We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiller

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Schiller to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Schiller
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller) (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #154 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

First time in Amsterdam in Feb 2014. Stayed at this hotel and couldn't fault it at all. Reception staff very polite and helpful, asked us if we would prefer a room facing the square or round the back, we asked for the square. The first night we were there I couldn't sleep for a while due to the noise of the night life outside but after that one night it didn't bother me at all. Friday night seemed to be the only bad one out of all weekend.

Hotel is very clean, very nice décor, lots of refreshments & mini bar (chargeable obviously). Great location for everything - nice park, the zoo, red light district, museums, bars & coffee shop next door to the hotel.

All in all it was a fantastic trip and if we are to visit again we would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, avoid rooms looking over the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JakeKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

A decent hotel in a very central and well connected area of Amsterdam, ideal if you want to be near the museum district, the flower market and walking distance to the main shopping district.

The problem is that it is situated on a popular night life spot and therefore rooms facing the square suffer from a lot of noise until the early hours of the morning.

On the plus side, rooms are fairly nice and clean even though they're rather small and the staff are very friendly and attentive.

Breakfast was what is expected from a 4 star hotel although the buffet could do with being restocked more frequently with fresh produce as things were a bit stale towards the final hour of service.

All and all a decent hotel for the price and star rating and if you bag an online offer then it can be good value for money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CKLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I read TripAdvisor before we went to this hotel and was ready at reception to deal with the reported problem of noisy rooms. On checking in I said about the reviews all reporting the noise at the front of the hotel and asked for a quiet room at the back.
'No problem' and gave me a room 318. This turned out to be on the side wall of the hotel , shared with 2 clubs!!! The base sounds went on well into the night and sleep was impossible.
The following morning they reassigned us to an up graded room in the back,centre of the hotel...which was great.
Shame it took 3 goes, and a rubbish night to get it right.

Room Tip: Be insistent at checking in that you want a quiet room, unless you are going clubbing anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I been amsterdam a good few times a year and is my favourite city my. First time staying at the nh schiller and was concerned with the reviews of noise and yet I never found it a problem , I booked for a standard double a month ago and on arrival was upgraded for free to a gorgeous spacious room on the first floor with a gorgeous huge balcony with amazing views of the square. I am 27 so I don't mind noise but I didn't hear any I woke each morning to beautiful views of the square and people starting there day. The service was amazing and a very clean place I will be coming back ! Close to everything and brilliant for couples

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We booked this through Lastminute.com using one of their "top secret" hotels. A mistake we shall not make again. Hadn't done this before but thought it might be fun! When we had booked and then the hotel was revealed, we were a little concerned at reading the reviews on Schiller, especially about them supplying earplugs, but thought we'd go with it anyway.
The hotel is tired and in my opinion is no way worthy of 4 stars. We were given a room on the 4th floor overlooking the square, which looked very pretty with all the lights. The room was smallish, but would have been adequate if it weren't for the ridiculous lack of storage. There was just one single wardrobe (photos below) which contained the safe and the tea and coffee making facilities and some hangers for half height hanging. When putting a t-shirt on a hanger it then draped all over the cups etc. No drawers or even hooks on backs of doors so nowhere to hang long winter coats.
But the noise from Rembrandt square was horrendous until the early hours. Coupled with a not very comfy bed either.
Next morning we asked to change rooms and this was happily done to a slightly larger room on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel (with some storage!) This did help with the noise issue to a certain degree, but it was just so loud that we could still hear the bass beating away at 3:30am and again the bed was wickedly firm.
Cleanliness was adequate, nice crisp sheets.
Breakfast was fabulous. If you book the day before it is 15 euros otherwise 20 euros on the morning. We did pre-book but the bill given to us each morning was for 20, but was amended when mentioned. Plenty of juices, breads and pastries, chesses and meats, cereals, yogurts, fruits and gorgeous tiny pancakes. Kept me going all day long.
But no matter how good the breakfast we shall not be going back.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a soundproofed one?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pebblecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braintree
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We left the hotel this morning after spending two days in the city.

After an early morning flight, a short train ride to the central amsterdam station we took a tram to rembrandtsplein. Needn't have bothered should have walked as it's about 15 minutes walk.

Hotel easy to find and allowed us to checkin at 11:00 given it was a Monday morning, still appreciated as we could dump our bags and hit the streets early. We did see a few bags behind the reception desks so looks like you have a safe place to leave your stuff if necessary.

We were provided with a great room, #417, facing the front of the hotel. We were provided with earplugs but didn't need them given the time of year. Front facing was great though as we had a great view of the square.

We had breakfast one of the days and for 15 euros it represented excellent value for money. Hot and cold selection. Normal fare.

Plenty of access to the old town from this hotel no need for tram passes etc as you can walk everywhere.

Didn't eat in the restaurant but would have done if we were there for more time.

In short great hotel, great staff, a little dated but safe (safe in room) clean and very well priced.

100% satisfied.

Hotel has art deco style, all original :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrenny1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed 3 night i booked a junior suite from 11th of january till 14th the check inn took a second the lady at check inn was so friendly and smiling the room was of a good size and a view of a back yard and other houses which was nice and quite this was my first time staying at nh schiller and defiantly i will choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the junior suit its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaLaL_ShaNe3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#138 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#237 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,750 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#123 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#88 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,806 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Address: Rembrandtplein 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at the sculpted facade of the NH Amsterdam Schiller hotel in Amsterdam, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you'll know you've stumbled upon a place rich with history. Located in Amsterdam's bustling Rembrandt Square, this national monument embodies the essence of the Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing