cheery remark and chat with Kelly or Sharella. There is an old fashioned lift as well as a modern one, quite unique. We were not rushed out of our room and because our return flight was late we were invited to leave our case and return whenever it suited.....All in all a great hotel and admirable staff. Totally changed my idea of the Dutch being rather dour and unimaginative! Will definitely return........

Room Tip: Choose one with a balcony as we had
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Many good points for this Hotel :
- very close to the Tram station line that leads directly to the center and also to the RAI exhibition center ( I was there for an exhibition in February)
-right on rembrandt square - which is a good thing for having a drink or two in a pub at evening/night but can become loudy on the weekends .
- shopping streets is at walking distance , DAM square is at 10-15 minute walk.
- located in an area where you find a mix of locals and tourists - whereas near the center DAM square , it is more just tourists.....

The down side , would be that the hotel itslef is old ( actually it's a kind of historical building and furnitures etc...) , the street noises at evening are those of a busy city street ( which is fine with me coming from a busy city ) , the breakfast not a very strong point .....just the average continental selection....

overall , an average good mixture , especially if you're taking the hotel as a base point for your amsterdam experience rather then being an experience by itself

Room Tip: try getting higher levels rooms to reduce the street noises effect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Address: Rembrandtplein, 26, 1017CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at NH Amsterdam Schiller’s sculpted facade, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you’ll know you’ve stumbled upon a place rich with history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Schiller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.